We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service but basic and overpriced”
Review of The Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Garden Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bangor
Brighton
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“great service but basic and overpriced”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I stayed 2 nights at the Garden hotel. The strong points of the hotel are firstly the service which is excellent. All the staff I encountered were friendly, courteous, accommodating and willing to go out of their way to help. Everyone seemed to know my name and they were willing to change rooms to give me a different room. The location is also good, very close to the station and to to the high street, and also not too far from the university.
The room I had was however pretty basic. Everything worked but at quite a basic level (eg trickling shower, very dated decor) and I think at £80 per night was significantly overpriced. A colleague who was also staying there said her room was well presented so there may be variability in the quality of the rooms, or it could be my standards compared to hers !
My sense is that Bangor does not have many good options for accommodation so this is probably worth considering but more perhaps because the competition is less than fierce.
The same staff seem to also run the adjacent Chinese restaurant which is very convenient and nice, although also slightly overpriced.

Room Tip: Ask for what you want - staff seem more than willing to try and meet your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank groucho007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    40
    9
    0
    6
See reviews for
25
15
22
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Have stayed in Bangor many times and had not previously considered this hotel, what a mistake that was. It was a lovely hotel, nice good size room, very friendly staff and the location extremely central. I thought it may be noisy due to its location but I was pleasantly surprised. We didn't have breakfast as this was extra cost, a policy I don't personally agree with. Don't be put off by the exterior would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stayed for two nights and the room was excellent and well furnished. The hotel is very near to Bangor station and accessable to all the facilities and transport. The customer service was average and the restaurent is expensive. Breakfast should be ordered before hand and it will be available for an hour.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajithkn666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

The Garden Hotel does everything right for an excellent price - comfy bed, great shower and filling breakfast - what more could you want! On top of that, the staff were friendly and very helpful (especially the lady who was around at breakfast - I could have talked to her all day!) I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachael2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Stayed here a month ago, was a very nice hotel, exceptional value for money and ideal to explore the quaint town of Bangor, although we didn't stay for long we enjoyed our stay, although we'll probably never return to Bangor I'd have no qualms with going back to the Garden!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christides_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Just returned from The Garden Hotel , enjoyed a one night stay in this very comfortable and welcoming hotel. My son and I travelled to Bangor on Friday night so that we could attend the University open day on Saturday. It was ideal after a long train journey, only across the road from the station. It was a dark, wet night and we were very happy to receive a warm welcome,have our bags carried upstairs to a very pleasant room and find a table ready for us in the cantonese restaurant attached to the hotel. The food was excellent and the room was clean and comfortable.
The hotel is well situated for both town and university, about ten minutes walk for both.
I will certainly use this hotel again should my son choose this university!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Easy walking distance for town, staff were very pleasant carried bag up stairs, acknowledged me when they saw me. Had a single room which felt quite spacious because of the layout, bathroom was small but functional. The hotel provided everything I needed room was clean and warm. It was handy having the restaurant down stairs, but there were several eating places within a short distance Dominoes, Weatherspoons, Indian, Chinese, Fish and Chip and Asda. Adequate for the short time I stayed

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hache4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
1.0 mi away
Eryl Mor Hotel
Eryl Mor Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bangor
276 reviews
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Bangor Wales
1.2 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel Port Dinorwic
Hotel Port Dinorwic
#1 of 1 in Y Felinheli
661 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gazelle Hotel
Gazelle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Menai Bridge
358 reviews
3.6 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Hotel

Property: The Garden Hotel
Address: 1 High Street, Bangor LL57 1DQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Bangor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is situated on the High Street, close to Bangor Railway Station, with en-suite bedrooms and delicious freshly-prepared food and fine wines served every day in a warm welcoming atmosphere.Saint Deiniol's Cathedral, all University sites and Penrhyn Castle all within walking distance makes us an ideal place to stay. The Hotel's restaurant is open seven days a week with a comprehensive á la carte menu from 2.00pm to 9.30pm. To make a reservation, simply telephone or contact us by e-mail.The 3 star Garden Hotel offers both en-suite or standard rooms. All rooms are individually designed, with a rich mixture of traditional and classical style decor and equipped with modern amenities to suit all corporate and leisure guests.Room Amenities: Complimentary Wi-FiFax and copyingLaundry service Flatscreen TV and radio Complimentary tea and coffee Packed lunches available Complimentary toiletries Towels provided Trouser press (upon request) Iron and ironing board (upon request) Additional seating area (deluxe rooms) Free use of our comfortable guest lounge (first floor) For any special requests (champagne/fresh flowers/chocolates) to be placed in the room before your arrival, please telephone at least 24 hours in advance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Hotel Bangor
The Garden Hotel Bangor, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing