We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel good, restaurant dreadful.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2011

No complaints about hotel. Quite convenient to town. Eat in town.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Outbackdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,158 - 1,164 of 1,227 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2011

You wouldn't stay here for the view, but you would for the friendly staff, location, and lively restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivienne_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

hotel staff very friendly, great to have the high quality you expect from the primer inn group, hotel is new clean fresh plenty of car parking round the side of the hotel.

only negatives were milk had gone off in the tea tray but fresh milk was given to us straight away, and shower gel was empty in the shower.

Room Tip: all seem to be good as one anther
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dharminder C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

I stayed here for two nights whilst visiting my parents with my daughter. This Premier Inn is good for a budget hotel. The room was clean although the carpet looked as though it could do with a good shampoo. Both the double bed and the small single for my daughter was very comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. I paid £39 a night which I felt was a good deal. The breakfast is good value if you have children as they eat free with a full adult breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bexleysmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Full price room £70+ per night, parking is offsite, tea and coffee making facilities but no biscuits (saving the hotel 50p?), breakfast an extra £7.99, coffee weak brown water, latte an extra £2+ (weak brown milk but hey it is Costa). Rooms beginning to age, soap dispenser broken, poor finishing (repairs?) on tiling/skirting in the bathroom. Try a B&B instead (unless you want to recreate the Shining tricycle scene in puce - the corridors are suitably long and labyrinthine).

Staff competent, friendly and helpful - I think the problems with this chain lie higher up the line, and for £29 the saver rate would represent good value.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dickie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stayed two nights. The hotel is easy to find, and is well situated for seeing the town. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especialy for the breakfast, which is quite good value given you can have as much as you want. Car parking is no problem as a free car park is about 50 metres away! The room was warm, and comfy, as you would expect from Premier Inn. There was very little to be heard from the other rooms. It might need a slight refurbishment, looking a little marked in places, though. Yes, there's no "character", but Premier Inn don't sell themselves as such. It's good value and comfy, what more can you ask for. And Caernarfon is a very nice to visit.

Room Tip: second floor is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank gforsyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We took our young family (ages 2, 4 & 6) to Caernarfon for 2 nights. We considered staying in a small Welsh cottage, but thought that our little ones were probably a little too young to appreciate such surroundings and would, quite possibly, find the attraction of small trinkets and such impossible not to touch ....

In the end we were very glad that we had decided to stay in a 'normal' hotel, which ended up being the Premier Inn Caernarfon. It was in a great location with an easy walk into the town centre, the train station and Caernarfon Castle.

The rooms were basic, but comfortable enough for our family of 5. The beds were comfy, clean and made up with fresh, crisp linen. The maintenance on the room however was a little lacking (holes and cracks in the walls etc), but it did mean that we didn't feel so 'precious' about our rummin children running all around the room at such a fast pace :) ... The only major downfall was that our room didn't include a bar fridge, as we were hoping to purchase a bottle of wine and drink it in our room. But otherwise, it was comfortable and we all slept reasonably well.

We booked our first night's dinner at the Table Table Restaurant which was great value (the duck was delicious!!) and the kids were very well catered for. We also had the full breakfast each morning, which was also fantastic value as our kids ate free and the hot breakfast was not a buffet, but actually cooked to order (and quite fast too!).

We would recommend this hotel for any family looking for a great location, good facilities and a good night's sleep.

** Hint: If you have older children, or are travelling as a couple or with friends, and would like a nice meal out, we can highly recommend the Cantonese Restaurant around the corner from the Table Table Restaurant. Gorgeous interior and the food was sensational!! We loved very bit of it. Great value too. Definately a MUST on your trip to Caernarvon.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buzz_Bianca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,327 reviews
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
0.1 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
752 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
436 reviews
0.2 mi away
Menai Bank Hotel
Menai Bank Hotel
#7 of 8 in Caernarfon
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel

Address: Balaclava Road Victoria Dock, Caernarfon LL55 1SR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#3 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range: £45 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're trekking up Snowdon or yachting down the coast, Premier Inn Hotel Caenarfon Victoria Dock is perfect for the high life around here. We're right on the Marina, and close to the history of Caenarfon and the majesty of Snowdonia too. Put on your walking boots for some serious climbing, or take off your shoes for a paddle at Dinas Dinlle. Stand on platforms waiting for the West Highland Railway, or hotfoot it over to Anglesey. Then turn your feet back to the hotel for some tasty fare at our Table Table restaurant and a great night's sleep. Directions: Follow A55 Holyhead, take J9 (Caernarfon), at roundabout first exit and then continue to follow all signs to Caernarfon. As you enter Caernarfon at roundabout with Morrisons on right, take 1st exit, keep in right hand lane, at next roundabout take 4th exit to mini roundabout, the hotel is in front of you next to Yr Harbur Table Table. Parking is off site. Contact hotel directly for more details Transport and local information: Caernarfon Castle 0.5 mile Snowdonia National Park 12 miles Betws Y Coed and Swallow Falls 23 miles Bangor Train station 10 miles Holyhead Ferry Servies 32 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel Caernarfon
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing