We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A truly 5 stars B&B”
Review of Victoria House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Victoria House B&B
Ranked #1 of 21 Caernarfon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Painswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A truly 5 stars B&B”
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Tucked away within the wall of the castle in narrow Church street in a rather unimpressive Georgian terraced house we found a jewel. A tastefully decorated home with superbly appointed rooms with all and more accoutrements of a city 5 star hotel. water, fresh milk in the fridge, all the free bath toiletries one finds in top hotels in a up-to-date bathroom, dvd player and wide screen tv. Our room faced the street and yet it was very quiet at night. Cooked breakfast 'A-la-carte' and a range of cereals to choose from. A very jolly and welcoming landlady who took the trouble to take us to the top of the caste wall to admire the bay. A place to return and keep in our address book.

Room Tip: If you book well in advance ask for room 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
305
26
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Before our recent stay I did wonder if all these reviews were a little too good to be true. Don't worry, they're not ! A fab place to stay and to tour the area. Everthing is of the highest quality and nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peebee53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level Contributor
300 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

My wife and I were cycling up the North Wales coast and stayed in Victoria House on the night of 16th February 2012. We were given the warmest of welcomes - our room was fabulous and contained everything you could possibly ask for - and more! The large bathroom had both a jacuzzi bath and an excellent shower - which was just what we needed after a long bike ride. We have stayed in a wide range of B&Bs as we have moved up the coast of Wales, and frankly they were all at least good - but Victoria House stands apart and is simply excellent. It was also extremely good value for money. Our thanks to Jan and her team.

Room Tip: Call in advance and ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penarthguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holywell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Just returned home after a wonderful weekend at Victoria House, what a gem!!! My partner had stayed there while working in Caernarfon and raved about how lovely it was so we decided to go there for a nice valentine break. I have not had much experience of B & B's but this was amazing. We were made very welcome by Jan and nothing was too much trouble for her and her family, the rooms were lovely and clean with a lovely en suite bathroom with jacuzzi bath. I would recommend Victoria House to anyone and would definately go back again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2012

What can i say other than outstanding. When it comes to hotels i can be very choosy and very picky. I would not usually go for a B&B but my husband surprised me, so thought i should look appreciative. I work in the hospitality business and 5 star ratings are very very hard to achieve, but Jan and her family put out all the stops to make sure we received nothing less than this. The cleanliness of this b&b is second to none, i could not find a single spec of dust anywhere, which is a first for me. The personal touches and the high spec fixtures and fittings make you feel like you are actually staying in a high end hotel that you would pay through the nose for.....There were bath robes, slippers, a mini fridge, crystal glasses and so much more in the room. When my husband told me what he had paid for the nights stay i was shocked....I would have easily paid alot more. We will definately be returning here in the near future and i would highly recommend Victoria house to anyone who appreciates the hard work that goes into providing an excellent, personal, and clean service to stay here. Thanks Jan xxx

Room Tip: Room 3 spacious, beautiful, and modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katrina k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We have always been wary of B and B's but stayed here on the recommendation of my niece. The welcome, service, room, and breakfast were of the highest standards. Victoria House is set in an excellent location and Jan could not have been more welcoming or helpful. Her restaurant recommendations were also excellent. Cannot recommend more highly.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jtsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

I was really impressed with the friendly welcome. Victoria House is furnished to a much higher standard than you would expect for the price. Comfortable, very clean, well situated. Highly recommended - cheaper and much nicer than the other hotel I used to use in Caernarfon.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom-Penarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caernarfon hotels
0.1 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
0.2 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#3 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
#8 of 8 in Caernarfon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
4.8 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
2.3 mi away
Plas Dinas Country House
Plas Dinas Country House
#1 of 1 in Bontnewydd
5.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria House B&B

Property: Victoria House B&B
Address: Church Street, Caernarfon LL55 1SW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Victoria House B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria House is a Grade II listed building dating back to 1897. Originally built as part of The North Wales Teacher Training College it was later converted into a hotel. Now rated a 5 star B&B by the Wales Tourist Board it is centrally located in a quiet street within a few minutes walk of the town centre. Backing onto the castle walls, promenade & medieval bath tower, it offers 4 comfortable & elegantly furnished double en suite rooms & a large, airy lounge with French doors to court yard. Breakfast is served in a classic Victorian room with original wooden floorboards & oak dining furniture. 5 star food hygiene rating. TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2012. Featured in Lonely Planet Magazine 2011 "Britain's best places to stay". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Victoria House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria House B&B Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing