We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Victoria House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Victoria House B&B
Ranked #1 of 21 Caernarfon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Had a lovely stay at Victoria House, this really is everything you hope for from a B & B. great location just near the castle but on a quiet street and not far from parking. Gorgeous characterful house, lovely courtyard garden and lounge, dining room. Our room 4 was huge and beautifully decorated with supersize bed and jacuzzi bath. Scrupulously clean and with every possible comfort including wifi, bath robes and slippers, extra pillows, blankets, fans, heaters and even spare toiletries, nothing had been forgotten. The lovely Jan is the perfect host and the glass of wine brought to our room on arrival not to mention a gorgeous breakfast were very welcome . Go now and make sure you eat at Blas round the corner it's ridiculously good value fine dining!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adventurer33London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
313
27
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed from 4th - 8th May 2014. Victoria House is a little gem set within the town walls. Jan is a lovely person who cannot do enough for you. The attention to detail is marvellous. The rooms are large and airy with everything you need (and more!) provided. Breakfast is big and varied, the choice is endless. We were lucky enough to meet Jan's mother (Lady Penelope) who is priceless, every family should have one! A complimentary drink was available in the lounge along with biscuits and Bombay Mix!
Victoria House is ideally placed to explore the north west corner of Wales. The Welsh Highland Railway is well worth travelling on to Porthmadog and back through lovely, diverse countyside. Bodnant Gardens (NationalTrust) is also well worth a visit.
Our visit was made special for us by the welcome we were given by Jan and we recommend it to all.

Room Tip: Room 4 is on the top floor and has a great view out over the Menai Straits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyb43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Jan is just the sneakiest of landladies - she entices you with everything at her disposal to make your stay so pleasurable you never want to leave. We arrived just as she'd finished mopping the outdoor tiling and immediately took my suitcase out of my hands and carried it up to our room. Back downstairs, having had a thorough but speedy room showing, for wine/beer/tea/coffee/soft drink. AND we had arrived in time not only for biscuits but also delicious boxed chocolates.

Our room was excellent. Certainly not the largest we have ever stayed in but definitely large enough and high ceilings and a huge sash window overlooking the garden made a very favourable impression. The only comment to make is that the whole room was stylish; a wonderful memory foam bed that we just sank into, marvellous wall hangings, a mini fridge, bottled water and daily fresh milk provided, YAY! ground coffee and cafetiere, a basket containing 'forgotten toiletries', even an electric toothbrush!!

Jan never once forgot our names, did everything possible to make our stay magical. She succeeded! She is a most charming person, approachable person and greatly to be admired. It's not everyone that can create such a restful welcoming hideaway from a house with "3 1/2 legged tables"

Oh, by the way, do look out for 'Lady Penelope' - another hidden treasure of Jan's. Happy holiday

Room Tip: Room 2 is at the back of the house and overlooks the garden which backs onto the town wall. You can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My husband and I had a lovely stay here! We got married on the Friday, and stayed in Victoria House Saturday until Wednesday. Jan made us feel very welcome, and because my dad had booked this as a 'mini-honeymoon' for us she made it extra special by leaving us a box of chocolates in our room, along with a beautiful bunch of roses, and some beers for the hubby! Breakfast every morning was lovely. The room was fab and very spacious! It was also very clean & tidy. We had the room with the jacuzzi too which was lovely to relax in. Thank you very much for our stay Jan! I would recommend your B&B to anybody! x

Room Tip: Ask if the room with the jacuzzi is available. It's nice to relax in the evening :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in April 2014. We were made very welcome. There was everything you could wish for including wine glasses in the rooms and wine to help yourself to in the lounge. The landlady, Jan, was very friendly and helpful. There was a fridge in the room. The breakfast was first class, there was full English/Welsh, continental, fruit salad, an array of nuts, toast , cheese, pate, yoghurt it was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RCB89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My wife and I stayed 4 nights at "The Victoria House". We consider this guesthouse to be one of the best we have ever stayed on. Large comfortable room, clean, excellent full Welsh breakfast. The proprietor Jan did a splendid job in making our stay as comfortable as possible. The house had a beautiful downstairs lounge/sitting room with complimentary refreshments! "The Victoria House" is nicely situated in a quiet street in the centre of Caernarfon. No problems with parking in the street outside the house.

Room Tip: Central position, quiet street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 300Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Best we had we needed ti relaxe for a few days. We were made so welcome it was like coming home. The service was excellent. The food was excellent and you can eat as much as you wont. The rooms where really nice and comfortable and very clean.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynndilou R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caernarfon hotels
0.1 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,255 reviews
0.2 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
990 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
415 reviews
2.3 mi away
Plas Dinas Country House
Plas Dinas Country House
#1 of 1 in Bontnewydd
566 reviews
0.0 mi away
Caer Menai Guest House / Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria House B&B

Property: Victoria House B&B
Address: Church Street, Caernarfon LL55 1SW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Victoria House B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria House is a Grade II listed building dating back to 1897. Originally built as part of The North Wales Teacher Training College it was later converted into a hotel. Now rated a 5 star B&B by the Wales Tourist Board it is centrally located in a quiet street within a few minutes walk of the town centre. Backing onto the castle walls, promenade & medieval bath tower, it offers 4 comfortable & elegantly furnished double en suite rooms & a large, airy lounge with French doors to court yard. Breakfast is served in a classic Victorian room with original wooden floorboards & oak dining furniture. 5 star food hygiene rating. TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2012. Featured in Lonely Planet Magazine 2011 "Britain's best places to stay". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Victoria House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria House B&B Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing