We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does what it says on the tin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Does what it says on the tin”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

This Premier Inn is in a great location on the harbourside in Caernarfon, just a couple of minutes walk from the castle, shops and restaurants. It has all the usual Premier Inn features in the standard Premier Inn decor. The Caernarfon Travelodge is in the same complex so location-wise there is nothing to choose between the two. The restaurant is a separate Table Table formula dining pub, which again has the bog standard menu you'd expect. We found the service variable depending on the staff on duty, but mostly good. Breakfast was plentiful and good value. Parking is a slight issue. You have to use the public car parks, the nearest of which is pay and display from 08:00 til 18:00 meaning that you have to buy tickets for afternoon and mornings. There is a free car park about 400 yards away but I didn't feel comfortable leaving my car there as it seemed to be a gathering point for the local youth in the evenings.

Room Tip: Not much to choose between rooms on either side of the hotel you get a view of a quiet road, or the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lobsterpotDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    381
    112
    39
    20
See reviews for
410
423
39
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

We chose the Premier Inn because for a family of 4, it was simply excellent value (4 beds in one room and free breakfast for the kids). The room is a bit small, but okay, the beds were good. The bathroom is a bit unpractical (e.g. nothing to really hang wet clothes to dry). The staff at the reception was very friendly. It was a real pity that the room was not very well taken care of: Why do you only put 3 cups in a room with 4 people (repeatedly), do 2 milks really suffice for 4 people? why only 2 towels?

The location of the hotel is great.

The restaurant (Table Table) where we had breakfast (booked through the hotel) is a different story... Ok, we only paid £ 16.50 for 4 breakfasts (2 adults, kids were free) and it was all you can eat, but still:

Cooked breakfast: At least a 20 minute wait (after waiting some minutes to be seated and some more minutes to be asked what we wanted...). The cooked food was then ok, but probably depending on the mood of the chef, portions varied from tiny to very large. The worst was the buffet: What good is a buffet if half of the things supposed to be there are always missing: coffee, milk, croissants, muffins, fruit, water, juice..., yogurt, ... The staff seemed not to care whether the buffet was restocked or not, it was just pure luck if you got what you wanted (and the buffet is not the kind you get in continental hotels with say cheese, meat, fresh fruit, mineral water). The same with dirty dishes: they never got taken away from the table (you just had to pile them up). Sometimes the spoons were missing, the salt and pepper shakers were dirty (and when asking for a clean one, it was slightly less dirty...).

So, it's all you can eat if:
1. You have plenty of time to wait for the cooked food
2. You find room on your table to put the food
3. You regularly check the buffet whether what you wanted but wasn't there has now appeared again
4. You don't mind getting say salt and pepper and cutlery from other (vacant) tables
5. You don't mind mostly disinterested staff

We also had lunch once there (before we knew the breakfast) and then also decided we wouldn't do this again (bland food, tiny portions for the kids).


So, I would go to Premier Inn again, but Table Table I will certainly avoid

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wallisellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitbread-77, Steven Hicks, Social Media at Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel.

It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our breakfast service did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated.

Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

what a lovely location for a hotel,the victoria doc was like being abrod and the hotel was in walking distance of the town centre.its a must to visit the castle and the walk about this little town was ever so nice,browsing through the shops and more than enough cafe's to choose from and it was a bonus for us as we had good weather and pleanty of sunshine,we recommend a visit to caernarfon.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

Newer, and a far more spectacular location than most Premier Inns. Reception area is still reminiscent of a Youth Hostel, but the staff very pleasant and professional. The rooms are plain but good size and adequate, and the beds are comfortable.
The restaurant next door - called 'Table Table' (?) is good, and an improvement on many of the eateries next to Premier Inns.
In summary, a welcome addition to the accommodation previously available in Caernarfon.

Room Tip: All much of a muchness; probably best not on ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ppnumerianus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

stayed here when they did the £19 a night deal,well worth it. Also took up on the meal deal £22 each for a 3 course dinner+free pint or wine plus all you could eat breakfast. This was at the Table Table eaterie opposite the hotel next to the marina, it was a shame the main meal (rump stake) was an awful cut ,fatty and gristly but the breakfast next morning made up for it.
The room was plain and simple and very clean , my only complaint was the bed + pillows werent to my liking and i woke with a bad back and trapped nerve in my neck, but you never get anything as comfy as what you have at home where ever you stay whether its £19 or £190 a night. would i stay here again yes i would for £19 as it is a hotel with no views which is such a shame as its on the banks of the menia straights but so many buildings inbetween all you see is the travel lodge next door.

Room Tip: no good rooms with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ean12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

Just wanting a cheapish mini-break in North Wales and having a bit of an aversion to B&B's/Guest Houses, the Premier Inn at Caernarfon seemed the logical choice. You know what you're getting and the cost was pretty decent (even if, during the booking stage, I spurned a sudden price drop for one of the nights, which had gone back up £30 by the following day when I went to book)

The hotel is wonderfully located, right next to the marina and close to the Menai Strait. I don't think there's any rooms with sea views but that doesn't really matter (and you'd be paying much more if they did!). Having never been to Caernarfon before we didn't know what to expect but were really pleasantly surprised; Caernarfon is a beautiful little town and Premier Inn is just a very short stroll away from the old part of the town - you can even amble right along the 'promendade' to the castle.

The staff were all friendly and helpful, the rooms modern & clean (our two little ones hid under the double bed at one stage and I was terrified of what I'd find underneath, but the floor was clean - top marks!). With a two single beds in as well, the room still didn't feel cramped and the aircon was spot on.

We ate breakfast both mornings in the TableTable pub next door. The place is new and pleasant enough inside, with a great covered area outside with chairs & tables. Breakfasts were decent - although the 'Full English' element needs to be ordered and comes on a plate; I prefer buffet-style. One morning one plate arrived without mushrooms, but that was very quickly remedied with a dish of them. That could be forgiven, because the second morning it was packed - a group of sports people staying overnight in the Travelodge next door were booked in, about 30 of them. Only other complaint was there were no muffins either morning.

Also ate dinner there one day. It's the standard pub-chain fayre and the standard prices are expensive for what it is - but there's always offers on that make the price acceptable. We took advantage of three: kids eat for £1; one-third off the food bill; second drink half-price. We also ate at Fu's Chinese restaurant in the same building, which was superb.

All in all a really nice stay in a clean, well-priced hotel with friendly staff located perfectly in a lovely little town.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weby72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

We stayed overnight for the ferry to Ireland. Room was typical Premier Inn and that's not a bad thing. Clean, pleasant, quiet, functional, individual beds for the two kids. Fresh breakfast made to order. Car park unfortunately was over the road in paid public car park. The thing which made this hotel for us were the staff. Checking in late? No problem, we'll greet you by name when you arrive. Need an alarm call? No problem, here's a clock with new batteries (there is no internal phone). Want some hints to getting to the ferry terminal on time? We'll give you them. You may need some extra tea bags etc as there are four of you, well here's a goody bag with extra. Toasting machine broken at breakfast? No problem, chef will prepare some and we'll deliver to your table. Premier Inn - please give everyone here a pat on the back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlandHel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#3 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
5.7 mi away
Premier Inn Bangor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
#8 of 8 in Caernarfon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.2 mi away
Menai Bank Hotel
Menai Bank Hotel
#7 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
Address: Balaclava Road Victoria Dock, Caernarfon LL55 1SR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#3 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're trekking up Snowdon or yachting down the coast, Premier Inn Hotel Caenarfon Victoria Dock is perfect for the high life around here. We're right on the Marina, and close to the history of Caenarfon and the majesty of Snowdonia too. Put on your walking boots for some serious climbing, or take off your shoes for a paddle at Dinas Dinlle. Stand on platforms waiting for the West Highland Railway, or hotfoot it over to Anglesey. Then turn your feet back to the hotel for some tasty fare at our Table Table restaurant and a great night's sleep. Directions: Follow A55 Holyhead, take J9 (Caernarfon), at roundabout first exit and then continue to follow all signs to Caernarfon. As you enter Caernarfon at roundabout with Morrisons on right, take 1st exit, keep in right hand lane, at next roundabout take 4th exit to mini roundabout, the hotel is in front of you next to Yr Harbur Table Table. Parking is off site. Contact hotel directly for more details Transport and local information: Caernarfon Castle 0.5 mile Snowdonia National Park 12 miles Betws Y Coed and Swallow Falls 23 miles Bangor Train station 10 miles Holyhead Ferry Servies 32 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel Caernarfon
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing