We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“an excellent choice and a great breakfast to start the day.”
Review of Menai Bank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Menai Bank Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
widnes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“an excellent choice and a great breakfast to start the day.”
Reviewed 13 August 2010

myself and my partner stayed for two nights to explore anglesy and caernarfon, we enjoyed every minute of our stay, the breakfast was lovely with an extensive choice of cereals and hot food and nothing was too much trouble if you wanted something different, the welcome was warm when we arrived, patrick and his family were lovely and it was like you had known them for ages, there were lots of little extras such as cotton wool balls and a jar of coffee in your room instead of little sachets, also pots of jam and marmalade on your breakfast table, the cereals were also main brands as was the tea and coffee, thankyou for making our stay so nice, we will definately be back.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenalanWidnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    63
    23
    6
    3
See reviews for
32
92
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clifton, VA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2010

Whatever this hotel may lack (and that isn't much) is more than made up for by the hospitality of it's proprietors and the general "you are part of the family" feeling you get from staying here. The hotel is situated superbly for exploring Caernarfon and the surrounding area. We were traveling as a family of three and found our room quite comfortable. We got a sound night's sleep every night.

On our first night we spent some time chatting with the family that owns the hotel. They are lovely people and truly go out of their way to make you feel more as if you are staying as a guest in their home rather than a patron of the hotel. Every amenity (including help with parking my car into their carpark) is extended.

The breakfasts here are wonderful with a huge selection on the buffet including an espresso maker, different breads, jams, cereals, and a fine selection of cooked items from the menu. In short this hotel excels at getting you a proper meal in the morning and we looked forward to it as a fine way to start our day.

There isn't really any downside to this hotel. If you need a place to base from for the area this is an ideal choice. We would highly recommend this wonderful hotel to anyone and thank Patrick and his wife for the kind hospitality they offered us on our recent visit.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terrysb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2010

Visited Manai Bank three times, once with my wife and twice with a friend for Snowdon purposes. Nice place, great breakfast and the warmth you would hope to get from the Irish - the lovely Rachael and Patrick.

The two climbing trips were both in the height of Summer, but on both occasions we have picked, not by choice, the wettest days of the year! On each occasion we have returned to the Menai cold, tired, drenched and bedraggled. That could give you a problem in many Hotels but both times our Hosts have downed tools and sorted us with additional towels to get us upstairs whilst out soaked clothes and kit were tumbledried and sorted out for our collection next day. That's what we call service!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RamblerDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2010

If you are visiting the Caernafon and Snowdon area this is the B&B to chose .

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blox13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestonion
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2010

The Menai Bank Hotel is a perfect base for travelling round north west Wales. You are made to feel welcome and comfortable. After a day of sightseeing you can sit in the lounge, which overlooks the Menai, with a drink from the bar and wind down in comfort. The rooms are clean and have everything you need. Well worth the money and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnePrestonion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2010

A marvellous B&B - generous, charming and helpful hosts. Rooms are great and breakfast a fabulous way to start the day. What a location with some amazing views. And so convenient for the town and for the area. We will return, that's for sure.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveB99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2010

Five of us from Ireland stayed 3 nights in this excellent little hotel. Rooms, breakfast, service and just all round helpfulness made our stay more than satisfactory. And at such good value. We have stayed in other places in the area, but not anymore. Perfect place to base yourself for a few days walking in Snowdonia.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrogTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caernarfon hotels
0.4 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
0.2 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#3 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
#8 of 8 in Caernarfon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
4.4 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
1.8 mi away
Meifod Country House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menai Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menai Bank Hotel

Property: Menai Bank Hotel
Address: North Road | Gwynedd, Caernarfon LL55 1BD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#5 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
#6 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Menai Bank Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Menai Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menai Bank Hotel Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing