We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved our visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Menai Bank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Menai Bank Hotel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Loved our visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We wish we could have stayed longer. Very central location in terms of Caernarfon (we could walk to everything in this town) as well as North Wales. The owners, Rachel and Patrick, are friendly and helpful; guided us to good restaurants and trips. We were even upgraded to a larger room at no extra cost. My husband and I were very happy at this B&B and if we return to Wales we will return to same hotel. Thanks for making our stay so pleasurable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joeyrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you for reviewing us and we are always happy to read that you enjoyed your visit and may return again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    64
    23
    6
    2
See reviews for
32
91
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Very nice, great value hotel with lovely, comfortable, well equipped rooms. The owners were very accommodating and it was just short walk into the old town either via the main road or by the sea. Also very accessible via public transport (we arrived by bus from Conwy) with a bus stop just up the road. As we had a tight budget, the combination of a Morrisons across the road and small kitchen available in the hotel was great.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thanks for the review.
As well as a place for your takeaways in the evening the availability of a self service kitchen now means you have the option to make your own breakfast at no extra charge. ...which is proving very popular for those on a tight budget nowadays.
Bus Tip: Those travelling by Bus should find the app "Traveline Cymru" very useful with live info and help finding any bus-stop (nearest one just 70 metres from the hotel entrance).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

booked on wednesday and stayed on thursday and friday ,, overall very good,close to town centre,clean rooms,very friendly owners ,would stay here again when we are in caenarfon.breakfast was excellent

Room Tip: dont be put off by a room at the front,the main road might be close but noise was not a problem even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaj112233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Many thanks for your review. We like the fact that you think we offer value for money. One of the main comparison sites has us as best value in Caernarfon on price. Our September Offers are available now. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
296 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We booked the hotel last minute based on other traveller reviews. We were made very welcome by Patrick and Rachel. Our room was at the top of the hotel overlooking the Menai straits; the bed was one of the most comfortable I've slept in and the bath towels are huge. Our room was spotlessly clean. My only minus comment is that it would have been nice to have had a hand towel too.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvonnenetball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Many thanks for the review. For future reference....
Extra towels are not a problem, just ask at Reception if needed. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

Booked this at the (very) last minute. Extremely good service and a quiet, comfortable room. I wouldn't have gone for the breakfast - not because of the quality, but due to all the good eating places in town. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Radish_Spirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Delighted you found Caernarfon a good eating place. There are a few new additions this year and feedback is very good. Thank you for you review of Menai Bank and hopefully we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

We stayed at this hotel at last minute booking as other hotel let us down when we arrived!! This hotel was simple and good! Our room was a bit dated, but we were very comfortable, the owner ensured that we were comfortable and our needs are met. They even have a fridge where we could store fresh cold food and drink. We had a sea view room which was nice.

Breakfast was good, you can have a choice of "buffet breakfast" (choice of cereals) or cooked English Breakfast.
Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhillipsVessey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you for reviewing and recommending us. We are glad you enjoyed the service. For your information each Winter we "update" some of our "dated" rooms without trying to spoil the "dated look" . The building dates from around 1860.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Rooms are a little shabby and dated but ours was comfortable enough and had a great view. Staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. Breakfast spread was comprehensive and generous although the cooking of some of the elements left a little to be desired. Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
We hope you might email us some specifics that we can address regarding your comments on roooms you were in and the cooking. This should help us improve our standards further which we strive to do on an ongoing basis.Thanks for taking time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caernarfon hotels
0.7 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
#8 of 8 in Caernarfon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#3 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
2.0 mi away
Meifod Country House Hotel & Restaurant
4.2 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menai Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menai Bank Hotel

Property: Menai Bank Hotel
Address: North Road, Caernarfon LL55 1BD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#5 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
#6 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Menai Bank Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Menai Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menai Bank Hotel Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing