We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely top grade b and b, excellent value for money”
Review of Victoria House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Victoria House B&B
Ranked #1 of 21 Caernarfon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2011

the loaction is awesome - town walls in the garden, lovely walks along the sea front, literally 2 mins walk to castle and town and the black bouy pub plus you are in a great place to visit loads of places in north wales. the b and b itself is top class. the rooms a stunningly decorated with some wonderful homely touches. the breakfast room is fabulous and gets better when the food comes out- huge cooked breakfast and loads of other choices (i would recommend the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon). you can help yourself to pastries, bake some fresh bread, yoghurt, fruit.....the list goes on! the landlady and her family are charming and friendly and could not do enough for us. to top it all, you can get all of this for a super reasonable rate. i would absolutely recommend you stay here!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whiskymarmalade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (480)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

392 - 398 of 480 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2011

We stayed here for three nights in April 2011.
It is amongst the best B&Bs that we have stayed in. Everything was done with care and attention to detail. From our friendly welcome to the spacious ,well furnished comfortable rooms to the filling well cooked breakfast we were impressively treated.
It takes a lot of hard work to produce such a good result but Jan makes it seem effortless.
We thank her for an extremely pleasant weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrumpyOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Location is great, breakfast and our room huge. All was clean, owner sunny and helpful. Great stay!

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TuomoP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Very impressive from the outside though not on a prominent street, this is a shame because the owner deserves the best, the breakfast is wonderful including fresh fruit & specific alternatives not just cereals !. The rooms are fantastic, short of nothing & clearly show good taste with all the necessary small details.( A small fridge & even crystal wine glasses" wow" who needs the Hilton?)
An absolute pleasure to stay at this accommodation, (in our case it was an emergency due to car failure) we found it due to a foot search & given its only seconds walk away from the towns sight seeing qualities it has to get our top vote.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simoedps1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

I was tempted to cut and paste the comments of 'Brooklyn45' who waxed lyrical on all the good things to be found at Victoria House. His words are exactly the words I had in mind when thinking about writing a review. Jan's attention to detail is meticulous - everything you could wish for was there and even more. Cleanliness superb, decor attractive, reception friendly, helpful, welcoming.... We were bowled over by everything. Top marks all round - We'll certainly be back. Thanks again Jan, Mum, Beth and all the team! Bob and Carole

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bob12ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

This was our second stay with Jan and it was better than ever. The bedroom was first class, breakfast was fantastic and the welcome was very warm. We will be back!

Keith and Christine

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

You can see this B&B is run with pride and passion for customer satisfaction.
A group of 4 of us turned up failing to mention we had bikes with us, Victoria house did not have designated storage for bikes but from the word go this wasn't a problem, the owners helped us stored our bikes safe for the night and then greeted us with a cold beer which was a lovely touch.

Other members of our group stayed in other B&B's on the same street and got a very hostile reception when the bikes were seen.

The rooms could easily be associated to a 5 star hotel, the attention to detail was fantastic!

We were all very late rising the next morning, didn’t surface till 11am, expecting to be chased out however we were greeted with a warm welcome and they made an effort to cook us breakfast!
This place is A+, I will certainly be reutrning.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gareth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caernarfon hotels
0.1 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,061 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
440 reviews
0.0 mi away
Caer Menai Guest House / Bed and Breakfast
2.3 mi away
Plas Dinas Country House
Plas Dinas Country House
#1 of 1 in Bontnewydd
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria House B&B

Address: 13 Church Street, Caernarfon LL55 1SW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Caernarfon
Price Range: £79 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Victoria House B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria House is a Grade II listed building dating back to 1897. Originally built as part of The North Wales Teacher Training College it was later converted into a hotel. Now rated a 5 star B&B by the Wales Tourist Board it is centrally located in a quiet street within a few minutes walk of the town centre. Backing onto the castle walls, promenade & medieval bath tower, it offers 4 comfortable & elegantly furnished double en suite rooms & a large, airy lounge with French doors to court yard. Breakfast is served in a classic Victorian room with original wooden floorboards & oak dining furniture. 5 star food hygiene rating. TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2012. Featured in Lonely Planet Magazine 2011 "Britain's best places to stay". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Victoria House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria House B&B Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing