We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of Victoria House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Victoria House B&B
Ranked #1 of 21 Caernarfon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2013

The room had every possible amenity you could want. We were only there one night but it was fab. The breakfast was better than many 5* hotels I've stayed in - such a great selection. What a great B&B. Thank you Jan for the friendly welcome, best wishes from Russ & Nic.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RusstavoMcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (475)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 475 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013

We chose Victoria House after reading the unanimously positive reviews, and we were not disappointed. Victoria House deserves its status as a top rated B&B. Jan is very welcoming, and the whole team are friendly and helpful. Above all they have excellent attention to detail. Rooms are well appointed and comfortable. Good selection of well cooked breakfasts, would particularly recommend the Welsh Rarebit. Location is superb, in the centre of the walled city and 5 minutes walk from the castle. Just an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I feel I have to write and let everyone know about this fantastic B & B in Caernarfon. The rooms are second to none. I regularly stay there when on business, and would never stay anywhere else in Caernarfon. Jan the proprietor is friendly and makes staying there such a great experience. On arrival she offers a glass of wine and makes you feel really welcome. I stay away from home on a regular basis and can honestly say that I have never stayed in accommodation that can match this. It is located in the centre within the castle with plenty of enjoyable places to eat and drink. The breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice on offer. I stayed there last week with a colleague who was also blown away. Everything is to such a very high standard. Could not ask for more, I have recommended to Jan that she should go onto the TV programme that competes with other B & B's as I am sure she would win hands down!

Thank you Jan

Julie and Victoria

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanBaker, Owner at Victoria House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Hi Julie & Victoria,

You're very welcome! Thanks for the lovely comments & for choosing Victoria House as your
base to stay when in Caernarfon. Look forward to seeing you both again soon.

With best regards,

Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I love this place!

My wife and I have been lucky to have stayed at the Victoria House bed and breakfast twice this year and each time Jan and her team have exceed our expectations in every way. If your looking for a welcoming and comfortable Bed and breakfast in the heart of Caernarfon (two minutes from the castle) look no further.

The rooms are spacious, beautifully decorated and well equipped with excellent facilities (Spa baths, fridges with fresh milk and kingsize beds (probably the most comfortable beds I've slept on). The breakfast is prepared to your liking and served in a lovely dining room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanBaker, Owner at Victoria House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Hi Mike,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your most recent stay at Victoria House, your feedback is
much appreciated. Hope to see you & Sandra again some time in the future & we'll endeavour
to stay on your list of favourites :-)

With kind regards,

Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We just finished a three night stay at Victoria House -- and happily report that the experience, as reflected by all the other positive comments here, truly superb. Jan and Beth could not have been more attentive, the rooms (our son/daughter stayed in an adjacent room) were luxurious, and the breakfast was just amazing -- both in terms of selection and scrumptiousness! Even the location was superb -- just a short walk to the castle (we appreciated being able to take a break in the middle of the day and return to castle touring refreshed as the castle has sufficient exhibits to fill a day). Staying at the Victoria House has left us yearning to return already!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank backroadrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanBaker, Owner at Victoria House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us; so pleased you had a good stay
and had a relaxing time in our house & town.

With all best wishes,

Jan & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

jan and beth were very welcoming. it is a lovely Victorian house. the room we stayed in was very spacious and had plenty of little extras e.g coffee, different kind of tea bags biscuits, fresh milk in the mini fridge and bottled water. The breakfast was very tasty and you were spoilt for choice of what to eat.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruth s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanBaker, Owner at Victoria House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Hi Ruth,

Thanks for your lovely review. Glad you enjoyed your time with us & hope to see you again in the future when you can truly conquer Snowdon! Hope your legs have recovered from the challenge by now.

With best regards,

Jan & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Jan and staff do an amazing job with this quiet B & B in Caernarvon. Jan isn't just warm and gracious to all of her guests, she goes the extra mile to make sure everyone is comfortable.
The rooms are beautifully appointed with traditional touches and spotlessly clean. There is milk in the little mini frig for your morning coffee/tea. Robes and slippers hanging in the wardrobe makes one feel as if they are at an elegant spa resort. We had a view of the Irish Sea from our room (#6), as well as the castle wall, being a part of Jan's garden. The generous breakfast is served in the lovely dining room. Not having seen Caernarvon listed as a walled city, we were surprised to find all of the old-world charm. This is a good base for exploring Snowdonia and Llanberis areas and a 45 minute drive to the Irish Ferries. Parking is a challenge, but Jan is a very good source for parking info. Just take care to note that the "handicap parking only" signs sit off the curb away from the street. We loved our stay here, and only were sorry it was just for one night.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 33146Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.1 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,327 reviews
0.2 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,041 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
396 reviews
2.3 mi away
Plas Dinas Country House
Plas Dinas Country House
#1 of 1 in Bontnewydd
605 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ty Dre Town House
Ty Dre Town House
#6 of 21 in Caernarfon
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria House B&B

Address: 13 Church Street, Caernarfon LL55 1SW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Caernarfon
Price Range: £79 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Victoria House B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria House is a Grade II listed building dating back to 1897. Originally built as part of The North Wales Teacher Training College it was later converted into a hotel. Now rated a 5 star B&B by the Wales Tourist Board it is centrally located in a quiet street within a few minutes walk of the town centre. Backing onto the castle walls, promenade & medieval bath tower, it offers 4 comfortable & elegantly furnished double en suite rooms & a large, airy lounge with French doors to court yard. Breakfast is served in a classic Victorian room with original wooden floorboards & oak dining furniture. 5 star food hygiene rating. TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2012. Featured in Lonely Planet Magazine 2011 "Britain's best places to stay". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Victoria House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria House B&B Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing