We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic Bat Tree” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baytree Lodge

Baytree Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Baytree Lodge
Ranked #9 of 24 Bangor B&B and Inns
Hampshire, England
1 review
“Basic Bat Tree”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2008

I read a review about this hotel written in 2006 and hoped the problems mentioned would have been resolved. Unfortunately there appears to be no change from that vist. They still only accept cash on arrival, the cleaning was adequate in the bathroom but unsatsfactory in the bedroom, and the breakfast was obviously produced using the cheapest ingredients possible. On the plus side the rooms were warm and the showers excellent. However, I would not stay there again, nor would I recommend it to anyone else - I hope that Bangor has better to offer at that price.

  • Liked — Position
  • Disliked — Breaffast, Cleaning, impersonal atmosphere
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bananamum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    24
    16
    9
    7
See reviews for
21
24
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2008

Friendly staff, but it's all a little bit run down. Room we were in was mostly clean, but cobwebs on the ceiling (and the associated spider every now and again). Damp in the bathroom didn't look too good either. One or two holes in the sheets.

Breaky was OKish for a fry up, athough the sausage looked a tad Tesco Value-esque. I'd stick to the scrambled eggs, tomato and bacon (mushrooms tinned) if I were you. Instant coffee.

Good location, close to town, the University and the seafront. Would recommend The Boatyard just along the way for food and a pint.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Johnnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catduck
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2008

We had a huge choice, but picked this because of the name, we both grow herbs, (legal ones!). The lady working there, Stephanie, was lovely. She booked us in, explained the rules clearly and showed us the room. It was basic, but clean and tidy, with tea and coffee facilities, plenty of storage and a tv, (no remote). No bedside lamp, which would have been nice, but for £25 per person per night with full English breakfast I wasn't that fussed. When we picked up our bags from the car, Stephanie warned us not to drink the water as there was a problem with it across north wales, but it was ok if boiled. She gave us some bottled water for teeth etc, and advised us that if we wanted a quiet meal freshly cooked to go left towards the pier, the right into town was for those who didn't mind frozen meals and noisy nightlife! - well it was saturday night! We took her advice and went to a lovely pub called the Boatyard and had a very pleasant evening. Breakfast was freshly cooked and delicious the following morning, tinned mushrooms, but that was the only fault. Great coffee too. We had a wonderfully relaxing time and would recommend it as a good base. Also, children go free, worth remembering if you are on a budget.

  • Liked — Clean and quiet, good value, wonderful service.
  • Disliked — no remote for tv, and no bedside lamp.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariehamn Aland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2008

I phoned from home and the booking was done no problems at all on arivall i found an nice staff who help me to the room a small but nice room toilet was clean and warm floorheating? Bed was clean color tv (no remote) mornig after good eng breakfast if you ask you kan get scrambled eggs bacon or a normal eng breakfast Tea or coffe i recomend the tea. all staff nice and helpfull goog service overall .
i will stay on the B&B again on my next trip to Bangor
And i recomend The Pub Boatyard inn 200 m to ´the left from the B&B Colin behind the bar good food nice staff

  • Liked — the Service
  • Disliked — No remote to the tv
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank madman58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2006

I stayed in the Bay Tree Lodge when visiting Bangor University. This guest house is near to the pier in Bangor, and offers good value for money for anyone wanting a basic standard base for visiting this area. The town centre is also within walking distance.

I was lucky to get a room here, as I heard the people who came in after me being told that they were now fully booked. The receptionist was kind enough to hold the room for me while I went to the cash point (they don't accept card payments!). I asked for a single room for one night, and was charged £25 - this price included a cooked breakfast.

The room actually had a double bed when I got there, and a colour television (no remote control). The bathroom was poorly ventilated, and was fairly clean, though there were some pubic hairs in the bath and on the floor. The bed covers were an odd mix of clean and unclean. It appeared that they had washed the sheets that were on the mattress and under the duvet, but not the actual duvet cover or top cover. There were some food-like stains on the duvet cover, some of which easily came off when scraped, and one or two small pieces of bread dropped out from between the duvet cover and top sheet. This did strike me as lazy service, but at least the sheets above and below me appeared to be very clean.

Two signs at the front of the guest house informed me that "Optional Evening Meals" were available, however when I enquired about this I was told that this was no longer the case - perhaps they might want to change their signs sometime soon? However, the woman on duty informed me that there were several pubs serving food only a short walking distance away. I ventured a little further, and found a wonderful little Italian restaurant down by the pier. I did feel a little odd eating there on my own (it was mainly couples and families), but the food was delicious, and the service very friendly.

The breakfast at this guest house was a cooked English breakfast. Tea/coffee, toast and cereal were also provided. The cooked breakfast was average, but enjoyable.

I would certainly recommend this guest house for visiting students, or people wanting value for money in this area. From the places I looked at while looking for accomodation it is unlikely you would find anywhere much cheaper. Despite the problems mentioned above I would come here again, as it is such good value.

Helpful?
11 Thank Vasilisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
0.3 mi away
Eryl Mor Hotel
Eryl Mor Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bangor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Bangor Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Garden Hotel
The Garden Hotel
#5 of 6 in Bangor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Gwesty Carreg Bran Hotel
Gwesty Carreg Bran Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanfairpwllgwyngyll
3.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Management Centre
The Management Centre
#1 of 10 in Bangor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baytree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baytree Lodge

Property: Baytree Lodge
Address: Baytree Lodge Garth Road, Bangor LL57 2RT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Bangor
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Baytree Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baytree Hotel Bangor
Baytree Lodge Bangor, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing