We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Menai Bank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Menai Bank Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Stayed here for one night March 27th 2013. Received a very pleasant welcome, 2nd floor room was warm, comfortable and had a good view of Menai Straits (and Morrison's Supermarket). Slightly disappointed that bar was not going to be open but no major problem. No evening meal available however The Harbour (Yr Harbwr), just over the road in the Victoria Docks complex served reasonable food.
Car park was rather worrying, rather tight and I immagine if the snow had settled it might have proved a little difficult to get out of. However was absolutely fine as didn't fill up and snow didn't settle.
The only tiny quible I have was the thin, cheap, orange toilet paper in an otherwise decent en suite bathroom!
Breakfast was excellent and plentiful and the coffee was very good.
Access to Caernarfon town centre was very good, five to ten minutes by foot.
Thanks for a very comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Room 9 has a very nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthhuston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Good news. No more cheap orange loo paper - just nice soft quality tissue. Thanks for bringing it to our attention. For future reference there's a Bell at Reception to summon service at the bar or reception.Cheers :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    64
    23
    6
    3
See reviews for
32
92
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013 via mobile

Overall, as people have said it's a great little place! Yes there are things that could be better, updating and repair, but it depends what you want in a stay. There is a Premier Inn not far way, but again if you like the mundane, de ja vous experience of that chain great. Its great when your working to have the odd little bobby dazzler like this thrown in! Patrick and family were great, and nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Thanks for the review. Updating and repair noted. Another room refurbished last week. It's never ending :-).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

This little gem is meticulously cared for by Patrick and Rachel. If you enjoy finding people who love what they do and take pride in it, then you'll want to stay at their inn. The rooms are beautiful and the breakfast is delicious--not only eggs and meat cooked to order, with cereal, fruit, yogurt, and toast, but also the nicest coffee machine I've seen! But the best part is their willingness to help. I brought a group of students that was celebrating the Passover holiday during the trip, and I can't believe how far out of their way they went to help us, from setting up a pop-up kitchen to loaning utensils to even picking up groceries for us while we were sight-seeing!! I almost feel bad writing about this because I don't want to promise they'll be able to do as much for everyone, but as this is my second time staying there, I can say for sure that you'll get a friendly welcome, lots of advice and assistance on activities, and hosts who will do whatever they can to make your stay enjoyable. P.S. The location is very convenient--a short walk from the castle, right across the street from a grocery store, with a great view of the Menai Strait and easy access to the coastal path (thanks to Patrick for the tip for my morning run!).

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Thank you very much for such a detailed review and very kind comments. It was great having you back with your group. We look forward to welcoming you again hopefully sometime in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

This was our second visit to this 'Guest House' style B & B, situated on the main Bangor Road, ten minutes walk from Caernarvon town Centre. The house is a double fronted 3 storey Victorian style house, with mainly large bedrooms, a small but free car park at the rear, which is monitored by CCTV. It is run by Patrick and Rachel who hail from the West Coast of Ireland, but have been running this establishment for a few years now. I booked online, but would call Patrick direct in future as the various internet sites frequently misrepresent avaiability here. This was a short one night stay to visit relatives, having stayed here 3 years ago. Patricks' welcome is always warm and witty, and he was most accomodating to our needs. 7 of us stayed in 3 rooms, (a double, twin, and triple) which with breakfast cost just under £230. There are a number of rooms, some with direct views of the Menai straits, and all of our rooms had en-suite facilities. The accomodation was comfortable and clean, with everything we needed for our stay. The breakfast was of high quality, and there was a wide variety of options to suit all tastes. There is a small bar, but it is probably stocked better than the average pub with spirits, although draft and bottled beers and wines are limited. However, for a night cap, Rachel makes a most excellent host to end your evening! There are newer and more modern hotels in and around Caernarvon, but they will not provide you with such a personal experience, as both Patrick and Rachel have time for their guests, and love to chat and find out a little about you. They are most helpful and informative, and this is what provides for a more value-for money experience in my view. We all loved it here just as much the second time and will be returning.

Room Tip: Speak to the owners prior to booking as they can often manouvre things to suit you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Well what can we say after that! You have said it all. This really helps us in our efforts to keep going and make all your visits to here memorable and good value for money :-) Thank you .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

We stayed for 1 sat night. Our room (no2) had a nice en-suit. We liked the place straight away and had a n ice warm welcome from the owners. Only a short distance from the town centre we were very happy with our stay and would go back and we would want the same room. 9/10 so very happy. RJ

Room Tip: No 2 had a nice en-suit
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review. We hope to see you again. Remember you can now select your favourite room when booking from our own website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

I stayed here on a short family trip back in March 2012 (i've just got tripadvisor). We stayed in the triple room which was very comfortable and had an excellent view. We slept very well and our host was keen to help us with directions and the weather forecast on our onward travels as we had quite a big day planned. The breakfast was superbly cooked! I would highly recommend a stay at this hotel for anyone staying in Caernarfon (its a short walk into the town) or anyone travelling throughout Wales.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlecCanwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and even more so that you took the time even after a year to review us. Hope you make it back some day. Happy 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

A friend and I stayed here for one Saturday night. We received a very friendly welcome and were given a front facing twin room that looked out onto the Minai straights. The room was spotless, had tea/coffee facilities and a tv with iphone dock.

The breakfast was cooked to order and the people there could not do enough for you.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahashurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Thank you for recommending our hotel and for taking time to write a review.. Glad you enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you again in 2013. You can now book online directly from our own website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caernarfon hotels
0.4 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
0.2 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#3 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
#8 of 8 in Caernarfon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
4.4 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
1.8 mi away
Meifod Country House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menai Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menai Bank Hotel

Property: Menai Bank Hotel
Address: North Road | Gwynedd, Caernarfon LL55 1BD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#5 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
#6 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Menai Bank Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Menai Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menai Bank Hotel Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing