We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”
Review of Victoria House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Victoria House B&B
Ranked #1 of 21 Caernarfon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We stayed there for 1 night in mid-October 2011. The B&B is ideally placed in a quiet area of town very close to the Castle. The service was very welcoming & friendly. The room that we had gave a view of the Menai Straits & Anglesey. The room was quite large, well appointed & included optional use of bath robe & slippers. There were free drinks from the mini-bar downstairs & free wireless access. Jan & Her Mum were very helpful. Hard pushed to find a better B&B.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Y0P0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
312
27
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
armstrong bc
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Jan provides an exceptional b&b. She is warm and so accommodating. The place is spotless. She provides everything you might need. We've spent about 40 nights in uk b&bs and this is one of the very best. The location is superb. The hospitality is 6 star. You can't go wrong with this place. Caernarfon is also a fabulous place for history buffs.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magpieandshrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed for two nights in September 2011 in order to both explore Caernarfon and climb Snowdon. Having read other reviews on this site we were not disappointed. We stayed in Room 2 for the first night, one of the smaller doubles. A lovely room, the only point to be aware of is the en suite shower is cosy and me being gangly did mean I managed to knock the shower gel off and bang my elbows a couple of times while flailing around with soap in my eyes!
Jan very kindly upgraded us to Room 5 with the whirlpool bath the following day as she thought we may need it post Snowdon! It's a fantastic airy room with a beautiful bathroom.
Breakfast was great too, as was the location of the B&B, within the walled town. Parking for us wasn't a problem due to the time of year, although during busier months you may have to park a little further away as it's just a case of grabbing a spot as and when you can on the street. There is a public car park a few hundred yards away.
Overall well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Room 2 has a very cosy en suite with the sink in the room. Room 5 has a large bathroom with a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SlimEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We booked to stay at the Victoria on Friday 21st October while we were searching the surrounding area for a static caravan holiday home. Having become a bit disillusioned in Anglesey my wife spoke with Janet on the phone to arrange our arrival time and they talked about the purpose of our trip. Next thing we knew Janet was on the internet searching for us!

Our stay at Victoria House was exceptional - friendly, quality, value for money, you name it and they excelled at it!

To top it off we have actually bought a place at one of the holiday parks Janet suggested we visit.

Can't compliment or thank her enough for both the accommodation, service and helping us find a dream location within easy access of our home in Cheshire.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Once again Jan and her lovely Mum made our stay wondeful. Myself and my hubby Stuart have stayed here two times before, but this is the first time my Mum and Dad (Ann and Alan) have stayed. We stayed at the beginning of October for my Mum and Dad's 50th wedding anniversary, and they absolutely loved it.

The rooms are spacious and lovely and clean. You have everything you could possible want in the rooms. Lovely towelling robes, slippers, shoe shine, shampoo, etc, etc.

Jan put some white roses, a card and some chocolates in the room for my Mum and Dad for the anniversary. They were over the moon.

The breakfast's were appetising and filling as always. Jan was also very helpful in giving me a few ideas for days out.

Also, well done for gaining five star status. It's well deserved.

Thank you once again for a wondeful stay and we hope to see you again next year.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieReddish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Stayed for 3 nights first week in October 2011. Our second stay at the hotel, the host could not do enough for us made us feel so at home and welcome. I can't recommend this B&B highly enough will definitely be returning.
The breakfast are to die for, but keep it to yourself otherwise everyone will want to go.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twigs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Stayed their for 3 nights & was very impressed with the b&b, Room was very large, a huge bed(very comfortable) & the bathroom had a whirlpool bath. Breakfast was superb, & a nice touch was a fridge in the room with fresh milk & 2 bottles of water(replaced each day if used). Jan was very helpful, & i would recommend the b&b to anyone planning a stay in Caernarfon.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oysterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caernarfon hotels
0.1 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
987 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
415 reviews
2.3 mi away
Plas Dinas Country House
Plas Dinas Country House
#1 of 1 in Bontnewydd
566 reviews
0.0 mi away
Caer Menai Guest House / Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria House B&B

Property: Victoria House B&B
Address: Church Street, Caernarfon LL55 1SW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Victoria House B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria House is a Grade II listed building dating back to 1897. Originally built as part of The North Wales Teacher Training College it was later converted into a hotel. Now rated a 5 star B&B by the Wales Tourist Board it is centrally located in a quiet street within a few minutes walk of the town centre. Backing onto the castle walls, promenade & medieval bath tower, it offers 4 comfortable & elegantly furnished double en suite rooms & a large, airy lounge with French doors to court yard. Breakfast is served in a classic Victorian room with original wooden floorboards & oak dining furniture. 5 star food hygiene rating. TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2012. Featured in Lonely Planet Magazine 2011 "Britain's best places to stay". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Victoria House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria House B&B Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing