We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2010

We stayed here as we were attending a friends' wedding nearby. The hotel is on the front at Victoria Dock and the pub next door (The Harbour) has great sea views. The hotel was cheap, and despite a mix up over billing the staff were helpful and sorted it as quickly as they good. The hotel was ultra-modern, and we had a large room with a side view which was well equipped with a comfortable bed and a good bathroom and shower. The only criticism is the lack of light in the room, despite it being full daylight we did need to put the lights on to get ready.

On the whole, a very pleasant, good value hotel. Breakfasts next door were good, as was the lay out of the place. A good place to stay if you are visiting Caernarfom on business or pleasure- the castle is just 5 mins walk away and outdoor types should love it. Shame we were only here for one night.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrandmrsshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2010

Thanks for your review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our hotel and great location met your expectations. Our team endeavour to give all our guests a high level of service and it's great you feel this was achieved. Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay, we do hope you enjoyed your friends wedding and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,211)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,187 - 1,193 of 1,211 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2010

This hotel is part of a modern, but very stylish, quayside development within easy walking distance of Caernarfan town centre and very handy for local main roads. When I chose this hotel, I was looking forward to a 2 night break after a particularly rough month or so. I loved the town, and the development this hotel is a part of, but the hotel itself is poor.

The staff member who checked me in was pretty much reading a script and didn't expand beyond the Premier Inn standard patter. I had to ask for clarification about the car parking (see later).

The room itself was large, but the furniture consisted of a drawerless desk and an open unit that consisted or a clothing rail, a tv, and various shelves. Basically, whatever clothes you wished to unpack were on display in the room. No drawers and no wardrobe. Very basic and no privacy should anyone be visiting the room. The bathroom was clean, but lacked a shaving power point and the toilet paper was held in a dispenser that gave you one sheet at a time - one ply. I'd imagine prisoners get that kind of thing. I paid enough to expect a roll of toilet paper...and maybe even two ply?

Another thing to note is that I couldn't get any mobile signal at all. Not the hotel's fault, but worthwhile to remember to warn nearest and dearest as you may not be able to contact them.

I was under the impression that the hotel had its own carpark, but the complex uses a long term parking facility nearby. It's free, but when you first arrive it can be confusing. Basically, at the mini roundabout by the front entrance of the hotel, turn right and park in the long stay carpark. You either walk to the hotel along the road or via the quayside path from the car park (very nice route in daylight)

My room was directly opposite the 'Travel Lodge' that is also part of this complex - worth noting and comparing prices when you book your stay.

So as a hotel, what should be an absolute find, turned out to be a frustrating disappointment. If you bring your own loo paper, your rechargeable shaver - or wet shave, your own wardrobe, and work out the parking for yourself, your experience may be different. As for the area - it was beautiful. Lovely place. Would I stay again? I would give it another go - if the price was right and armed with the loo roll, etc.....

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ChrisMancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Stayed for 3 nights - thanks to Kate and her colleagues, our stay was extremely enjoyable, comfortable and effortless. Service and customer care was superb. Room, number 20, was excellent. Will definately go there agian.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glissan_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010

We recently stayed at this Premier Inn, we found all staff to be very helpful, rooms were clean and fresh. Well done to Andy and his team. This Premier Inn is on a new marina development and is about two years old. There are no harbour views (we knew that before we went though, but photos on Premier Inn site make it look like there are) but that didn't detract from our stay in any way. It is an attractive site and there are attractive walks either side of it. We had breakfast in Morrisons, which is two minutes walk away, excellent value. One morning we had it in the Celtica coffee shop, but Morrisons was better. The Table Table pub was welcoming too and served reasonably priced, very edible pub grub, would be tempted to have breakfast here if I stayed again because the staff were so helpful but on holiday we tend not to get to breakfast until about 10.30, so Morrisons suited our needs better with their all day one. Parking was only two minutes walk away and free, it is possible to get quite close to the inn's doors to unload but you cannot park outside it. I would definately recommend this Premier Inn as a place to stay in Caernarfon.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Voyager1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2010

Thanks for your review, we very pleased that your 3 nights with us met your expectations and your enjoyed your stay. Our hotel is in a lovely location and we do have great restaurant and breakfast facilities, we do hope that you will experience our Premier Breakfast during your next stay. Thanks for your comments regarding our team members they will be thrilled with your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

This is a fairly new Premier Inn located on the marina development. There are bars and restaurants nearby and it is about 10mins walk to the centre of town (very pleasant walk along the marina).
Room was the standard Premier Inn offering - spacious and comfortable.
Staff very friendly and helpful.
There is a Table Table restaurant and bar next door, with a pleasant terrace overlooking the marina.
The only downside are the parking arrangements - although the car park is only 5 minutes walk away, there are no loading/unloading facilities immediately outside the hotel. During our stay, we heard of a fellow guest getting a parking ticket whilst unloading to check in, so beware!
Despite this, we would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BoodleandFaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2010

A new hotel in a new development in the dock in Caernarfon, this premier inn is a 5 minute walk into the walled city. Our room was big, warm with a comfortable bed and at only £29 a night excellent value.

Breakfast in the next door Table,Table was good. The town was so close that we ate there so no comment on dinner although the menu looked a little limited.

Parking was a short walk away but free.

Could recommend it and will return soon

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2010

We are delighted that your stay with us was a good one, and that you booked using our Premier Offer. Thank you for your comments on our comfortable rooms. Our team members will be pleased to receive your feedback, as they endeavour to give all our guests a high level of service. Thanks your for taking the time to review your stay, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

Arrived to find no parking spaces so we unloaded and and I drove to the car park about 200m away. OK on a dry day but if it was raining don't forget the umbrella. On seeing the picture on the Premier website it appears that some rooms have a harbour view. Not so! The top rooms on the front are apartments and the restaurant is on the bottom level. We ended up with a room without a view. Somewhat disappointing especially when I emailed the reception requesting a room with a harbour view, and received no reply from them. Putting all that behind us, the hotel was clean and tidy. Room was large and accommodating for our long weekend. Breakfast was all you can eat and was worth the extra. We have not stayed in Premier Inns before so can only make our minds up based on this experience. Summed up as good hotel but somewhat misleading with the photographs.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2010

Thanks for your review we are very pleased to hear that your stay with us was a comfortable one and that our clean comfortable rooms and good restaurant and breakfast facilities met your expectations. We do apologise for any misunderstanding regarding the location of our hotel. We are situated on the harbour however we do not offer or guarantee harbour views as this is not possible due to the layout of the building. We do believe however and hope you agree that this does not detract from the lovely location we are in. Thanks again for your review and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
0.2 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
748 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Menai Bank Hotel
Menai Bank Hotel
#7 of 8 in Caernarfon
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel

Address: Balaclava Road Victoria Dock, Caernarfon LL55 1SR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#3 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range: £44 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're trekking up Snowdon or yachting down the coast, Premier Inn Hotel Caenarfon Victoria Dock is perfect for the high life around here. We're right on the Marina, and close to the history of Caenarfon and the majesty of Snowdonia too. Put on your walking boots for some serious climbing, or take off your shoes for a paddle at Dinas Dinlle. Stand on platforms waiting for the West Highland Railway, or hotfoot it over to Anglesey. Then turn your feet back to the hotel for some tasty fare at our Table Table restaurant and a great night's sleep. Directions: Follow A55 Holyhead, take J9 (Caernarfon), at roundabout first exit and then continue to follow all signs to Caernarfon. As you enter Caernarfon at roundabout with Morrisons on right, take 1st exit, keep in right hand lane, at next roundabout take 4th exit to mini roundabout, the hotel is in front of you next to Yr Harbur Table Table. Parking is off site. Contact hotel directly for more details Transport and local information: Caernarfon Castle 0.5 mile Snowdonia National Park 12 miles Betws Y Coed and Swallow Falls 23 miles Bangor Train station 10 miles Holyhead Ferry Servies 32 miles ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel Caernarfon
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing