We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night's sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2011

As a regular Premier Inn guest, this is one of the quietest of the chain's hotels as it isn't near to a main road.
When reaching the reception, it was obvious that the young female receptionist was came from England, but she was very proffesional. Due to her hosbitality qualities, it seemed as though she has moved to the area specifically for the job. We thought it would have been better to be greeted by a local person, considering so many come to the town with the strongest Welsh heritage on holiday.
As always, a comfy stay with that unique, fresh feeling. As it is one of the newly-built hotels, rooms come with modern TV's. Something the business has missed out on is the location of the hotel. It may be on the Victoria Dock, but no room is able to look onto the Menai Strait. Only the private apartments can, and most of them are empty! A chance for an unique Premier-inn stay gone to waste!

In the morning, we had breakfast in the Table Table restaurant which is part of the hotel. Again, same standard as all Premier-inn's - great 'Premier' and Continental breakfasts. The waitress who saw us to our table not only told us which table to sit at, but after sitting down to face each other, she told my girlfriend to move to another seat!!! She did it with good intentions - so that we can sit nearer to each other, but at which chair to sit is the customer's decision!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewCymraeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,196 - 1,202 of 1,227 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2011

Stayed half board at this hotel for one night, the reception staff were very welcoming even though we arrived a little early they let us check in.
The room was fine (no complaints) and there was adequate tea/coffee facilities.
We ate in the restaurant next door for evening meal and breakfast and both meals were lovely, the staff in the restaurant couldn't do enough especially at breakfast to ensure you had everything,
Would recommend this hotel and will be staying again in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trueblue18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2011

Thanks for your review we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We welcome your feedback as it is very important to us that our guests enjoy their stay with Premier Inn and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2011

As frequent users of Premier Inns this hotel was a disappointment, Unlike other reviewers we did find the lack of an on-site carpark a problem. There is not even a drop-off point where bags can be off loaded - there is provision for disabled clients only. The twin room we booked was quite roomy but the heating system was seriously flawed. the heat came from a unit placed near the ceiling and warm and cold air came out from a noisy fan. The ceiling was obviously warm but the rest of the room remained chilly to say the least. The fan was too noisy to leave on all night but this resulted in the room becoming even colder - not ideal on a cold January night. We have never come across this type of heating system in any other Premier Inn thank goodness.
The Table Table restaurant nearby provided fairly good meals but the service was very slow in the evenings even though the restaurant was not that full.
On the positive side we found the reception staff at the hotel and the restaurant staff to be helpful and friendly.
However we will not be visiting this particular Premier Inn again and it is the first time that we have invoked the Premier Inn Good Night guarantee because of the poorly designed heating system. Hopefully this will be our only bad experience of Premier Inns.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suger9149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2011

Thanks for your feedback. At Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay. All feedback both positive and negative is investigated and acted upon to ensure we are offering our customers the best possible service. We are very sorry that your room was not of a comfortable temperature during your stay, however, we do hope you refund in line with our Good Night Guarantee went some way to restoring your faith in Premier Inn. Once again thank you for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2010

Had slight problems with check in as the computer system tried to add a £2 credit card surcharge onto my debit card. Not the receptionists fault and was given lots of apologies - but a good reason not to pay with a credit card!

The room was clean, large and the beds were comfy. There was not enough tea/coffee provided for two people when we checked in but this was remedied on the second night. I don't particularly like the air con provided as the room was cold when we checked in and it doesn't really ever warm up. Its also noisy and there is no way I could sleep with the system turned on. The shower in the bathroom is excellent - that in its self is worth another stay!

As others have mentioned carparking is a minute or so walk away, not a problem except when I first arrived I had no idea where to leave the car while I went in to ask. Perhaps a clearly marked customer bay would be useful?

The hotel is a short walk into town, although to be honest there isn't anything there. However the castle is excellent, well worth the £4.50 to get in and worth visiting the town just to see this.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2010

We booked within hours in advance and got two rooms for one night - a twin and a double. The rooms were as expected from this brand. Roomy, clean, quiet, and secure.

The only issue was the lack of parking to offload your stuff, but its a bit petty... Free parking was 150m away, and you could double park to get your stuff in and out out the front.

We went to Table Table for dinner which wasnt bad. A decent selection, with the location being great... Good for those sunset photos...

Overall, fairly standard hotel and we didnt get any hiccups...

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hbtsnooze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2010

We are really pleased that your enjoyed your stay with us and that our clean and comfortable rooms ensured your had a good nights sleep, which is something that we guarantee. Thanks for your comments it is really important to us that our guests enjoy their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

We arrived for our one night stay and I took the bags into the lobby while my partner waited outside in the car as we were a little unsure of where to park. The receptionist was incredibly friendly and welcoming and very helpful as she explained that there was a car park opposite which was pay and display until 6pm, however a short walk away was the Morrison's car park and that was free all day. The receptionist was very efficient in explaining the 'Good night's sleep' policy and that breakfast was served in the TableTable restaurant next door and that she could book us a table for dinner if we wanted. My partner and I decided to explore Caernarfon and make our own dinner arrangements.
We checked into our large and very clean room which was very typical of a Premier Inn as I have stayed at a few in the past. The bed was large and there was plenty of space for our luggage etc, there were only 3 negatives I could point out about this room and that was that the lighting was awful (I know we all have to use these energy efficient bulbs these days but the 'glow' off them is terrible and very harsh), the TV was on a shelf squeezed between the wardrobe and the wall...the positioning was very odd and made it hard to see from the bed and the pillows were really uncomfortable but that may be because they were fibre pillows and I am used to feathers. Everything else including the shower etc was fine.
We had a walk around Caernarfon which is not really very touristy despite the castle and other 'attractions' and it seemed very quiet. We had dinner at a wonderful Chinese restaurant on the harbour then went into TableTable afterwards as they were running a very good offer on wine. The bar was very nice.
Overall our stay was very enjoyable and good value for money for an overnight stay in Caernarfon.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kezzasmartie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2010

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. Your feedback is very important to us and we are very pleased that you received the high level of service from our team that we endeavour to give all our guest. Thanks again for your feedback it is very much appreciated in our endeavour to improve standards and meet all our guests requirements. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

I arrived at 1:30 pm and was relieved that my room was ready, as check in is officially 2:00 pm. It was my first stay at a Premier Inn and I thought the rooms were large and modern. After unloading my luggage in my room I moved my car to the car park . I can appreciate that it might not be such a pleasant walk in the rain but it wasn't really that far and the parking is, after all, free. My only complaint is that you have to pay for internet access whereas most hotels offer wireless service for free. The room was clean, everything worked as it should, and I had a comfortable sleep. Breakfast in Y Harbour was very good and the service, all round, was excellent. The hotel is situated a short walk (5-10 min) to the castle and downtown area.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2010

Thanks for your feedback. At Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay. All feedback both positive and negative is investigated and acted upon to ensure we are offering our customers the best possible service. Once again thank you for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,327 reviews
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
0.1 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
752 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
436 reviews
0.2 mi away
Menai Bank Hotel
Menai Bank Hotel
#7 of 8 in Caernarfon
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel

Address: Balaclava Road Victoria Dock, Caernarfon LL55 1SR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#3 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range: £45 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're trekking up Snowdon or yachting down the coast, Premier Inn Hotel Caenarfon Victoria Dock is perfect for the high life around here. We're right on the Marina, and close to the history of Caenarfon and the majesty of Snowdonia too. Put on your walking boots for some serious climbing, or take off your shoes for a paddle at Dinas Dinlle. Stand on platforms waiting for the West Highland Railway, or hotfoot it over to Anglesey. Then turn your feet back to the hotel for some tasty fare at our Table Table restaurant and a great night's sleep. Directions: Follow A55 Holyhead, take J9 (Caernarfon), at roundabout first exit and then continue to follow all signs to Caernarfon. As you enter Caernarfon at roundabout with Morrisons on right, take 1st exit, keep in right hand lane, at next roundabout take 4th exit to mini roundabout, the hotel is in front of you next to Yr Harbur Table Table. Parking is off site. Contact hotel directly for more details Transport and local information: Caernarfon Castle 0.5 mile Snowdonia National Park 12 miles Betws Y Coed and Swallow Falls 23 miles Bangor Train station 10 miles Holyhead Ferry Servies 32 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel Caernarfon
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing