We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“W.O.W. (Wonder of Wales)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2010

Having booked only two days earlier, it was lovely to receive a telephone call from 'Katie' thanking me for choosing Premier Inn, Caernarfon and offering details of the hotel and surrounding area. On arrival, the receptionist, Julie, made us all feel very welcome and gave us full details of car parking and restaurants in the area. I have previously grumbled about some Premier Inn reception staff and their lack of good customer service. This was completely the opposite and exactly what is expected. Well done Julie! As a comparatively new hotel the rooms and all equipment were in first class order. A constant grumble about Premier Inns is that only one chair is provided in each room. If the room is being used as a twin the settee is used as a bed, and the single chair is the only seat. Surely if two people are using the room two chairs not only could, but should, be provided. As other trip advisors have mentioned car parking is a slight problem, but it seems that most guests at this and other nearby hotels seem to cope with the free parking 250 yards away. Hotel is ideally situated for access to Caernarfon town centre about three minutes walk away, and the adjoining dock/marina area is pleasant for a leisurely stroll. There are only a few restaurants nearby including the Whitbread chain Table-table, but as the area develops they will no doubt increase. If you choose not to breakfast at Table-table, the local Morrison's store has a small cafe which does excellent, and very reasonably priced breakfasts. All in all an excellent stay in what could best be described as home from home.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RugbyRef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2010

We delighted that your stay with us met your expectations and you experienced the high level of service we endeavour to give our guests. Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay, your feedback is so important to us in our continued efforts to delivery the best service. We do look forward to welcoming your back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,211 - 1,217 of 1,227 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2009

We chose this hotel for it's location primarily as it's ideal for exploring the local area. We stayed for 4 nights in total.

There is no car parking AT the hotel but there is a free car park a very short distance away. There were many cars parked there overnight, along with ours and it was perfectly safe and secure. We were out in our car until quite late one night and parked up in darkness and had no qualms in doing this and walking back to the hotel in darkness hours. The hotel even phoned us on the day before we left for our trip to advise us of the parking situation. The parking really isn't a problem so don't let this put you off!
The hotel itself was very new and clean. The receptionists always friendly and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble.

Our room was very clean and comfortable. The bed was just perfect. We slept very well every night. The room was well equipped with everything you would need for an overnight stay or more as in our case.

Table table next door do a good breakfast and also meals, we ate breakfast 2 mornings there and also a meal one night. Service was excellent and the staff all very attentive. You can book the breakfasts the night before at the hotel reception which is advisable.

On the whole a very good hotel and service that we can happily recommend to all.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LauraSteveG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2009

Thank you for your review. It is good to hear that our hotel, friendly staff, restaurant and breakfast facilities ensured you had an enjoyable stay with us. At Premier inn we endeavour to offer a good value quality stay and we are pleased to know that we have provided this for you. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2009

Stayed at the premier inn for one night, while celebrating a friends wedding at a nearby hotel. The rooms were nice and clean, plenty of room for the four of us. Lovely breakfast, and the staff couldn't do enough for you. It was also a lot cheaper to stay here (and nicer) than the hotel over the road. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toffegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2009

Thanks for your feedback. At Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay. All feedback both positive and negative is investigated and acted upon to ensure we are offering our customers the best possible service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2009

Stayed whilst touring West and North Wales. The hotel is a typical economy hotel but in a great location - right on the edge of the marina in a modern apartments come leisure area. You know the sort of place - modernised dockside . It's a shortish walk along the waters edge to the town walls, shops and more traditional pubs. The hotel staff are very welcoming and attentive. Nearest car parking is across the road and seems to be a safe spot to leave your car. The hotel uses the next door (almost) "table table" restaurant and bar. OK evening meal and drinks. Breakfast good quality but service a little stretched - but then the hotel was full. Incidentally if you are comparing this hotel with the nearby Travelodge then you need to know that the customers there were turned away from breakfast at "table table" because travelodge staff had not told them they needed to book.
Caernarfon itself is a lovely little place. You will hear Welsh spoken widely but that's no problem even for us non-Welsh speakers. Everyone was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trekker512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2008

Went to this hotel for a night, amazing hotel however hard to get in, fully booked most of the week, good timing meant that we got a family room.

In our room was the main bed with two singles, (originally the sofa) an amazing change compared to other Premier Inn's who shove the two singles onto the little floor beds. However this hotels is very nice with big tv's, nice new bathrooms and a fab Table Table across the street, this Premier Inn is a must!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Rockinbrunette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2008

Having stayed at Premier Inns on business, decided to have a two day break here instead of the one at Bangor. Arrived to find no car parking - not listed on website at time of booking, although this has been added since. The room had one single hard backed stand chair for two adults, and when raised with reception, they did not seem interested, the night receptionsist did say that there should have been a settee, but no move was made to find one.
No teacups, no teaspoons, an empty bracket for the shower gel, a building site outside the window with workmen peering across and building site vehicle alarms sounding from 7.30 am.
Nowhere near up to usual Premier Inn standards.
If you need to park the car the Council Car park charges £3.50/day or you can use a free park some distance away, but take the risk of leaving you vehicle unattended in a dark place overnight.
Final insult was a complete lack of response from Premier Inns.
Cut our stay short and left the following morning

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank shibboleth2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2008

We stayed for just two nights and found the reception staff friendly and helpful, however house keeping were not so good. We had to ask for milk and bath towels as not enough had been left in the room. The restaurant attached to the hotel was in the processes of changing the menu so the choice was very limited, and the second night they ran out of tonic water. The hotel was clean, but the lighting very poor in the rooms

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank LOMWestmidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,327 reviews
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
0.1 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
752 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
436 reviews
0.2 mi away
Menai Bank Hotel
Menai Bank Hotel
#7 of 8 in Caernarfon
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel

Address: Balaclava Road Victoria Dock, Caernarfon LL55 1SR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#3 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range: £45 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're trekking up Snowdon or yachting down the coast, Premier Inn Hotel Caenarfon Victoria Dock is perfect for the high life around here. We're right on the Marina, and close to the history of Caenarfon and the majesty of Snowdonia too. Put on your walking boots for some serious climbing, or take off your shoes for a paddle at Dinas Dinlle. Stand on platforms waiting for the West Highland Railway, or hotfoot it over to Anglesey. Then turn your feet back to the hotel for some tasty fare at our Table Table restaurant and a great night's sleep. Directions: Follow A55 Holyhead, take J9 (Caernarfon), at roundabout first exit and then continue to follow all signs to Caernarfon. As you enter Caernarfon at roundabout with Morrisons on right, take 1st exit, keep in right hand lane, at next roundabout take 4th exit to mini roundabout, the hotel is in front of you next to Yr Harbur Table Table. Parking is off site. Contact hotel directly for more details Transport and local information: Caernarfon Castle 0.5 mile Snowdonia National Park 12 miles Betws Y Coed and Swallow Falls 23 miles Bangor Train station 10 miles Holyhead Ferry Servies 32 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel Caernarfon
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing