We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable stay!”
Review of Victoria House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Victoria House B&B
Ranked #1 of 21 Caernarfon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Llandudno Dalyan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Memorable stay!”
Reviewed 14 June 2011

This was our second stay with Jan and it was better than ever. The bedroom was first class, breakfast was fantastic and the welcome was very warm. We will be back!

Keith and Christine

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
317
27
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ruthin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

You can see this B&B is run with pride and passion for customer satisfaction.
A group of 4 of us turned up failing to mention we had bikes with us, Victoria house did not have designated storage for bikes but from the word go this wasn't a problem, the owners helped us stored our bikes safe for the night and then greeted us with a cold beer which was a lovely touch.

Other members of our group stayed in other B&B's on the same street and got a very hostile reception when the bikes were seen.

The rooms could easily be associated to a 5 star hotel, the attention to detail was fantastic!

We were all very late rising the next morning, didn’t surface till 11am, expecting to be chased out however we were greeted with a warm welcome and they made an effort to cook us breakfast!
This place is A+, I will certainly be reutrning.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Huwsi07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

I have stayed with Jan numerous times over the years on business trips and i wouldn't even consider looking elsewhere. The service is always top notch, the bedrooms are always really comfy and clean-the views are excellent and the breakfast seems to be getting better. This really is a Gem of a place i am always suprised when i stay here , it seems to be getting better every time. The location is really close to everything and Jan has plenty of local knowledge-i think this is my favorite thing about Jan's-you get a really great place close to all facilites, and its affordable!-keep up the good work Jan, although as i mentioned on my last visit-what more can you do!! John From Ponty ( also complimentary wine is a very much appreciated!)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JVH8, Owner at Victoria House B&B, responded to this review, 11 October 2011
Hello John,

Many thanks for your kind review & please accept my apologies for the delay in responding.
As you know, we've been aspiring to achieve 5 star grading from Visit Wales for some time now and I'm pleased to say we have finally achieved it. Our aim is to offer customers luxury
accommodation in a relaxed, informal atmosphere, still at an affordable price; so please don't be put off by the extra star! We look forward to seeing you again some time in the near future.

With best regards,

Yours sincerely,

Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Stayed here after some friends had recommended, well we have stayed in a few b&b's around the uk and this is the best by a mile.
The experience started within seconds of our arrival Jan the hostess with the mostess was so attentive checking that we had parked ok and how our journey had been, then offered us complimentary drinks. Well that was only the start! Because I am aware that people don't want to read reams about all reviews I will keep it brief. If you want to stay in the best b&b then look no further. If carlsberg made b&b's they would come like this.
Simply the best.
I can't recommend this highly enough

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Twigs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

How do you describe perfection? The word seems to say it all. And for the Victoria House B&B even that is not enough. The B&B’s location (inside the walled town of Caernarfon) permits easy access to everything (i.e. within walking distance). The exterior of the B&B is charming and the interior is spotlessly clean and rich in décor. The rooms (Qty 4) are spacious and equipped with all types of support items that you can think of (and some that you can’t). Would you like a little refrigerator to keep your wine and cheese cold? It’s there. How about a stereo radio with an IPod jack (to play any music that you might have brought along)? It’s there. How about some cold water in bottles in the frig with no charge? They’re there. Am I getting repetitive? Jan (the owner) has thought of everything. And if that is not enough, there is Jan herself. Without a doubt, the friendliest and most considerate B&B host that my wife and I have ever encountered. And on occasion her mom and daughter help out too (the entire family is wonderful). Breakfasts are varied (from juices to cereals, to fruits, and of course Cooked Breakfasts with your choice of Eggs, Bacon, Sausage, Tomato, Beans, Hash Browns). My wife and I have travelled extensively over the years (in the US, Canada, UK, and Europe) and without any equivocation can state that this B&B is at the top of our list of best places to stay. We offer our compliments to Jan and a sincere thank you to her for providing us a wonderful four nights in Caernarfon. We will be back!

Room Tip: Top rear rooms have sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brooklyn45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JVH8, Owner at Victoria House B&B, responded to this review, 5 June 2011
Wow! thanks so much for your kind comments. Really glad you enjoyed your stay with us; we are
always working towards providing the very best stay for our guests & it's great to know that on this occasion we got it right. Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay.

With best regards,

Yours sincerely,

Jan and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merchtem, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

My husband and I had a wonderful time with Jan. We came all the way from Belgium to visit Wales and found the perfect B&B. Clean, enough space, in the middle of Caernarfon. I loved her Welsh rarebits. She is so nice and friendly that we decided to go back in July with the children. We booked the rooms immediately !

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riyahd
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2011

Is this the best B&B in UK ? It’s certainly the best we have ever stayed in. We live overseas and stopped off in Caernarfon en route to our son’s wedding on Anglesey.
The owner, Jan, is warm and welcoming and truly interested in her guests. She is a generous host with an absolute pride in her B&B and her attention to detail is faultless.
The large terraced house is beautifully decorated. Fitments are of excellent quality and there are lots of very attractive period features. Our two night stay was so comfortable , where to start ?
Large comfortable beds with cosy duvets and bath robes
In place of the usual two teabags and sachets of Nescafe in our room, Jan provided ground coffee, cafetiere, wine fridge, wine glasses, corkscrew
Complimentary, good quality bathroom products
We stayed on the top floor in room 7, one of the rooms with a whirlpool bath, and the bathroom was spacious and had a very good shower.
Free wine in the fridge in the lovely guest sitting room which guests are welcome to use
Easy access to the stone terrace, set into the old town walls via french doors in the sitting room
Free wi-fi
Delicious breakfast – including an excellent range of seeds and nuts to sprinkle on your muesli - served in a very tasteful dining room with classical music playing in the background….. a gentle start to the day ! Great coffee too and a good range of teas.
Jan could not have been kinder to us. We were very busy with chaotic last minute wedding preparations and she allowed us to check in early and check out late, to help ease logisitical problems with the move to our hotel on Anglesey. Jan even recommended a hairdresser to me and personally took me to the salon !
If you want to be taken care of in the lap of luxury and be made to feel very, very, welcome, then book in to Victoria House !

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RiyahdTeachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.1 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,000 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
736 reviews
2.3 mi away
Plas Dinas Country House
Plas Dinas Country House
#1 of 1 in Bontnewydd
575 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ty Dre Town House
Ty Dre Town House
#5 of 21 in Caernarfon
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria House B&B

Property: Victoria House B&B
Address: Church Street, Caernarfon LL55 1SW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Victoria House B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria House is a Grade II listed building dating back to 1897. Originally built as part of The North Wales Teacher Training College it was later converted into a hotel. Now rated a 5 star B&B by the Wales Tourist Board it is centrally located in a quiet street within a few minutes walk of the town centre. Backing onto the castle walls, promenade & medieval bath tower, it offers 4 comfortable & elegantly furnished double en suite rooms & a large, airy lounge with French doors to court yard. Breakfast is served in a classic Victorian room with original wooden floorboards & oak dining furniture. 5 star food hygiene rating. TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2012. Featured in Lonely Planet Magazine 2011 "Britain's best places to stay". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Victoria House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria House B&B Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing