We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a clean, comfortable hotel with pleasing decor in an attractive location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2011

The hotel is well situated on the Menai Straits, providing pleasant surroundings for a stroll.
The room offered good quality accommodation, including wifi and tea-making facilities. The only thing lacking was a view from the window.
Breakfast was in a nearby restaurant , The Harbour, and this was a 4star experience, with a lovely decor, harbour views and freshly cooked food to order by a good team of attentive staff.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sentiments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,213 - 1,219 of 1,249 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2011

Great hotel, great location, lovely staff. Location is a beautiful area, with the waterfront only a few steps away. Food not the best aspect of the hotel, but prefectly decent, just not outstanding.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimRoberts1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

The Premier Inn Caernarfon was without a doubt the best hotel I've ever stayed in. No, it wasn't the biggest or the cheapest, or the most luxurious, but it was the best. The main reason being the staff. I have never met such a friendly and welcoming group of people who are so willing to help with everything. We felt welcome from the minute we walked through the door to the minute we left. The staff can't do enough to help you. They helped us find places to go in the day, places to eat, even going as far as finding us postcodes and ringing the restaurants to see if they had room. They always had time to chat about the local area and recommend places to us, and I can't fault them at all.

A lot of people have mentioned the parking. On day one we parked in the £3.50 a day car park which is literally across the road from the hotel. There's a pelican crossing and a small slope down to the hotels main door and even though it was rainy and windy when we arrived we didn't mind the 20 second walk across the road. For the rest of our stay we parked in the Morrisons car park. This is about a minute away, and it really isn't an inconvenience at all.

The heater in the room was a bit loud, but we just left it on all day then switched it off at night, Im sure the staff would have provided us with a space heater or an extra duvet had we asked. The bed was comfy and the room was spotless when we arrived with everything ready to make a cup of tea. The bathroom was nicer than my bathroom at home with plenty of hot water (I had a bath :D) and big fluffy towels, hand soap and shower gel are provided. Staff dont mind if you need anything extra, my partner spilt an entire cup of tea all over the bed one morning, we nipped out and came back just under an hour later. The bedding had been completely changed and all our towels neatly folded away.

We only ate in the restaurant twice, a three course dinner and breakfast. We left the waitress a large tip at dinner as like the hotel staff she couldn't do enough to help us, and wish I'd have done the same for the lady at breakfast as she was the same. The food was great, you can eat as much as you like at breakfast and they dont mind bringing you anything more than once like some places seem to do.

If you stay in Caernarfon please please please stay at this hotel. I can't rate it highly enough. If you have any problems at all the staff will sort it immediately and the place is lovely. We had a great weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beckethski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2011

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and experienced the great service our team are committed to giving our guests. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay we feel that the great service delivered by an approachable, efficient team is as important as a comfortable bed and clean room. Your feedback is very much appreciated as we endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

Reading some of these reviews i wonder why people book budget hotels and then moan about little things. !

Anyway this hotel is in a great, quiet location on the quayside right next to Travelodge.
The rooms are basic but perfrectly clean with great shower and bed. The heating was confusing and was a little noisy, not sure now how it was supposed to work but this wasn't an issue.

The staff were excellent and informative, the location is just 2 minuteswalk to town .The car park (free) is about a minutes walk away . Caernarvon is pretty lively on Saturday nights and has a poor range of eateries, in hindsight we would have preferred to eat in Table Table next door as we had dreadful meal in a place called "Jakes Bistro".

Did breakfast in Weatherspoons at fraction of price the Premier Inn breakfast (£8)
All in all great location for exploring local areas.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonynewport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

This hotel is in a great location, fantastic views of harbour and you can walk to the castle. Staff at hotel and related pub/restaurant really friendly. Room was to a good standard. cafe in craft centre was really good especially the cakes. Don't bother with the the DOC cafe as service poor - our food took 1hour to arrive - not good when you have a hungry 5 year old with you!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobbyboyChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2011

As a regular Premier Inn guest, this is one of the quietest of the chain's hotels as it isn't near to a main road.
When reaching the reception, it was obvious that the young female receptionist was came from England, but she was very proffesional. Due to her hosbitality qualities, it seemed as though she has moved to the area specifically for the job. We thought it would have been better to be greeted by a local person, considering so many come to the town with the strongest Welsh heritage on holiday.
As always, a comfy stay with that unique, fresh feeling. As it is one of the newly-built hotels, rooms come with modern TV's. Something the business has missed out on is the location of the hotel. It may be on the Victoria Dock, but no room is able to look onto the Menai Strait. Only the private apartments can, and most of them are empty! A chance for an unique Premier-inn stay gone to waste!

In the morning, we had breakfast in the Table Table restaurant which is part of the hotel. Again, same standard as all Premier-inn's - great 'Premier' and Continental breakfasts. The waitress who saw us to our table not only told us which table to sit at, but after sitting down to face each other, she told my girlfriend to move to another seat!!! She did it with good intentions - so that we can sit nearer to each other, but at which chair to sit is the customer's decision!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewCymraeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2011

Stayed half board at this hotel for one night, the reception staff were very welcoming even though we arrived a little early they let us check in.
The room was fine (no complaints) and there was adequate tea/coffee facilities.
We ate in the restaurant next door for evening meal and breakfast and both meals were lovely, the staff in the restaurant couldn't do enough especially at breakfast to ensure you had everything,
Would recommend this hotel and will be staying again in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trueblue18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2011

Thanks for your review we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We welcome your feedback as it is very important to us that our guests enjoy their stay with Premier Inn and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,347 reviews
0 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
0.1 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
443 reviews
3 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
758 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel

Address: Balaclava Road Victoria Dock, Caernarfon LL55 1SR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#3 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range: £44 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're trekking up Snowdon or yachting down the coast, Premier Inn Hotel Caenarfon Victoria Dock is perfect for the high life around here. We're right on the Marina, and close to the history of Caenarfon and the majesty of Snowdonia too. Put on your walking boots for some serious climbing, or take off your shoes for a paddle at Dinas Dinlle. Stand on platforms waiting for the West Highland Railway, or hotfoot it over to Anglesey. Then turn your feet back to the hotel for some tasty fare at our Table Table restaurant and a great night's sleep. Directions: Follow A55 Holyhead, take J9 (Caernarfon), at roundabout first exit and then continue to follow all signs to Caernarfon. As you enter Caernarfon at roundabout with Morrisons on right, take 1st exit, keep in right hand lane, at next roundabout take 4th exit to mini roundabout, the hotel is in front of you next to Yr Harbur Table Table. Parking is off site. Contact hotel directly for more details Transport and local information: Caernarfon Castle 0.5 mile Snowdonia National Park 12 miles Betws Y Coed and Swallow Falls 23 miles Bangor Train station 10 miles Holyhead Ferry Servies 32 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel Caernarfon
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing