We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best welcome ever!”
Review of Victoria House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Victoria House B&B
Ranked #1 of 21 Caernarfon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The best welcome ever!”
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

I came here with my boyfriend and we were greeted with a glass of wine and a beer! And when Jan found out it was our first anniversary she nipped out to buy us a present! She is such a lovely host, she would do anything to make sure you had the best stay, and the room was lovely and had everything you could possibly need (including kitkat chunkys and a cafetiere!). In fact, we loved it that much we ended up staying for an extra night! There's a great selection at breakfast and Jan's really knowledgeable about the area. We'll be booking again this year for definate.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
317
27
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2014

my wife and I have just returned from a 3 night break at this beautiful guest house, from entering the property we were happy that we had done our homework online before we booked.
the guest house was decorated and furnished to perfection ,the bedrooms were spacious with a superb ensuite.we had a large selection of quality food to choose from at breakfast.the guest house could not be positioned any better in the town in a quiet area, close to the castle the bars and shops.last thing is the excellent service from jan and her staff.highly recommended.

Room Tip: they are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eric s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

From the minute we walked in the door we were treated to a warm welcome by Jan. The level of customer service throughout our stay was exceptional e.g. wine and beer on arrival, fresh milk in the in room fridge, cafetiere, wide range of toiletries. Our room was spotless, spacious and very comfortable and the breakfast delicious with plenty of choice. What more could we ask for at an excellent price too.

Room Tip: We had a room with a view of the Menai Straits. Very quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sausages121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wednesbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Had a much deserved weekend break here 14th-16th March exploring Caernarfon. We couldn't have chosen any better. We stayed in the Queen Room which has great views. The bed was very comfortable and the facilities in the room were excellent - couldn't have asked for more. There was a great choice at breakfast - I particularly enjoyed the salmon and scrambled egg which made a nice change from a full breakfast. Jan was really helpful and made us very welcome on the Friday night. We relaxed with muffins, Welsh cake and biscuits on arrival - really appreciated. Definitely one of our favourite B&Bs ever!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinnieThrostle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

the best b/b we have ever stayed in room lovely, bed extremely comfortable, tea/coffee/hot chocolate making facilities, breakfast was great good quality food. cannot recommend this b/b enough. the owner was very friendly and helpful, even offered us a drink when we arrived

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juesysch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed here for two nights in March, we had the Queen Room with views overlooking the Menai Straits. Everything about the room was immaculate, there was an abundance of tea and coffee choices, including a cafetiere to make your own freshly ground coffee. There was a jug of milk in the fridge, no tiny jiggers that spill everywhere, and two bottles of water. Everything you might need was available to hand toiletry wise and the bed was the most comfortable I have slept in for a long time. The room was spacious, extremely clean and welcoming, there was a flat screen TV, DVD player and iPod docking station. There was lots of information about the town and surrounding areas, including an excellent DVD on the history of the town. Breakfast was magnificent with a great selection of fruit, yoghurts, cereal, fruit juice to start and an excellent choice of hot food all freshly cooked to order. The dining room was beautifully laid out with an eye for detail, with white linen cloths and napkins and white china, no matter where you looked there was something to add to your comfort. Everyone we met, the owners and staff, were very friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this as a place to stay and explore the town and surrounding area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riverswimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Spent two nights at the Victoria House 12-14th March. Received a warm welcome from Jan on arrival and Jan had left flowers and chocolates in our room. Breakfast was delicious with lovely veggie options for me! Lots of nice touches and Jan herself was incredibly accommodating. This is definitely one the best places I've had the pleasure to visit and I consider myself fairly well travelled.
Thank you Jan and team for making our 'baby moon' in Caernarfon a memorable one, we will be back hopefully one day with our new addition! Kind Regards Nicky and Jamie (Liverpool)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mullett78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.1 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,002 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
738 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Port Dinorwic
Hotel Port Dinorwic
#1 of 1 in Y Felinheli
661 reviews
4.8 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria House B&B

Property: Victoria House B&B
Address: Church Street, Caernarfon LL55 1SW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Victoria House B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria House is a Grade II listed building dating back to 1897. Originally built as part of The North Wales Teacher Training College it was later converted into a hotel. Now rated a 5 star B&B by the Wales Tourist Board it is centrally located in a quiet street within a few minutes walk of the town centre. Backing onto the castle walls, promenade & medieval bath tower, it offers 4 comfortable & elegantly furnished double en suite rooms & a large, airy lounge with French doors to court yard. Breakfast is served in a classic Victorian room with original wooden floorboards & oak dining furniture. 5 star food hygiene rating. TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2012. Featured in Lonely Planet Magazine 2011 "Britain's best places to stay". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Victoria House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria House B&B Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing