We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You pay for what you get”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Menai Hotel and Bar
Ranked #20 of 24 Bangor B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 January 2009

Stayed for one night as part of scuba diving trip in one of the top rooms. Had amazing 360 degree view of bridge and straights out of the fire escape. Lovely beer garden with gorgeous views. Holidays are usually 5* all inc style but still enjoyed our food and stay at the Menai.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Holidaybreakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
There are newer reviews for The Menai Hotel and Bar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 113 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2007

On entrance to accommodation, carpet dirty, room clean but shower had
a black fungus ring round the bottom of plastic and only 2 temps cold
or scalding, whirring noise all night from chimney outside, room smelt of deep fat frying, at breakfast promised buffet and croissants, but no criossants, bread for toast 4 days past use by date and milk 3 days past sell by date. Altogether would not reccommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank giterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
menaihotel, THE NEW OWNERS at The Menai Hotel and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2008

We would like to repond to this reveiw ,
Since taking over we have worked very hard on getting the hotel running to a higher day to day standard ,we have a very good team here t that are now highly trained in hotel customer care . and the general upkeep is very much improved .
I emailed this customer and explaied how we not long taken over and we were trying iron out the problems that that came with the hotel . We offered a free nights stay with an eveing meal & a breakfast , as a way of saying how sorry we were that his stay was not to his liking ,and also to give us a chance to show how things had changed for the better here.
He didnt take up our offer whch was a shame.
We look forward to reading better reviews from now on ,and would like to say everyone deserves a second chance .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2007

This is no hotel. It is above a pub (so unsuitable if you don't like stairs!) and becomes populated with students - especially on "happy hour" days. This wasn't a problem and there was no issue with noise either, so that was a plus point. The room was fine, very large with reasonable view of the river and clean. There were tea-making facilities in the room

We didn't try the food, but there is a poor choice of eating places in this town, so I might have changed that decision if I'd known that beforehand

The tv was a tiny 14 or 15 inch affair, on an arm on the wall and a long way away from the bed, so I didn't feel comfortable having it on late at night and watched a dvd on my laptop instead.

When we arrived, we ordered and paid for a cooked breakfast, but in the morning there was absolutely no-one around. There was some food in the kitchen (orange juice cereal, bread, etc) so we did make a cold breakfast before we set off.

Overall, the staff were friendly enough, the room was clean, but the lack of a (paid-for) breakfast) means I won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Clancolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2006

I stayed in the Menai recently for one night, when visiting Bangor University. The room was very nice, with clean en-suite bathroom, colour tv with remote, and tasteful decor. Staff were friendly and welcoming, and the bar downstairs had a good atmosphere. I did not eat there, but the menu seemed to offer good value for money. Even when I managed to lock myself out of my room after only being there a short time, a friendly member of staff came upstairs with me and let me in again. The B&B rooms are situated above a modern bar, though you wouldn't know it - I was on the second floor and was not bothered by noise or music from downstairs.

The only minor problem I did encounter was that the ensuite bathroom light and the light above my bed didn't work. However, when I told staff they thanked me for letting them know, so I suppose if no one had told them about this before they wouldn't have known it wasn't working (as roomed are most likely serviced during the daytime).

However, I cannot really say that I found the room to be good value for money, because the price for one night was £42.95 not including breakfast. I did not realise that this was over-priced for the area until I stayed in a different bed and breakfast place the next night, which was only £25 for the night, including a cooked English breakfast (and that room had a double bed - I had a single at the Menai). The standard of the bedroom was fairly similar, although the bathroom in the Menai was cleaner and better ventilated, and the room decor in the Menai was more classy. When I met a group of other postgraduate students who had stayed overnight to visit the university, I found that my room had cost the most compared to theirs, and each of them had had breakfast included and a room of good standard.

I would certainly recommend this B&B to anyone visiting the area and wanting to be sure of finding somewhere with a good standard of accomodation. However, for people (e.g. visiting students) wanting value for money accomodation, there are many other B&Bs which are almost as nice and cost a lot less (and have breakfast included).

14  Thank Vasilisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017
Thank grandvoyageurNord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
0.7 mi away
Eryl Mor Hotel
Eryl Mor Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bangor
281 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Garden Hotel
The Garden Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bangor
106 reviews
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Bangor Wales
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Anglesey Arms
The Anglesey Arms
#4 of 5 in Menai Bridge
459 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Management Centre
The Management Centre
#1 of 10 in Bangor
344 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Waverley Hotel Bangor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Menai Hotel and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Menai Hotel and Bar

Address: Craig Y Don Road, Bangor LL57 2BG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Bangor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Bangor
Price Range: £84 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Menai Hotel and Bar 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-star Menai Hotel is conveniently located in the centre of Bangor on the North Wales coast. All 9 rooms are en-suite with free continental breakfast, with fantastic views of both The Menai Strait & The Snowden Range. Vegetarian & Vegan cooked breakfasts available on request.There is a vibrant bar serving home-cooked meals with a focus on Welsh produce, extensive vegetarian, vegan & gluten free options, a range of beers, wines and spirits. Food is served every day 12-3 6-9pm. An entertainment schedule runs throughout the week including quiz nights, live bands & open mic sessions. Each well-equipped bedroom has its own private bathroom, TV, radio and Fairtrade Welsh tea and coffee making facilities with free parking and free WiFi. Our bar also boasts SKY keeping you up to date on all sporting events.We are a pet friendly hotel allowing up to two dogs at £10.00 per animal. We also have a meeting room available for hire for workshops,classes & functions. Being close to Bangor University, there are many pubs and bars contributing to the active nightlife just a 10 minute walk from the Menai. Transportation links are nearby with Bangor Rail Station and the Bus Station just 0.5 miles away. The mountains of Snowdonia can be reached within a 10 minute drive, where you can hike and enjoy the scenery the national park has to offer. The beaches of Anglesey and the rolling countryside are just a 15 minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Menai Hotel and Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Menai Hotel And Bar Bangor, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing