We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great stay”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Family trip, was great, had a short stay as my wife wanted to walk up snowden, which is around 30 minutes away.
Great location, right by the Harbour, the town 5 minutes walk and a free car park 3 minutes away. Lovely staff both in the Hotel and the Resturant made our family welcome.
Would recommend to amyone and would go back again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwakerjawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    396
    114
    39
    22
See reviews for
423
435
40
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My husband, baby and I have just returned from a couple of days in Wales. I chose the Premier Inn Caernarfon due to its location and good reviews.

As my title says- a great base. Everything you want- friendly staff, clean quiet room, tv, comfy bed, crisp sheets, plenty of clean towels, hairdryer, good food.

We got here after a day on the beach and it was lovely. We appreciated the flat screen tv with Cbeebies when our little one woke up at 6am!

Breakfast was great- so much to choose from. Full English, Cereal or continental with a selection of drinks.

A cot was provided for us with a sheet, blankets and a couple of nappy bags :)

Only downside really was that the recycling bins were emptied outside our window at 8am in the morning. We wasnt bothered by it as we were already up but it would have been a pain if we were asleep. We could also have done with some extra teabags/coffee (if management read this) as being parents to a young baby we spent most of the evening in the room. We were given 2 teabags and 2 coffee sachets.

The parking wasnt a problem to us. You can either park in a free carpark by morrisons or a pay and display nearest to the hotel. The free one wasnt that far - 5 mins? So we didnt feel the need to use the nearest.

All in all well recommended and I would return if staying in North Wales

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the bins!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xJulesx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The fresh, clean and spacious room with a huge television was perfect for the end of a long journey with two tired children and two equally tired adults, who just wanted to watch the World Cup final and relax and that is exactly what we did! The convenience of the hotel to the town centre was such a bonus and the peaceful sleeps we all had were just excellent. The staff were efficient and friendly and check in was really quick. Delighted with our night and have it on our list for next time we are coming through.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welshpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The Blue Badge car park was very convenient. My friends had to use a public car park some way away,which was the only criticism we had.

The restaurant being fully booked worked well for us as we were advised by your receptionist to a very good one in town.



  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brayton H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The Premier Inn in Caernafon is a great option for those looking for a base in North Wales. The hotel itself is clean, easy to access and the breakfast provided is good quality. Caernafon is an interesing town with a great castle and a good base for exploring the area. Satff were very helpful, room clean and good wifi.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dixie_flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We were really pleased to find this Premier Inn in a perfect location as an add on to our recent break. We rely on the consistency of the Premier Inns having stayed in many and never having an issue.

Unfortunately, our experience on this occasion was poor. The room (201) was not in very good condition. The bathroom smelt bad too. We were staying in the room with our two children and the put-up bed that was in the room was awful. You could feel the springs through the mattress and when we complained we were told that "usually when people complain about that we add another sheet". They did and it didn't make much difference. Additionally, we complained about a light not working in our room and were told it would be fixed (we stayed over two nights) but it wasn't. The air conditioning in the room didn't work either.

The staff were friendly in the main but seemed a little too "used" to people complaining.

The TableTable restaurant nearby served a very good meal in the evening but trying to get an egg that was cooked through in the morning was nearly impossible. Many returns to the kitchen.

Since our stay we have received a full refund from the Premier Inn but only after much chasing and eventually ending up in conversation with the Regional Manager.

We won't ditch the brand just yet but this experience has made us just a little more cautious about trusting the consistency of Premier Inn. We don't normally complain too much (check our other reviews) but this was not a good experience.

Room Tip: Avoid room 201. Also, you will not get a view of the harbour or the sea from any rooms as far as we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fatworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Many thanks for your review. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please could you email your booking details to talktous@premierinn.com so we can investigate further. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This was a birthday present from my brother to stay for two nights. I had never been there before and was very pleased when we got to our destination. The staff where very welcoming and helpful, the room was very spacious,comfy and clean. I am planning to go back in October and will not hesitate to stay there again. The town itself was very pleasant and the local people very friendly.

Room Tip: all the rooms have the same standards
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catherine g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#3 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
5.7 mi away
Premier Inn Bangor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
#8 of 8 in Caernarfon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.2 mi away
Menai Bank Hotel
Menai Bank Hotel
#7 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
Address: Balaclava Road Victoria Dock, Caernarfon LL55 1SR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#3 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're trekking up Snowdon or yachting down the coast, Premier Inn Hotel Caenarfon Victoria Dock is perfect for the high life around here. We're right on the Marina, and close to the history of Caenarfon and the majesty of Snowdonia too. Put on your walking boots for some serious climbing, or take off your shoes for a paddle at Dinas Dinlle. Stand on platforms waiting for the West Highland Railway, or hotfoot it over to Anglesey. Then turn your feet back to the hotel for some tasty fare at our Table Table restaurant and a great night's sleep. Directions: Follow A55 Holyhead, take J9 (Caernarfon), at roundabout first exit and then continue to follow all signs to Caernarfon. As you enter Caernarfon at roundabout with Morrisons on right, take 1st exit, keep in right hand lane, at next roundabout take 4th exit to mini roundabout, the hotel is in front of you next to Yr Harbur Table Table. Parking is off site. Contact hotel directly for more details Transport and local information: Caernarfon Castle 0.5 mile Snowdonia National Park 12 miles Betws Y Coed and Swallow Falls 23 miles Bangor Train station 10 miles Holyhead Ferry Servies 32 miles ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel Caernarfon
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing