We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy overpriced timewarp”
Review of Menai Bank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Menai Bank Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2011

This hotel would benefit from a total makeover - my bedroom had elements for the 1970s, 1980s, 1990s and a bed that looked pretty new, but wasn't very comfortable.

The sound travels within the hotel - my room was above the dining room, where a dog plays in the evenings (growling, barking, killing toys) but people start breakfast preparations at 7 - and where the person in the room above walked around a lot causing creaking. My bathroom door rattled if closed.

The breakfast was adequate, and the staff were friendly but I've never been asked to pay for my stay on arrivalat a hotel before - and I felt the price was hefty for the standard of accomodation.

I visit Caernarfon regularly and usually stay elsewhere, and that's where I'll be going next time I'm here.

Room Tip: Refuse room 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goodysidno2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2011

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We've noted your comments which will help with our ongoing review and improvements in all areas of maintenance and service. Our new Dining Room overlooking The Menai Straits is now open and Room 5 is no longer over it! The dogs have a new play area and have been told to play more quietly! Paying on arrival is standard but not compulsory. It helps speed up checkout.The bathroom door noise has been remedied. The furniture is all new incl. Ipod docking TV. The room itself is quirky I think with as you say elements of 70's. 80's and 90;s. The wallpaper and decoration is new though. Price wise we feel we are pitched about right in the Budget Hotel Market. We have absorbed recent hikes in VAT and Energy costs amongst others. Your £50 Room Rate included Full Breakfast ,Double Bed and Free Wifi. We think that's competitive in a licensed hotel with licensed Bar and Lounge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2011

Last minute booking due to problems with car so decided to stay here. Rachel very friendly as was Patrick. Very homely and welcoming hotel. Good value with personal touch knocks spots of travel lodge. Great breakfast. Definately staying here in future.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kadbirch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2011

Many thanks for the review. Look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

Very helpful, friendly peoples, super accomodation; selfless love and help!!! Thanks, for everything for you, love this place very very much!!!!! I suggest this place for everybody!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita0730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2011

Glad you and your Company were pleased with our services. Look forward to doing business with you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

We have spent two nights in the B&B. We have enjoyed all time there very much. It has all you expect from a B&B. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelseus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2011

Thank you for your nice comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

Both my wife and I enjoyed a great stay at the Menai Bank and would recommend this Hotel B&B very highly.
We felt very welcome and comfortable; breakfast was great, our room was large and clean, with a good view of the Menai strait, and had a comfy big bed. The bathroom was clean with soft towels on a heated rack, and at night the hotel was nice and quiet. What more could weary travellers ask for?

It is situated a 10 minute walk from the town centre and Caenarfon castle, with great access to the North and South Road. Very helpful hosts ( we remain forever grateful to Patrick for his local knowledge and advice! ), and we felt very well priced.
Admittedly there were a few creaky floorboards, but we were perfectly willing to forgive these as they add to the charm of the place.

We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone looking for inexpensive yet comfortable lodgings, with helpful and friendly hosts.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AthosV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2011

Great Review! Every year we manage to remove a few creaky floorboards..but new creaky ones appear?/ Strange isn't it?! Old carpenters talking to us??

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

We stayed here on the last night of our 17 day Wales/England tour and it was the best by far. I can't understand how someone whinged about it being "creepy". yes it's old, but so what? It's clean and has everything you need in a B&B, en suite, tea and coffee, clean comfortable beds and rooms. But the thing that sets it apart from 90% of other b&b's is the warm welcome and friendly owners (Irish, not Welsh!). Nothing was too much trouble. They showed my 4 year old daughter where all the games were! Even the baby's travel cot was already put up in the room, with lovely clean sheets and baby blanket. But the breakfast was the best and you really can't fault it, chilled juces, a dozen types of cereal, and make your own toast from several types of bread, so much better than the 2 cold slices you normally get in these places ! The full English was extremely tasty also. And the coffee machines made great coffee, also hot chocolate, much to my daughters joy. The owners were so nice, the lady even gave us bananas and a few cartons of juice for our long drive home. You just don't get that sort of kindness hardly anywhere these day. I can't recommend this great place enough, i hope i haven't missed anything.Yes i have, the off street parking behind the house is a godsend.!! I will definately be booking again if i'm passing through, thanks very much.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clive6356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2011

Thank you so much for taking the trouble and time to write such a detailed review. We look forward to seeing one day again hopefully. Thanks again. Sorry it took us so long to respond!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

this was the 4th time we have been at the hotel rachel and patrick are very welcoming when you arrive and nothing is too much trouble for them the rooms are lovely bright and clean breakfast was always lovely and plenty to choose from all in all a very nice place to stay .

Room Tip: nice sea front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolb1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caernarfon hotels
0.2 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#3 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,074 reviews
0.4 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
#8 of 8 in Caernarfon
181 reviews
1.8 mi away
Meifod Country House Hotel & Restaurant
4.4 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menai Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menai Bank Hotel

Address: North Road | Gwynedd, Caernarfon LL55 1BD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#5 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range: £62 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Menai Bank Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Menai Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menai Bank Hotel Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing