We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem”
Review of The Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Garden Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bangor
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I've eaten at the Garden Restaurant a number of times over the years but didn't realise it was also a hotel. From a trip advisor search the name came up and I took the plunge. The room was spacious, very clean and modern. The staff extremely helpful and welcoming. Parking at the rear was a little confusing to find and basically it's a bay at the back of the restaurant. It's also a few minutes walking distance from the train station. Will certainly stay again. Best to book directly with the owners. Great to support small local businesses rather than chains. The food is wonderful too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Sian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2013

The restaurant is really nice, the food is delicious whatever you have, good price, staff are really friendly and helpful would definitely come here for a meal again. Also cater well for large numbers of people and are party-friendly.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
8  Thank Kim239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I missed my last bus to PEN-Y-PASS and have to find a place to stay in Bangor. Cheapest I saw online (Phone internet) was around a 90quid for local hotels/BnBs. I got paranoid that since it was a short notice period to book online, it may not be acknowledged so I decided to do a walk-in instead. Unlike the nearby hotel that looks loud due to a pub on the ground floor I decided to enquire at The Garden Hotel. First thing I asked was the price, it was cheaper than the price I saw online.
Deborah, offered me if I want to move into a bigger room because the people who reserved it did not turn up. Who does not want a bigger room? The best bit was, I was not charged extra for it.

Room was big, really quiet, quick access to the train station. Helpful staff with a smile (this should be an example of a service most UK hotels must have).

By the way, Deborah asked her sister who came later that evening to bring her iPhone5 charger so I could charge my phone. Now thats what I call doing an extra step for quality customer service.

Room Tip: I only stayed in one room, Rm 27. Big, cozy and quiet even if its by the road..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank kamandagcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I stayed here at short notice with family as we'd travelled to the local hospital following a family members emergency admission. It is only 10 minutes from Bangor Hospital.

The room & hotel were one of the cleanest I think I've ever stayed in! The staff were very caring and even kept our wine and put our ordered evening meal on hold when we had to suddenly return to the hospital.

The evening meal was in the Cantonese restaurant and it was really tasty food. It was busy but they ensured as guests we had a table. We enjoyed a freshly cooked full English and a choice of buffet breakfast also the next day with plenty of choices.

Room Tip: I would ask the staff where to park as it's tricky to get in at the back but they will guide you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Penelope015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I stayed in this hotel which is very conveniently located close to Bangor train station last night! I told the friendly owner/manager to expect me around 10ish but unfortunately due to circumstances beyond my control (train was terminated at Llandudno and I had to travel the rest of my journey by bus) I did not arrive until the early hours of Sunday morning. Nevertheless the owner was so friendly and welcoming, the room was immaculate, the bed comfortable and the biscuits on the tea tray were delicious!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 1tracy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I greatly enjoyed my two night stay at the Garden Hotel. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful (allowing me to store my luggage at the hotel even after the check-out time, etc.) The room itself was spacious and clean, with a large television, en-suite bathroom, and a kettle. Plus, the hotel is one-two minutes (at most) walk from the railway station, and very close to the city centre (where you can get buses to Llandudno, Conwy, Caernarfon, and Anglesey). Overall, the location is brilliant and the staff were some of the nicest that I have encountered during my time travelling abroad.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank phoenixrising44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We (3 friends) had a 2 night stay in a family room at Bangor this weekend. The room was lovely and clean, fresh white linen bedding, lots of mirrors, pleasant decor, exceptionally clean as was the ensuite. I have to mention that the staff were brilliant, they were friendly, accommodating and couldn't do enough for us to make us feel welcome. You couldn't help but notice that all the staff had smiles on whenever you saw them.

The hotel went the extra mile by helping when one of us forgot our mobile charger by charging the phone for us. The room size as quite adequate, plenty of storage and price included continental breakfast or for an extra £3 a full English breakfast, sausage was a little on the cheap side but not enough to mark down on such a petty point.

I would like to mention that the hotel is on the main road so if you are at the front of the hotel you will hear the cars, which is only to be expected given the hotels brilliant location. It's a great base to explore Bangor being only a minute or two's walk from Bangor Station.

Room Tip: As hotel is on a main road expect some road noise if at the front of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DebbieAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
1 mi away
Eryl Mor Hotel
Eryl Mor Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bangor
299 reviews
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Bangor Wales
1.1 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
1.2 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#2 of 5 in Menai Bridge
176 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gazelle Hotel
Gazelle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Menai Bridge
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Hotel

Address: 1 High Street, Bangor LL57 1DQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Bangor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bangor
Price Range: £92 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is situated on the High Street, close to Bangor Railway Station, with en-suite bedrooms and delicious freshly-prepared food and fine wines served every day in a warm welcoming atmosphere.Saint Deiniol's Cathedral, all University sites and Penrhyn Castle all within walking distance makes us an ideal place to stay. The Hotel's restaurant is open seven days a week with a comprehensive á la carte menu from 2.00pm to 9.30pm. To make a reservation, simply telephone or contact us by e-mail.The 3 star Garden Hotel offers both en-suite or standard rooms. All rooms are individually designed, with a rich mixture of traditional and classical style decor and equipped with modern amenities to suit all corporate and leisure guests.Room Amenities: Complimentary Wi-FiFax and copyingLaundry service Flatscreen TV and radio Complimentary tea and coffee Packed lunches available Complimentary toiletries Towels provided Trouser press (upon request) Iron and ironing board (upon request) Additional seating area (deluxe rooms) Free use of our comfortable guest lounge (first floor) For any special requests (champagne/fresh flowers/chocolates) to be placed in the room before your arrival, please telephone at least 24 hours in advance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Hotel Bangor
The Garden Hotel Bangor, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing