We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Menai Hotel and Bar
Ranked #17 of 24 Bangor B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Where are the owners? The object of this "Hotel" is purely a cash cow and no thought of the comfort of the customer. Although the over worked bar staff were friendly and helpful, eventually, this place could never be described as a serious hotel. It is a cheap and very loud student pub with lousy beer and cheap food with a couple of rooms on top. The pub is open until 1:00am but the noise from the revellers didn"t finish until 4:00am. As for breakfast. No no one in attendance. Self service. Luckily no rubber coissants but only half an old loaf to make some toast and some packets of cereal. It was a joke beyond a joke. Come here again? Never. I would rather drive the 5 hours home.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HuizeCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    21
    12
    18
    26
See reviews for
24
20
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Salford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2010

some of the other reviews were less than complimentary but when we arrived found the hotel to be very welcoming. after being booked in we were shown to our room and found it to be huge with a k/s bed!! the furniture was pine with terracotta coloured curtains and bedspread - a bit 80s - but the ensuite was immaculate!!! we had a small beer fridge in the room which would have been useful if we wanted to drink in our room. the view was good and found the breakfast to be exc value for money. it was self service with cereal, juice, toast, yoghurt and fresh fruit. no fuss but still enjoyed it. the area had some good bars with a great atmosphere, local greek restaurant was lovely with an outside area - quite authentic considering we were in North Wales!!! anyway it was a lovely place and if I was visiting this area again would have no hesitation on staying here!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bevlydiate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2009

What an awful hotel!

I arrived at 6.30 after an awful journey due to weather and a landslide (not the hotel's fault granted) and had to go straight into a meeting. The meeting room was no more than a bedroom with no bed!

Once my meeting was complete at 9.30 I was hungry and tired so went looking for food and my room. They were no longer serving food and I didn't fancy braving the weather to go and find somewhere in Bangor, which by the way is a nightmare to navigate with the lethal one way systems!

So I just decided to go and check into my room. This hotel has no reception, so I had to stand at the bar and wait....and wait....and wait until I was finally served by a very harrassed young lady! The bar was heaving with students and was pretty intimidating for a lone female traveller! The lady checked me in but was pretty abrupt and unfriendly.

I was shown to my room on the top floor which was large and warm luckily. All I wanted to do was have a hot shower and go to bed. The hot shower was cold as there was no hot water and the bed which on first inspection was large and comfortable looking, was actually two hard and lumpy singles pushed together!

I slept poorly due to the lashing of the rain against the window (again not the hotel's fault) and the thumping of the karaoke in the bar below - definitely the hotel's fault!

The breakfast was served in the meeting room - come bedroom - come restaurant and was a continental breakfast which I was told by the lady checking me in was set up the night before. Nice! I didn't bother, the McDonald's down the road did a hotter more appetising meal and that's saying something!

I agree with the writer of another of these reviews, this is not a hotel it's a pub with a few rooms above it. The hotel was poor, the room was ok and the service was - well non exsistent as there was no-one around!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sugacube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangor hotels

Madrid
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2009

It is a nice and comfortable place, with great views of Anglesey Island from the top room. It has a pub very interesting with all the British taste on it.

Good base camp to visit Snowdonia and Anglesey.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toneteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pembrokeshire
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2009

The hotel is in a great location as it is close to the uni. We stayed at the hotel as our daughter was playing in a concert in the uni.
It is in an ideal spot, within walking distance to the university. This is the only reason we would stay again.
The hotel was noisy and there was loud music until 1am.. it is a typical student pub as well as a hotel.
The breakfast consisted of out of date orange juice and bread, but luckily there was a weatherspoons nearby.
If you don't mind the basics and want a hotel within walking distance of everywhere, stay here

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank welshtrumpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2009

Doors slamming and people yelling at all times of the night... Karaoke and loud music in the bar below that, even on the top floor, you can still hear clearly... This place was sketchy at best. There was never anyone around to handle any sorts of complaints or issues, unless the bar was open. Then one of the bartenders could maybe find you toilet paper since there wasn't any in your room.

It's cheap, yes. Located right next to Bangor University and restaurants, which is a plus. But we would absolutely never stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank subliminalrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhonnda cynon taff
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2009

i think the menia is ok to stay when on a short visit
i booked room only at 42.95 not to expensive
it was close to the campas i found it ok
room was on the small side but it was clean
there are a lot of stairs no lift so not suitible for any wheelchair users.
i found the hotel was about 2star so if you expect the red carpet treatment well just dont stay hear
but very cheap and chearfull for a short visit

  • Liked — quite room
  • Disliked — no heater working in room
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank paul_dv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
0.7 mi away
Eryl Mor Hotel
Eryl Mor Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bangor
276 reviews
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Bangor Wales
0.8 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Gazelle Hotel
Gazelle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Menai Bridge
358 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Port Dinorwic
Hotel Port Dinorwic
#1 of 1 in Y Felinheli
660 reviews
8.3 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Menai Hotel and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Menai Hotel and Bar

Property: The Menai Hotel and Bar
Address: Craig Y Don Road, Bangor LL57 2BG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Bangor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Menai Hotel and Bar 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-star Menai Hotel is conveniently located in the centre of Bangor on the North Wales coast. All 9 rooms are en-suite with free continental breakfast, with fantastic views of both The Menai Strait & The Snowden Range. Vegetarian & Vegan cooked breakfasts available on request.There is a vibrant bar serving home-cooked meals with a focus on Welsh produce, extensive vegetarian, vegan & gluten free options, a range of beers, wines and spirits. Food is served every day 12-3 6-9pm. An entertainment schedule runs throughout the week including quiz nights, live bands & open mic sessions. Each well-equipped bedroom has its own private bathroom, TV, radio and Fairtrade Welsh tea and coffee making facilities with free parking and free WiFi. Our bar also boasts SKY keeping you up to date on all sporting events.We are a pet friendly hotel allowing up to two dogs at £10.00 per animal. We also have a meeting room available for hire for workshops,classes & functions. Being close to Bangor University, there are many pubs and bars contributing to the active nightlife just a 10 minute walk from the Menai. Transportation links are nearby with Bangor Rail Station and the Bus Station just 0.5 miles away. The mountains of Snowdonia can be reached within a 10 minute drive, where you can hike and enjoy the scenery the national park has to offer. The beaches of Anglesey and the rolling countryside are just a 15 minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Menai Hotel and Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Menai Hotel And Bar Bangor, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing