We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newish hotel in ideal location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Newish hotel in ideal location”
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Enjoyed my stay in Caernarfon, and this hotel was very good, an easy walk from the Marina to the Castle. I took advantage of a free car park nearby and had breakfast at the Morrisons opposite, the castle is a particularly good day out.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    580
    408
    125
    42
    25
See reviews for
445
447
41
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

I quite often stay in different premier inn's around the country and this is the first time I have found one to be smelling. I walked in the room and it smelt strongly of urine, I could't call reception because there was no phone available in the room. I spoke to the receptionist and she assured me she would clean it by the time I got back from my meal. I got back that evening and there was still a strong of urine, the toilet had been cleaned but the floor was still covered and had not been touched. I decided to open the window keep the door closed and not use the bathroom. You don't expect this when you are paying £83 and £16 for breakfast. I could't wait to get out of there, I had breakfast and the service was very slow if you didn't approach them you wouldnt be served at all. It was quiet at breakfast time but they actually forgot about us when serving the full breakfast, after 30 minutes of waiting we had to approach them, but the staff was polite. I never complain but would not recomment this hotel to anyone. Try the Black Boy Inn up the street, lovely food and great service.

Room Tip: Try the Black Boy Inn up the Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shirley g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

The location is great, right on the marina and only minutes from the castle. The hotel is undergoing refurbishment and this should be stated when booking, it didn't affect us much as we arrived Thursday evening and left on the Sunday, but there was a bit of dirt around the corridors, and rooms boarded up with plywood. The hotel staff were polite and helpfull, but the restaurant has poor service, the food is way below parr (hard poached eggs!) and we saw tables piled up with plates and glasses. outside tables had drink glasses still on them from the previous night. Needles to say we decided to have our evening meals in town. Pity, the restaurant lets it down, the hotel is fine, and would stay there again, but the food side needs a shake up!

Room Tip: Ask about the ongoing refurbishment and how it would affect you
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2012

I have always supported the premier inn, however it will not be my first choice in the future. The eisteddfod was local therefore took advantage of charging £110 for a family room for one night stay. An extra £18 for 2 breakfasts. An expensive overnight stay. No complaints about the hotel it was clean, friendly and the breakfast was good, it's just the fact that why do businesses always take advantage. Not fair. For shame premier inn, your rooms were going to be occupied anyway. Really disappointed. mega expensive trip for the whole family.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delythjohn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Thanks for your feedback.

We are very pleased that our team at the hotel ensured that you were well looked after. Our pricing policy works in the same way as many airlines where prices are driven by market conditions at the time. Although prices may increase at times of demand, they may also reduce on nights which are less busy. We do have a Team who closely monitor all hotels to ensure they are competitively priced as we always try and give you the best value for money.

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WALES
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Good Location, we had a room that smelt of Urine, poor service in the restaurant

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STEPHEN G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel.

At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Stayed here over the jubilee weekend. The Premier Inn is in a great location, right next to Caernarfon Castle and only a 20 minutes drive from Snowdonia. Nice looking building, and very clean. Also free parking which is a bonus.

Only let down was the restaurant, received poor service for the dinner and the breakfast which was a shame. Really let down our views on here and if we would return. The staff seemed over worked and there was no organisation or structure at all. We were the 4th couple to walk out of the restaurant at breakfast within half an hour.

However we explained the whole experience to Premier Inn Receptionist Gary who was extremely helpful and went above and beyond which we are very thankful for.

If returning to Snowdonia we would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oogle90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Much better than my first visit to another Premier Inn, though nothing particularly memorable - guess that means 'nothing to complain about'. Expect to walk a bit to the car park (blue badge holders should be fine - several spaces right outside).

Arrived just in time for sunset over the harbour which made some lovely photographs! Reception was undergoing some building work - hopefully it will be better after (not very welcoming though staff were friendly)! Room was comfortable, little view from the window as it looked out onto a balustrade.

Breakfast in the neighbouring pub was fine - very well trained staff!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alister C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
0.2 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
742 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
424 reviews
8.1 mi away
Travelodge Bangor Wales
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
Address: Balaclava Road Victoria Dock, Caernarfon LL55 1SR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#3 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're trekking up Snowdon or yachting down the coast, Premier Inn Hotel Caenarfon Victoria Dock is perfect for the high life around here. We're right on the Marina, and close to the history of Caenarfon and the majesty of Snowdonia too. Put on your walking boots for some serious climbing, or take off your shoes for a paddle at Dinas Dinlle. Stand on platforms waiting for the West Highland Railway, or hotfoot it over to Anglesey. Then turn your feet back to the hotel for some tasty fare at our Table Table restaurant and a great night's sleep. Directions: Follow A55 Holyhead, take J9 (Caernarfon), at roundabout first exit and then continue to follow all signs to Caernarfon. As you enter Caernarfon at roundabout with Morrisons on right, take 1st exit, keep in right hand lane, at next roundabout take 4th exit to mini roundabout, the hotel is in front of you next to Yr Harbur Table Table. Parking is off site. Contact hotel directly for more details Transport and local information: Caernarfon Castle 0.5 mile Snowdonia National Park 12 miles Betws Y Coed and Swallow Falls 23 miles Bangor Train station 10 miles Holyhead Ferry Servies 32 miles ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel Caernarfon
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing