We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5* accommodation”
Review of Victoria House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Victoria House B&B
Ranked #1 of 21 Caernarfon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“5* accommodation”
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We stayed for one night but wished we could be there longer.

The room was fabulous - with everything that you would expect in a 5* hotel never mind a B&B. Real coffee, fresh milk, bath robes & slippers, lotions and potions, free Wifi, really comfortable bed, beautiful furnishings and decor. The breakfast was excellent too. We had smoked salmon & scrambled egg.
Great location, right by the castle, close to pubs & shops

brilliant

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJK42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
320
27
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Just returned home from a 2 night stay at Victoria House and had a fabulous time. Jan was the perfect host and couldn't do enough to help us enjoy our time there. Our room was on the top floor with a sea view and was extremely comfortable, clean and warm - Jan did offer to upgrade us to one of her larger rooms for the second night as it was vacant but we preferred to keep the sea view. There were lots of nice little touches, such as dressing gowns and slippers in the room to make you feel at home. Breakfast was also fantastic - a choice of cereals, fruit, bread, cheese to start followed by a cooked breakfast of your choice, all as much as you wanted. Ideally situated with lots of good pubs/restaurants all within walking distance, as well as the castle and harbour right on your doorstep. Parking on the road can be limited however we parked by the yacht club just at the bottom of the road with no issues. Can't recommend Victoria House highly enough, we will definately be returning in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the house are larger and have the added bonus of a whirlpool bath, or you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I stayed at the Victoria house whilst I attended a three day New Year course in Bangor at the university. The house is lovely and my room was generous and very comfortable. As it happened, the weather was vile: strong winds and much rain, but this was a very convenient location for nipping out to the pub or to the shops. I appreciated having wi-fi access so I could do a bit of work, and also the very comfortable bed and warm welcome

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

This is the best B&B we have ever stayed in, Jan is a wonderful and very pleasant host. The B&B is clean comfortable and very pleasant .

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

This is a superb place to stay, Jan is a wonderful host. Clean, tidy, comfortable and excelent value. Breakfast was individually catered for.Recomend here to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Had a great stay here. Would highly recommend. Great value and service..

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinkrosefairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

The location for The Victoria House B&B was phenomenal, in the walled portion of Caernarfon. (Keep in mind that parking can be a little tricky, but manageable, due to this fact). The town was lovely and the castle was most impressive.
Jan, the owner, recommended The Black Boy for dinner and the food was fantastic. The decor/atmosphere filled my wooden beams, fireplace, cozy pub needs. I highly recommend eating there.
But the real kudos go to Jan, who runs this delightful, warm and welcoming B&B. I cannot begin to tell you how absolutely accommodating Jan was and how in tune she was to every need that her guests may have. The breakfast was incredible and with so many selections. My only regret is that my family had just one night to stay there, because it was definitely the highlight of our 8 day stay in Wales.
Thank you Jan and we do so hope to return!
The Hart Family

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sissy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.1 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,284 reviews
0.2 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,008 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
742 reviews
15.5 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
385 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Port Dinorwic
Hotel Port Dinorwic
#1 of 1 in Y Felinheli
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria House B&B

Property: Victoria House B&B
Address: 13 Church Street, Caernarfon LL55 1SW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Victoria House B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria House is a Grade II listed building dating back to 1897. Originally built as part of The North Wales Teacher Training College it was later converted into a hotel. Now rated a 5 star B&B by the Wales Tourist Board it is centrally located in a quiet street within a few minutes walk of the town centre. Backing onto the castle walls, promenade & medieval bath tower, it offers 4 comfortable & elegantly furnished double en suite rooms & a large, airy lounge with French doors to court yard. Breakfast is served in a classic Victorian room with original wooden floorboards & oak dining furniture. 5 star food hygiene rating. TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2012. Featured in Lonely Planet Magazine 2011 "Britain's best places to stay". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Victoria House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria House B&B Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing