We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Perfect”
Review of Victoria House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Victoria House B&B
Ranked #1 of 21 Caernarfon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect”
Reviewed 6 October 2011

My husband and I stayed there for 4 nights. All of the rooms are absolutely lovely, very spacious, en-suite, flat screen w/dvd player. We had a good view of the Menai Straights from our room. Located on the very, very, quiet and peaceful Church Street, literally a few blocks away from Caernarfon Castle, main bus stop, and town centre. Jan is an amazing host. Very welcoming, helpful and went out of her way to ensure our stay was enjoyable. We looked froward to breakfast every morning, as it is SUPERB! with a wide variety of things to eat. Very relaxing, wonderful place to stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 4, top floor with a nice view of the Menai Straights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brooke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
317
27
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

My wife, Sandie and I spent 4 days at Caernarfon, in the Victoria house. We enjoyed every minute and will go back there, if we ever are in the UK again. Jan treated us wonderfully and helped make our stay in Wales exceptional. This was the best B&B that we have ever stayed at.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sea View room and had a nice view of the water from our window. Just before we went...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We recently spent two nights at Victoria House and we were not disappointed. We received a very warm welcome from our host Jan who offered us a complimentary glass of wine. The room (4)was spacious, clean and well decorated with a wonderful view across the Menai Straights. The ensuite shower room was compact but the shower was very efficient. Jan had thought of everything and there was a basket full of all those things you sometimes forget to pack. The breakfast was delicious and was the best cooked and presented of all the B&Bs we stayed in this holiday. The breakfast was served by a delightful, cheery lady who I believe is Jan's mother.Parking was not a problem. Victoria House looks and sounds great on the website but the reality is even better. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSL94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JVH8, Owner at Victoria House B&B, responded to this review, 11 October 2011
Hi,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Victoria House. It's re-assuring to know that we exceeded your guest expectations and that you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you so much for the recommendation.

With best regards,

Yours sincerely,

Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Just spent 4 nights (originally booked for 3) here with Jan and cannot praise Victoria House and Jan enough. Lots of reviews tell you about the warm welcome, the amenities and the little touches that all go to make your stay so wonderful. I would add that I did not want to leave and that if Jan was on "Four in a Bed" I would be leaving more than the total amount in my envelope. She certainly deserves her five stars (and more).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LancashireLankyLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We stayed in a lovely room at the top of the house with a huge en suite bathroom which contained a whirlpool bath. The decor in the room and bathroom was very good We were made very welcome when we arrived and were offered a complimentary glass of wine. The breakfast was good. The shaving plug in our bathroom wasn't working and before even mentioning it were offered a £5 discount from our bill which we were happy about.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5 and we would recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorraineWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Had a lovely one night stay in the B & B in the superb setting next to the Castle Walls overlooking the straits from the window of room 4; the smallest detail was taken care of by Jan and the bed was very comfortable, breakfast delightful. Would definately recommend, easy to find as set in one of the little roads up to the castle and had no problem parking. We'll be back - a lovely place!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Had a wonderful stay here at Victoria House. One night stay in cosy, beautifully decorated and clean room with spa bath. LIttle touches such as fresh milk in the room and complementary drinks in the lounge made all the difference and the host was kind and helpful. Breakfast the following morning also superb.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lokes_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.1 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,269 reviews
0.2 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,002 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
738 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Port Dinorwic
Hotel Port Dinorwic
#1 of 1 in Y Felinheli
661 reviews
4.8 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria House B&B

Property: Victoria House B&B
Address: Church Street, Caernarfon LL55 1SW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Victoria House B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria House is a Grade II listed building dating back to 1897. Originally built as part of The North Wales Teacher Training College it was later converted into a hotel. Now rated a 5 star B&B by the Wales Tourist Board it is centrally located in a quiet street within a few minutes walk of the town centre. Backing onto the castle walls, promenade & medieval bath tower, it offers 4 comfortable & elegantly furnished double en suite rooms & a large, airy lounge with French doors to court yard. Breakfast is served in a classic Victorian room with original wooden floorboards & oak dining furniture. 5 star food hygiene rating. TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2012. Featured in Lonely Planet Magazine 2011 "Britain's best places to stay". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Victoria House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria House B&B Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing