We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth it!”
Review of Menai Bank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Menai Bank Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2012

I stayed here while traveling around Wales with members of my family and used it as a central point for our daily ventures. My room was large, airy, kept clean and although the TV channel selection was limited the strong WIFI throughout the hotel amply made up for that. Breakfast was fantastic and had numerous offerings. Paddy (owner/concierge) was another superb aspect of staying here. His helpful advice (and heavy hand at the cozy bar) were truly appreciated and made my stay that much more pleasant. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

We're delighted you enjoyed your stay here. Your comments on the room, Wifi and Bar service are appreciated. Many thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
There are newer reviews for Menai Bank Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2012

I am really confused reading the reviews and it was for the first time I doubted about the credibility of the Tripadvisor seeing the high rate on the TA sticker on the hotel's door. We had spent one month traveling around Scotland and Ireland before and hadn't been so tired just arriving from the ferry we wouldn't stay at all.
Unfortunately, we don't remember the number of the room. The others may be totally different? That's the only answer to my confusion. We stayed on the 1st floor with no view at all, the room was very small and absolutely old-fashioned! Even the bathroom was totally worn out with old tiles and linoleum. the wallpaper in the room was torn on some places,the bed in a bad shape, there were cracks on the ceiling. But it was clean.
The other rooms MUST be different otherwise I don't understand. The room we had breakfast in was nice and the small living room downstairs was cosy too. Our room was disaster and absolutely overpriced!!
I took some pictures of the flaws, unfortunately can't download them now but I will try later. Check before check in and if you want to book before I'd better try another one than to risk. We weren't told for example that it was the last room which is not renovated and offered for lower price or similar so I am not sure...

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

4 March 2013: You will be pleased to note that as a result of your review we decided during our Winter refurbishment programme to remove this room from our letting rooms. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We really landed on our feet when we booked this Hotel! Large bedroom,huge bed, wonderful views over the Menai Strait, superb breakfast, incredibly well stocked bar and extremely hospitable owners! We would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone.

Room Tip: Sea view and king size bed
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babsiebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Thank you for your review. We like the marks!! Hope we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012 via mobile

I stupidly booked a place in this town for the wrong month so had to find elsewhere to stay instantly. Luckily we drove into this hotel. The owners were very helpful, even chasing up a Podiatrist for me. The rooms were quite big, very clean and with a few little extras. The breakfast menu was large, and everything was served with a big smile. Thanks for a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Many thanks for your review. Hope you got back safely and that the podiatrist helped with the foot:-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

If you are looking for The Savoy look elsewhere. If you are looking for comfortable rooms, a great breakfast and a genial host, look no further than the Menai Bank B & B. Parking is compact. Handy for Morrisons and a brisk walk away from the town centre. Very handily placed for Anglesey, and Portmadoc areas.
Thank you Patrick and Rachel for a very enjoyable couple of days.
We will be back

Room Tip: Get on the sea facing 2nd floor
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thesingingdecorator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Thank you for the review. I like the Room Tip "...Sea facing 2nd.floor. Note ...the sea also faces the ist.Floor and Ground floor!! The whole front overlooks the sea but the views from 2nd. floor are truly wonderful :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Stayed at this hotel with a group of friends on a cycling holiday. It is very nice with lovely spacious rooms, clean, good breakfast with a nice little bar serving real ale. It has a good, elevated position overlooking the Menai Straits and a nice little gared in front with seats. There is a busy road and Morrisons between the hotel and the straits but it's not noisy and doesn't really detract from it at all. Very friendly and welcoming staff. They housed our 8 bikes in a secure garage to the rear.Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmc12York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Thank you for the review. It was nice you mentioned about the garage for the bikes.
Tip: We also have secure bike racks in the car park with 24hr.CCTV recording.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Very nice welcoming off the owner, explained everything we asked. Very helpful. Very clean, good value, couldn't fault it. Many thanks. Went outside and the owner came out around ten in the evening an asked I we would like cushions for the seats, that's good service that

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Thanks for the review. We liked the fact that you mentioned about the cushions...garden seats can be cool!! Hope we see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.4 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,307 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
0.2 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Meifod Country House Hotel & Restaurant
2.8 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
748 reviews
4.4 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menai Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menai Bank Hotel

Address: North Road | Gwynedd, Caernarfon LL55 1BD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#5 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
#6 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range: £56 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Menai Bank Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Menai Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menai Bank Hotel Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing