We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go somwehere else”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Menai Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Menai Hotel
Ranked #16 of 24 Bangor B&B and Inns
Meirionnydd : Cymru ~ Wales
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Go somwehere else”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

The Menai calls itself a hotel, but it is more like a hostel. I stayed here for 2 nights and will never go back again. There are some good things about this hotel - the location is good for the station, and there is some parking, a TV with good choice of channels and free tea and coffee - but that was as good as it gets.
The room was £90 a night had 3 single beds which creaked every time you moved, there were sweets on the floor from a previous guest as well as old receipts in the drawers. The window in the bedroom would not closed and there is a sign saying not to open the window further because it could fall out!! As a result we were too warm during the day and frozen at night.
There were two members of staff - a woman who was lovely and could not be more helpful and a man who was miserable. They are a family and there are children (or could be just the one) in the building, as we found out at 8am when one was running up and down the corridors as we tried to sleep. You can hear the noise from the pub below from the top floor, so if you want an early night you might want some earplugs. Breakfast was basic - bread for toast, cereal and out-of-date milk and dry pastries.
Worst of all was the night we were locked out. The first day we arrived we had tried to get in touch with staff without success, so had to go to he pub downstairs to be let in, so we weren't hopeful about getting hold of someone. We got back at around 2am and we tried and tried to get the attention of the staff who live in the building - we used the intercom, the main doorbell, the pub doorbell and called the phone number, but nobody came. We tried every half hour until 6am when someone, who was in a foul mood, finally let us in. This place calls itself a hotel, and in my mind there should be someone available all night, or at least provide an emergency contact number, even hostels have night staff. The man who came to the door was clearly angry at being woken up and unapologetic that nobody had come to let us in and left us outside for 3 hours in the freezing cold. We saw him the next day and he didn't say anything to us about it.
Another thing that annoyed us - this is a hotel in Wales, but it had England flags on it. There is nothing to make you feel you in Wales, and from experience there are other places nearby which will give you a nice warm Welsh welcome.
I'd say avoid this place and either find a friendly B&B or stick to a chain hotel where you at least get your money's worth,

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eirianwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    21
    10
    16
    27
See reviews for
21
19
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Spent two night were well looked after by the staff it can get a bit noisy some nights with the music and students over all it was good and if you like spicy food try their hottest chilli in Bangor if you can eat it all you can eat anything will stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

I kinda ignored the other reviews before I booked which is very stupid really. Why should I think it would be different for me?! I'm in room 10 on the top floor for two nights but I think I will check out in the morning.... there is a very very loud punk band playing in the bar downstairs and they will play until 11:30pm. Strike 1. Then the heating doesn't work. Strike 2. Just been to the bathroom, the hairdryer is hanging dangerously off the wall, the pipes rattle and just about been cleaned recently. Third strike. Not cheap either. Shoddy. Big room. Great view. Central location.

Room Tip: Room 10 is huge. Top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangor hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

From bangor station, 5 min drive away, greatly located. When arrived, greeted nicely and attended to quickly, fast service. Room was shown to us. Everything we needed to know was covered. Room was spacious clean and well furnished with tea and coffie supplys, a fridge and pleant of soaps and towels. Spare bed and extra blankets were also avalible. Entertainment was provided in the bar area downstars. Clubs and other bars were with in easy reach. Cheack out time is from 10:00am and break fast was provided. Although the continental breakfast was not to its expectations. Low standards of arrangement, and hygiene. Lack of cultery and tables not maintained. Other then that though it was good :)

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenelopytash10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

The room was a good size and the bathroom was nice. The mattress was pretty comfortable however the sheets and blankets were a bit thin and scratchy nylon-y fabrics.
It is a budget hotel though - generally I was pretty impressed until we had breakfast!

Breakfast gets laid out at 3 in the morning, before the staff leave - there are no staff at the hotel in the morning, you check out by posting your keys through a whole.
The breakfast is really poor, instant coffee, only whole milk - no choice, cheap and really sweet yogurts, sliced bread and the cheese they put out is that nasty rubber burger cheese! It was horrible!

Because there are no staff in the hotel in the mornings people just leave their mess all over the breakfast room and no one is there to clear it up so plates are piled up on tables and everything is left out in the open. It is really unacceptable.

I've never known a hotel where there aren't any staff in the morning! Don't know hat you would do if there was a problem.

If you do stay - go out for breakfast!

Room Tip: don't have breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonMissy_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

The staff were lovely and friendly. However when we got to our room it was dusty and rather warm and we could not open the window as it has a chain on it. So for out first night it was rather cold even though we had a few extra blankets a duvet would have been nice and the beds are not overly comfortable. On our second night it was too hot and once again we could not open the window. The food their is good, and their is a lot of variety and is also cheap. however at night it does get noisy there were a lot of doors banging up till 2am. Breakfast was good, but their could have been more.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wales191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Far corner of Wales
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

Family came to visit so I stayed here with my parents and my cousin, her husband and their little one stayed at mine.

Good value for money hotel with really nice staff (hard to find these days!) that I'm going to send all my friends to when they come to visit - though I'm tempted to give them my little flat and me stay here instead!

Service
Staff were friendly and welcoming, with the more personal touch that I prefer from a hotel. It felt like I'd known them for ages and was a local to the place. I couldn't get the TV remote to work but it wasn't a problem for the staff, George, he was really helpful and attentive but within minutes I realised it was me that was doing it wrong!
Room
Had a triple room with my parents which was spacious and more than fine for the 3 of us (except for my dads snoring...) Bathroom was nice with a good shower - always important to me. Had a good view towards Anglesey too.
Food/Breakfast
We had dinner in the pub which is part of the hotel. It was good pub food, we had the specials which are good value.
Breakfast was also good, it's in a room with a gorgeous view of the Menai Straits and Anglesey. It's a self-service continental which is the same as I've had in most hotels in Europe - yoghurts, toast, crossaints, cereals etc.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bint86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Bangor Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Garden Hotel
The Garden Hotel
#4 of 6 in Bangor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.7 mi away
Eryl Mor Hotel
Eryl Mor Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bangor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Anglesey Arms
The Anglesey Arms
#4 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gazelle Hotel
Gazelle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Menai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Menai Hotel

Property: The Menai Hotel
Address: Craig Y Don Road, Bangor LL57 2BG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Bangor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Menai Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-star Menai Hotel is conveniently located in the centre of Bangor on the North Wales coast. All 9 rooms are en-suite with free continental breakfast, with fantastic views of both The Menai Strait & The Snowden Range. Vegetarian & Vegan cooked breakfasts available on request.There is a vibrant bar serving home-cooked meals with a focus on Welsh produce, extensive vegetarian, vegan & gluten free options, a range of beers, wines and spirits. Food is served every day 12-3 6-9pm. An entertainment schedule runs throughout the week including quiz nights, live bands & open mic sessions. Each well-equipped bedroom has its own private bathroom, TV, radio and Fairtrade Welsh tea and coffee making facilities with free parking and free WiFi. Our bar also boasts SKY keeping you up to date on all sporting events.We are a pet friendly hotel allowing up to two dogs at £10.00 per animal. We also have a meeting room available for hire for workshops,classes & functions. Being close to Bangor University, there are many pubs and bars contributing to the active nightlife just a 10 minute walk from the Menai. Transportation links are nearby with Bangor Rail Station and the Bus Station just 0.5 miles away. The mountains of Snowdonia can be reached within a 10 minute drive, where you can hike and enjoy the scenery the national park has to offer. The beaches of Anglesey and the rolling countryside are just a 15 minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Menai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Menai Hotel Bangor, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing