We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Really friendly staff, room was spotlessly clean, beds were extremely comfortable, Free parking just behind the hotel, which was ideally located to see the sights of Caernarfon. Have already recommended to colleagues and will definitely be staying there again. Ian in Yr Harbwr was brill at breakfast (which was also great).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    578
    402
    120
    41
    24
See reviews for
437
444
41
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

First time I've stopped at a Premier Inn. I usually use Travelodge because they are cheaper. So my plan was to move 'up market'. The receptionist was very good, booked us in quickly and gave us advice about where to eat In the town. The room was dark because another building was about five feet from our window! The room was a bit tired with marks on the walls etc but you expect that from budget hotels. Aircon in the room was nice but noisy. Overall, as the title says, it was average.I paid double what I would usually pay for a Travelodge for exactly the same standard. I know what I'll be doing next time.

Room Tip: One side overlooks the carpark the other overlooks another building. So it's Hobson's Choice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnWB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

For our second visit (for a planned walk up Snowdon) we had no hesitation in returning to the Premier Inn at Caernarfon, managing to get some reasonable prices despite it being the Easter Bank Holiday weekend.
Its location is excellent both in terms of the town itself but also for Snowdon and the surrounding area. Located at the very pretty Victoria Dock, it is a short walk into the town centre. Whilst very limited dedicated parking there is a large long stay car park a short walk away which is free and a pay & display opposite. You have a choice of the linked Table Table (our option) or a Chinese restaurant in the same complex for eating (there is not a lot on offer in town) or, for breakfast, you can walk over to the café at the nearby Morrisons.
As Premier Inns go this is what you expect in terms of cleanliness, fittings etc. The welcome was typically warm & efficient. the surprise for us was the size of the room - it was massive (I guess they normally reserve it as a family room. It was almost too big. Otherwise we had no complaints.
Will be sure to use again in the future.

Room Tip: Room 130 - it was HUGE.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pread26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was our first stay at the Caernarfon Premier Inn and as of our previous breaks with this Hotel chain, rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious.
All staff were welcoming and friendly and helped with any enquiries.
We were situated at the Victoria Docks with a lovely view of the Menai Staits and a short walk to the town centre and Caernarfon Castle.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiverpoolElla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The location was excellent! With the castle and harbour on your door step, the meal deal choice is brilliant in the restaurant - you can chose any 2 courses off the menu that you fancy (a couple with a supplement). Staff are so friendly and helpful. So much to do near by for the leisure traveller. Great location for couples, singles and families alike.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Normal prem inn setup. This one has an excellent location right by the small yacht harbour, castle and town centre. There are a lot of empty units in the immediate vicinity incuding a deserted travelodge right next door, some empty shop units plus empty flats. Shame there are no views from the hotel as location is great. The "table table" pub/restaurant next door is busy, but staff OK and prices reasonable. Nice views over harbour and western end of menai straight during eve meal, but that peaceful setting slightly offset by constant flow of people walking past with takeaway boxes rom the adjoining takeaway. In the round a good hotel, near all the big Snowdonia features plus caernafon itself is very nice by north Wales town standards. I don't speak welsh but wish I did, "locals" here v friendly and would have been nice to be courteous to try out some welsh here. Don't worry about car parking. Spend a few pounds on the one opposite (noting its not chargeable from 1800 until 0800) or park at the bigger one on the right as you come down from the roundabout - is approx 90 seconds walk to hotel.

Oh, big issue with the "safety windows" in this plus all other budget hotels. Its a cop out to avoid putting in air con that works and is unpleasant in hotter day. Final tip book in advance to get best rates as this hotel is often v busy/full.

Room Tip: Makes no real difference. Maybe one away from lift to reduce risk of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard_Smelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Standish, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We found the Premier Inn at Caernarfon an Ideal base for our holiday weekend. Situated on the harbour side with a lovely view of the bay. The hotel does not have its own carpark but this didn't prove to be a problem. There is a pay and display carpark across a quiet access road and just a few yards further there is a free carpark. I opted to use the free carpark which considering it was a bank holiday weekend got busy in the day but never full. There is a large supermarket nearby too if you have forgotten anything. The reception area is clean and uncluttered and staff were very welcoming. They took the trouble to explain the hotels goodnight sleep policy and dining details. As it was late when we arrived the receptionist got us into our room as quickly as he could. The room was very clean and fresh. Plenty of room for my husband and I and our 14 yr od grandson. The bathroom has shower/hair wash and hand wash. There is a hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. We booked the all you can eat breakfasts which was free for our grandson. The breakfast was served in the Table Table restaurant about 50 yrds away from the reception. Service in the restaurant was very good although the Sunday morning was very busy and there was a short wait. Food quality was good and there is no need for anyone to go hungry. We had one evening meal here too and both service and food was very good.
It is an easy stroll from the hotel across the harbour front to the Castle walls, the Castle itself dominates the town. A lovely area, many attractions are within easy driving distance.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patch Price
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,269 reviews
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
0.1 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
420 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
3.0 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
Address: Balaclava Road Victoria Dock, Caernarfon LL55 1SR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#3 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're trekking up Snowdon or yachting down the coast, Premier Inn Hotel Caenarfon Victoria Dock is perfect for the high life around here. We're right on the Marina, and close to the history of Caenarfon and the majesty of Snowdonia too. Put on your walking boots for some serious climbing, or take off your shoes for a paddle at Dinas Dinlle. Stand on platforms waiting for the West Highland Railway, or hotfoot it over to Anglesey. Then turn your feet back to the hotel for some tasty fare at our Table Table restaurant and a great night's sleep. Directions: Follow A55 Holyhead, take J9 (Caernarfon), at roundabout first exit and then continue to follow all signs to Caernarfon. As you enter Caernarfon at roundabout with Morrisons on right, take 1st exit, keep in right hand lane, at next roundabout take 4th exit to mini roundabout, the hotel is in front of you next to Yr Harbur Table Table. Parking is off site. Contact hotel directly for more details Transport and local information: Caernarfon Castle 0.5 mile Snowdonia National Park 12 miles Betws Y Coed and Swallow Falls 23 miles Bangor Train station 10 miles Holyhead Ferry Servies 32 miles ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel Caernarfon
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing