We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely friendly B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Baytree Lodge

Baytree Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Baytree Lodge
Ranked #10 of 24 Bangor B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Extremely friendly B&B”
Reviewed 22 February 2013

From the moment we arrived we were warmly greeted and made to feel most welcome. Our room had 2 double beds which were extremely comfortable and although the decor was a bit tired, the room was warm and spacious. Bathroom was also a good size with large bath and powerful shower.
Breakfast, served with a smile and nothing was too much trouble.
I felt like I was visiting a friend and hope that they will have a vacancy when I visit my daughter again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah3750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    24
    16
    9
    7
See reviews for
21
24
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2013 via mobile

This is a small town with not many choices. Once you accept that, you can be certain that this place is value for your money. I arrived late on a Sunday evening because the trains from London were delayed. Stephanie (inn keeper) waited for me. She was very pleasant. Recommended a place down the road to grab a bite. The room was clean and comfortable. This place has not been updated in a few years and it doesn't need it. For me, it felt like I was staying at a relative's house. Not my personal taste but it works. Typical Welsh breakfast. Close to downtown. Wifi worked great. I am recommending this place to my son who plans on visiting here.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

The staff were lovely, very friendly and helpful. The decor was quite dated and a bit rough around the edges but my room and bathroom were spotlessly clean. Due to my booking being moved from the Y Garth Guesthouse I only paid £30 for an ensuite double at the Baytree Lodge whereas on their website this would normally cost £65, which could be a little bit steep for the quality. The breakfast was served promptly and was decent enough for a budget B&B.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PortuFluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

When we arrived at the baytree in September 2012 we were greeted my a very nice lady when shown to our room it was very small. The bathroom had chipped tiles and the shower was a dribble, there wasnt a hair dryer so please pack one. The towels were very very small more like a hand towel which were very thin and worn so again please take your own. the room was very dated. The breakfast was ok but the cup had a chip in it and again had seen better days, as to would I stay there again its a no sorry, would look elsewhere.

Room Tip: make sure when you ask if you can swing a cat in it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetoholiday186460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

From day one my family felt like we were at home. Everyone was lovely! The service was excellent! They were accomodating, kind, and met every need and even more! The best way to describe the people and Baytree....the ones who go an extra mile. Customer service is always important and we got the best service one could ask for :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharleneSebastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

I stayed here for one night. At first glance the room would do what I wanted. I didn't spend to much time in the room, it was clean apart from cobwebs around the window. The bed was alright but didn't get the best nights sleep, mainly because I'd just have to chase a spider out of the room. Breakfast I missed because i had a lie in. Staff was really friendly, cannot fault the lady who welcomed me.
Would I stay here again? Maybe, depends on cost of other places around.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dukinfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Very warm welcome. Breakfast was really good. Would definitely stay again. Easy walking distance to the Pier and into the city. The only thing I would complain about is the Towels. Too small and thin. Everything else perefct.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tabbymh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
0.7 mi away
The Garden Hotel
The Garden Hotel
#5 of 6 in Bangor
102 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eryl Mor Hotel
Eryl Mor Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bangor
264 reviews
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Bangor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Gwesty Carreg Bran Hotel
Gwesty Carreg Bran Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanfairpwllgwyngyll
382 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Management Centre
The Management Centre
#1 of 10 in Bangor
302 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ashbrook, Bangor Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baytree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baytree Lodge

Property: Baytree Lodge
Address: Baytree Lodge Garth Road, Bangor LL57 2RT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Bangor
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Baytree Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baytree Hotel Bangor
Baytree Lodge Bangor, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing