We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant in every way!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant in every way!”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Had a great stay here, staff were brilliant, very friendly and full of useful local info. No actual on site parking but a free 24hour car park was just a 30 second walk away. Room was typical premier in, everything you need, comfy bed, clean and tidy. Stunning location right on the harbour and only 15 mins to Snowdon, a great base! We didnt eat in the restaurant as there were lots of other places to try in town but it looked busy when we stopped in there for a drink. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danger1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    582
    409
    125
    42
    25
See reviews for
447
448
41
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

The location of this hotel is beautiful - in the Viktoria Dock of Caernarfon. The free car park nearby was no problem. All the staff were cheerful and very friendly.

The Table Table restaurant was Terrible Terrible. On the first morning we were told that there was a 20 minute wait for a table. On the second morning we were told that although there was a table - there would be a 40 minute wait for any hot food - (this is a cooked breakfast!) . We made the error of using the restaurant one evening. The food was terrible, there was no ice in the drinks as the ice machine had broken down, the credit card machine broke down and there was a general air of chaos.

Room Tip: check with reception the precise location of your room - some are a route march around a long corrid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fhall_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel.

At Premier Inn we always strive to provide customers with a comfortable stay, and I apologise that on this occasion your experience at our restaurant was far below our usual high standards, but please be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carms
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stayed in a family room for 4 nights at the Premier Inn in Caernarfon. Excellent. Room was large with a double bed and 2 single beds with ample space. The location is great on the harbourside and within walking distance to the shops and the castle. Staff were very friendly and polite at all times. We ate breakfast in the Table Table Restaurant which again was excellent value with good choice of cooked or continental breakfasts. We also had our evening meals in the Table Table Restaurant which again was excellent and would highly recommend. All in all we can not fault the Premier Inn or the Table Table Restaurant and would definately stay at this Premier Inn again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abc123Carms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We stayed in a family room for one night and found that it was very large and well laid out with a double/king size bed and two roll out/sofa beds for the children. Our room looked into an internal courtyard type area and as a result did not get a great deal of light.
The staff were very friendly, though the reception area is very basic.
You can get free wifi access in your room for 30 minutes per day.
We ate breakfast in the Top Table restaurant where breakfast was £8.25 per adult and U/16's eat free. We were warned at reception in the hotel that if we did not avoid peak time for breakfast that there could be a wait of up to 50 minutes. We did avoid peak time and in fact went late to breakfast at 10.45 with breakfast finishing at 11.00. It was quiet in the restaurant at this time and for that reason it was strange to have to wait 5 minutes for somebody to greet and seat us. We asked to sit outside for breakfast as we saw other people dining outside overlooking the harbour. We were told that we could not sit outside as the Sea Gulls were vicious at this time of day. No choice but a plain no. We were then seated in a corner of the restaurant where there were about five tables that were occupied. It was nearly impossible to get out of your seat without bumping somebody elses at another table. I can understand them trying to keep the remaining diners in the one area, but this was ridiculous since the restaurant was about 20% occupied. It took 30 mins for our breakfast to be served. Its strange how the bacon was still half raw after 30 mins. All in all the staff were very unfriendly and we felt we were a total inconvenience.

All in all a good Premier Inn in at great location. Look for a room on the outside with more sunlight and avoid the restaurant. Morrissons is across the road and you can get a good value breakfast in their restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an external wall rather than a courtyard view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrosnaIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2012

This Premier Inn is in a great location on the harbourside in Caernarfon, just a couple of minutes walk from the castle, shops and restaurants. It has all the usual Premier Inn features in the standard Premier Inn decor. The Caernarfon Travelodge is in the same complex so location-wise there is nothing to choose between the two. The restaurant is a separate Table Table formula dining pub, which again has the bog standard menu you'd expect. We found the service variable depending on the staff on duty, but mostly good. Breakfast was plentiful and good value. Parking is a slight issue. You have to use the public car parks, the nearest of which is pay and display from 08:00 til 18:00 meaning that you have to buy tickets for afternoon and mornings. There is a free car park about 400 yards away but I didn't feel comfortable leaving my car there as it seemed to be a gathering point for the local youth in the evenings.

Room Tip: Not much to choose between rooms on either side of the hotel you get a view of a quiet road, or the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lobsterpotDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We chose the Premier Inn because for a family of 4, it was simply excellent value (4 beds in one room and free breakfast for the kids). The room is a bit small, but okay, the beds were good. The bathroom is a bit unpractical (e.g. nothing to really hang wet clothes to dry). The staff at the reception was very friendly. It was a real pity that the room was not very well taken care of: Why do you only put 3 cups in a room with 4 people (repeatedly), do 2 milks really suffice for 4 people? why only 2 towels?

The location of the hotel is great.

The restaurant (Table Table) where we had breakfast (booked through the hotel) is a different story... Ok, we only paid £ 16.50 for 4 breakfasts (2 adults, kids were free) and it was all you can eat, but still:

Cooked breakfast: At least a 20 minute wait (after waiting some minutes to be seated and some more minutes to be asked what we wanted...). The cooked food was then ok, but probably depending on the mood of the chef, portions varied from tiny to very large. The worst was the buffet: What good is a buffet if half of the things supposed to be there are always missing: coffee, milk, croissants, muffins, fruit, water, juice..., yogurt, ... The staff seemed not to care whether the buffet was restocked or not, it was just pure luck if you got what you wanted (and the buffet is not the kind you get in continental hotels with say cheese, meat, fresh fruit, mineral water). The same with dirty dishes: they never got taken away from the table (you just had to pile them up). Sometimes the spoons were missing, the salt and pepper shakers were dirty (and when asking for a clean one, it was slightly less dirty...).

So, it's all you can eat if:
1. You have plenty of time to wait for the cooked food
2. You find room on your table to put the food
3. You regularly check the buffet whether what you wanted but wasn't there has now appeared again
4. You don't mind getting say salt and pepper and cutlery from other (vacant) tables
5. You don't mind mostly disinterested staff

We also had lunch once there (before we knew the breakfast) and then also decided we wouldn't do this again (bland food, tiny portions for the kids).


So, I would go to Premier Inn again, but Table Table I will certainly avoid

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wallisellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitbread-77, Steven Hicks, Social Media at Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel.

It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our breakfast service did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated.

Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2012

what a lovely location for a hotel,the victoria doc was like being abrod and the hotel was in walking distance of the town centre.its a must to visit the castle and the walk about this little town was ever so nice,browsing through the shops and more than enough cafe's to choose from and it was a bonus for us as we had good weather and pleanty of sunshine,we recommend a visit to caernarfon.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
0.2 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
743 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
424 reviews
8.1 mi away
Travelodge Bangor Wales
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
Address: Balaclava Road Victoria Dock, Caernarfon LL55 1SR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#3 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're trekking up Snowdon or yachting down the coast, Premier Inn Hotel Caenarfon Victoria Dock is perfect for the high life around here. We're right on the Marina, and close to the history of Caenarfon and the majesty of Snowdonia too. Put on your walking boots for some serious climbing, or take off your shoes for a paddle at Dinas Dinlle. Stand on platforms waiting for the West Highland Railway, or hotfoot it over to Anglesey. Then turn your feet back to the hotel for some tasty fare at our Table Table restaurant and a great night's sleep. Directions: Follow A55 Holyhead, take J9 (Caernarfon), at roundabout first exit and then continue to follow all signs to Caernarfon. As you enter Caernarfon at roundabout with Morrisons on right, take 1st exit, keep in right hand lane, at next roundabout take 4th exit to mini roundabout, the hotel is in front of you next to Yr Harbur Table Table. Parking is off site. Contact hotel directly for more details Transport and local information: Caernarfon Castle 0.5 mile Snowdonia National Park 12 miles Betws Y Coed and Swallow Falls 23 miles Bangor Train station 10 miles Holyhead Ferry Servies 32 miles ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel Caernarfon
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing