We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic Hotel and Location”
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We have stayed at many Premier Inns over the years and never been dissapointed with the hotels, the service or the restaurant, but I have to say the location of this hotel is fabulous.
The Service at the hotel and the restaurant were first class.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    571
    399
    118
    40
    23
See reviews for
431
439
40
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Spent last Sunday evening at this Premier Inn. Great location on the sea front beside the marina. Only six months old, so everything looks brand new. Very friendly and helpful staff. Great food deal available for £22, dinner and breakfast.

Room Tip: Any room would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnold, Missouri
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Loved my stay here. Large rooms were among the biggest I've seen in the UK and we had no problems fitting our family into the room comfortably. Great showers and a clean bathroom were to be had here. The hotel appears quite new and is on the Victoria Dock. The hotel has an attached restaurant which was the typical Premier Inn restaurant, good but predictable. We ordered the takeaway coffee and croissant most mornings and I didn't find the croissant horribly fresh but the coffee was good. The restaurant gave us an ice bucket: The hotel doesn't have an ice machine that I am aware of but the bar will give you ice and a bucket if you are a guest. There is a good Chinese place nearby and the walled city, Castle and pubs are within five minutes. I would gladly come back here again were I to visit Caernarfon again. Asda and Morrisons are within 5 minutes walk if you need something.

Tip: Make sure you watch where you park. There is a 24/7 free car park to the left of the hotel, but the one across the street is pay and display beginning at 0800 and continuing through 1800. It is more convenient but I saw lots of overnight parkers with tickets.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UK_Yank83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
253 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Premier Inn facilities are just fine but the adjacent harbour side restaurant where directed for breakfast, and dinner, was absolutely hopeless on service.
We had two dinners and two breakfasts, one cooked, one continental.
We had to wait 25-45 minutes variously for our mains or desserts or a cooked breakfast order to be taken and/or to arrive. Queues built up to be seated for breakfast even at 8.10am and when the place was half empty.
Two staff admitted the layout made it impossible to keep track of table orders. Yes we complained. We received a refund for the price of two coffees.
The complex alcove layout must have been designed by someone that had never waited at tables. Best avoided. Caernavon town facilities are only a short walk or car ride away and there is a big Morissons nearby.

Hotel car park is essentially town car parking and is either free if you don't mind leaving your car in what is beach car park on the edge of town, or you will have to get up in time to buy a parking ticket in the pay car park across the road (pay 8am-6pm).
Beware, much of this new harbourside complex around the hotel seems to have opened and closed down already, due to the recession?
Not a vintage experience. The Premier Inn internet survey questionnaire you get after every visit made us even more annoyed with its dumb questions. We complained two years ago about another Premier Inn restaurant at Dartford Crossing but nothing ever happened. Not recommended unless you make separate eating arrangements.

Room Tip: Rooms on the road side face the car park where you may be lucky enough to find a space for your car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Stayed for a two night stay in August, very good standard of Premier Inn. Reception staff vey friendly, had large family room a bit dark due to facing an enclosed courtyard, but very clean and really comfy bed! Looked at the mattress label we are going to order one.
However the Table Table next door is a total let down, the breakfast buffet section was filthy, no cups, orange juice spilled every where, tea bag wrappers just left, staff just walked past it. Waited 45 mins for Bacon and egg, when it came the bacon was underdone and egg rock hard, The WORST breakfast I have ever had. When we complained to staff we were offered an instant refund... they must be used to it!
It is a shame as the hotel staff were apologetic, and we realise this is not Premier Inn fault, but perhaps the management should use a Brewers Fayre instead.
The hotel is very convenient to the town, and if you want to watch Sky Sports The Palace Vaults facing the castle is suitable.

Room Tip: Ask for outside facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JNewsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

This feels like a new hotel (not sure when it was opened). We had a much larger than average family room on the ground floor. Good location right on the dock and only a short walk to the centre of town. We usually don't bother with breakfast at budget hotels as previous experience has been poor but we did have breakfast here and were pleasantly surprised at the quality. Freshly cooked hot food and excellent poached eggs. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oxfordlawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

As usual, well priced, friendly staff. Excellent for overnight stays, in harbour development by walls of old town. Free parking near by. We used as base to walk up Snowdon, only twenty minutes drive away. Appreciated the bath on our return. Staff happy to supply more tea etc on our return. Would go again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geordiegirl7150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,253 reviews
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
0.1 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Menai Bank Hotel
Menai Bank Hotel
#7 of 8 in Caernarfon
192 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
415 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
Address: Balaclava Road Victoria Dock, Caernarfon LL55 1SR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#3 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're trekking up Snowdon or yachting down the coast, Premier Inn Hotel Caenarfon Victoria Dock is perfect for the high life around here. We're right on the Marina, and close to the history of Caenarfon and the majesty of Snowdonia too. Put on your walking boots for some serious climbing, or take off your shoes for a paddle at Dinas Dinlle. Stand on platforms waiting for the West Highland Railway, or hotfoot it over to Anglesey. Then turn your feet back to the hotel for some tasty fare at our Table Table restaurant and a great night's sleep. Directions: Follow A55 Holyhead, take J9 (Caernarfon), at roundabout first exit and then continue to follow all signs to Caernarfon. As you enter Caernarfon at roundabout with Morrisons on right, take 1st exit, keep in right hand lane, at next roundabout take 4th exit to mini roundabout, the hotel is in front of you next to Yr Harbur Table Table. Parking is off site. Contact hotel directly for more details Transport and local information: Caernarfon Castle 0.5 mile Snowdonia National Park 12 miles Betws Y Coed and Swallow Falls 23 miles Bangor Train station 10 miles Holyhead Ferry Servies 32 miles ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel Caernarfon
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing