We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient basic accommodation”
Review of Menai Bank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Menai Bank Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
244 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Convenient basic accommodation”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Yes, Patrick is very helpful, but we found the room to be very basic. The building is old and it shows. The location is convenient, as it is within walking distance from the town center. A supermarket and small shopping arcade are even closer. Free parking is a definite plus. However, the room rate, which does not include breakfast, is too high for what this hotel offers.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smokedeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Thank you for your review. We realise the hotel is old (c.1860). If we upgraded further all the rooms it would take us into another price level. We think we fit well into the convenient basic accommodation bracket you describe. Your comments are noted. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    64
    23
    6
    3
See reviews for
32
92
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
449 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for an overnight stopover.
From the minute you come in and are met by Patrick you are made to feel very welcomed
The hotel is situated in a great place overlooking the straits and Anglesey beyond. You are also only 10 mins from the castle and promenade
The hotel boasts a lovely breakfast room, pool room, and bar area plus a common room.
The Internet is really good and strong
The breakfast was fab and you couldn't ask for more choice
Our room (6) was really nice if a little overlooked but all mod cons and really liked the coffee and tea idea
A fantastic independent B&B with a great host. A defo return trip is needed

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MarcandLauraB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
What can we say after that 5 star review..only a big 5 star Thank you :-) Look forward to seeing you again DV.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Looking for an overnight stop on our way to a leisurely next morning rendezvous in Abersoch from Huddersfield this was just what we needed. Warm welcome, pleasant clean room and a smashing breakfast served with a smile.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebCoombes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
We are always pleased to read reviews where people have found the hotel a relaxing place to stay. Thank you for your review. Hopefully we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Extremely good stay, very good value for money. 20 minute drive to climb Snowdon which was ideal. Patrick very accommodating, didn't hear a peep from the other guests. Would definitely recommend to others and when we return next year would definitely stay here.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Louisfleetwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking time to review us. We look forward to having you back next year hopefully. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flintshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I booked a ground floor room at this hotel through laterooms.com which was probably my first mistake as i now believe that dwaling with the hotel directly if you have special requirements is probably the best policy. I did speak to the owner after i had already made the booking about access for my wife who suffers from very severe arthritis and didn't hear anything to put me off. The hotel does also have an access statement on it's own website right at the very bottom of the page but that didn't put me off either. On arrival we discovered the driveway to the hotel car park was very steep this gives them exemption from all the disability access laws but it was ok because you can park by the entrance to go and check in. My wife stayed in the car until i had checked in and then joined me to go to the room. Access to this ground floor room was along a narow corridor and then up two sets of very high steps. My wife struggled up them to the room which there was nothing wrong with but it was obvious that were we to stay there my wife would've been confined to the room because of these two sets of steps. We decided to leave and look for somewhere else. The owner did refund us what we had paid for breakfast but eould not refund us for the room because we had booked through laterooms and not directly. It was an expensive mistake. The room was not advertised as a disabled room and the hotel does not claim to be disabled friendly but i think knowing our problem was genuine and we were not leaving just because we didn't like the place the owner could perhaps of given us even a partial refund. Anyway expensive lesson learnt.

Room Tip: Do not go there if you have trouble walking or are confined to a wheelchair etc
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thanks for the review. It's important people understand this hotel is DDA exempt due to the slope of the driveway into the car park which is not suitable for wheelchairs or disabled persons. Again you are right to tell people check with the hotel first and I would stress if in doubt please telephone first. Unfortunately in your case had I been made aware how disabled your wife was i would have advised you strongly against booking. It's also important people understand cancellation policies when booking via on line travel agents like Booking.com or Late Rooms. I gave you the option to cancel your booking via Booking.com but you were unable to do so. Only the client themselves can do that..not the hotel. Then the chances were the room could have been re-let and you could have been refunded.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed here for one night following the end of our Three Peaks Challenge. I was slightly concerned when we pulled up as from the outside it looks a little dated. But we were pleasantly surprised! All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly, the rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable and the breakfast was plentiful and yummy! If you are looking for somewhere luxurious and modern then this is not the place for you. But if you want comfort and great hospitality then you'll like it here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coops27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thanks for your review. We think it sums it up nicely. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

It was my niece's wedding reception in the town (Sat 14th June) and my wife and I had left making an overnight booking to the last minute. A Google 'B & B' search brought up a vacancy at Menai Bank Hotel. Our host 'Patrick' was great from booking through to leaving; he only had one double room left, no sea view (we didn't care), and we confirmed the booking over the phone. Our room was fully suited to purpose, clean, en-suite loo and shower, washbasin, clean bedding, towels, toiletries, all you would hope for. On the morning of leaving we each enjoyed a good 'full english/welsh' breakfast, great fruit or cereals choice, bacon etc,etc,etc, cooked to choice, toast and all the coffee we could drink. Like the heading says, 'thank you Patrick - great'.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a sea view others not
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for a great review.
Tip: As you said it can pay off to ring up sometimes. Just because an on line system says there is no availability, it means just that only for the rooms that are available to book on line
Remember not all rooms appear on all the online booking systems.
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caernarfon hotels
0.4 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
0.2 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#3 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
#8 of 8 in Caernarfon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
4.4 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
1.8 mi away
Meifod Country House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menai Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menai Bank Hotel

Property: Menai Bank Hotel
Address: North Road | Gwynedd, Caernarfon LL55 1BD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#5 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
#6 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Menai Bank Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Menai Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menai Bank Hotel Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing