We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a Knights Castle”
Review of Penrhyn Castle

Penrhyn Castle
Ranked #1 of 37 things to do in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This 19th-century neo-Norman castle sits between Snowdonia and the Menai Strait. It's crammed with fascinating items, such as a one-ton slate bed made for Queen Victoria, elaborate carvings, plasterwork and mock-Norman furniture. In addition, it has an outstanding collection of paintings.The restored kitchens are a delight and the stable block houses a fascinating industrial railway museum.The 24.3 hectares (60 acres) of grounds include parkland, an exotic tree and shrub collection as well as a Victorian walled garden.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
North Wales, UK
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Not a Knights Castle”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This National Trust property is in a magnificent location overlooking the sea and Conwy estuary, with lovely views from the windows and gardens. Approaching along the A5 through Snowdonia makes the visit even more impressive.
However, don't expect mediaeval Knights, as Penrhyn Castle was built in the early 19th century as a country residence. The interiors are highly decorative and are being well preserved by the Trust. Although guides are available in most rooms, if they are occupied with other visitors, there is little other information available, as you go round the house. Those guides we did speak to were helpful and polite. The furniture and fittings were in good condition and the effect was of a relatively intact and authentic country house.
The gardens were lovely on the sunny day that we visited and we appreciated the minibus ride up to the castle from the car park.
There was little of interest for children, so if you want a family visit in the area, perhaps try Chirk Castle instead.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank LainyNorthWales_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    576
    207
    60
    15
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Although opening times was 11am, the actual castle did not open until 12.00 which was somewhat frustrating, however it was interesting to tour round. The castle is relatively new, the gardens were very extensive and well kept.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wendysam26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not your average castle”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Grand rooms, historic furnishings and elaborate decor lie inside this unusual castle, which feels much more like a stately home on the inside. Helpful volunteers are stationed in each room to provide you with interesting nuggets of information and it's definitely worth while visiting the kitchens for a glimpse of the other side of how life was here. Don't miss out on the beautiful grounds as well, especially the walled gardens and viewpoints which give you stunning views of the coast and of the castle.
As we had our four-month old son with us, we took advantage of the buggy store and lockers and took him around the hall in our baby carrier, which worked well. You can hire carriers or slings, if you don't have your own, as pushchairs are not allowed inside. We found the gardens quite accessible for a pushchair.
The only negative comment is really about the entry cost, as you are paying typical National Trust prices, which in my opinion are a bit steep.
But it is easy to spend half a day here and have a very enjoyable time.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Qbird”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Helpful and knowledgeable people in the castle which is worth a visit. Very grand and with original paintings and furniture. Good views from the windows but tower was only accessible if amsailing unlike other castles in the area. Nice tea room.

Helpful?
2 Thank Helen Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rude”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I visited this magnificent attraction to be greeted by some rude and very unhelpful people. All they seemed interested in was membership. Even the elderly couple before me were 'badgered' into joining. This spoiled a very enjoyable visit. I will not return and I will not advise others to visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Edward P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Penrhyn Castle also viewed

 
Bethesda, Bangor
 

Been to Penrhyn Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing