We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place we've stayed In so far.”
Review of Victoria House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Victoria House B&B
Ranked #1 of 21 Caernarfon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My hubby and I stayed here for a weekend in May . everything about Victoria House is First class.The rooms are absolutely fabulous and immaculately clean.The breakfast was lovely and plentiful.The lounge is lovely and there are free snacks and biscuits on offer as well as complimentary wine and beer in the fridge. Jan is a lovely warm person who can't do enough for you and went out to collect our chinese takeaway and even brought it up to our room on a tray.We will be back again next year and we would recommend Victoria House to anyone who wants somewhere lovely to stay.Everything is of top quality here and it's worth every penny. Thank you Jan and your mum for our wonderful stay with you.
lots of love.
Anne and Rob.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful but the room at the front facing the street is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 474 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

Quite easily the best B&B we have stayed in in Wales. Centrally located in Caernarfon in a beautiful street adjacent to the city walls the houses look like period mews houses but are much bigger inside. Our room is large even with the en-suite with views over the city walls and a tower. There is a downstairs lounge with doors to the courtyard garden and stairs up to the city wall where there is a private verandah and deck chairs for guests to relax and gaze over the bay and watch the sun go down. Absolutely stunning! Words cannot describe how great this is. The patron is wonderful. Very happy and smiley, made us tea and welsh cakes upon arrival and even offered to do our washing rather than direct us to a launderette which was what we asked for. Complimentary nibbles, crisps, alcoholic drinks (in a fridge), tea and coffee in the lounge. Room has tea and coffee making facilities with biscuits and a small fridge with a jug of fresh milk. Breakfast was delicious - cooked, cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt, cold meats and breads.
Highly recommend this b&b. However when we went for a walk into town we noticed in an estate agents window that the house and business is for sale. The owner when we stayed was Jan.

Room Tip: Room 2 has views over the back garden , castle walls and tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wildlife_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a night as a stopover between Dublin and Betws-y-Coed. We got in super late but Jan was ready and got us all settled in with a warm welcome and recommendations on a late snack since we'd missed our dinner (she offered to make us something but we felt really bad about being so late and didn't want to take advantage). The room we had was just amazing, so roomy and comfortable - and the bed was where I had the best night of sleep all trip! Both of us wished we'd booked more time here! The breakfast in the morning was also wonderful and cooked to order. We will definitely be stopping in again if we make it back over for another visit from the US.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My husband & I stayed for four nights in June 2014 & it was a pleasure to stay here. Jan & the team are lovely & the b&b is spotlessly clean & the room was spacious & of a very high standard. Whilst a bit worried about the parking, this wasn't an issue as Jan was very informative on best places to park & also where to eat (got to say best breakfast we had whilst travelling around Wales)! We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this b&b & will definitely stay here again when in North Wales. Best wishes Bill & Wendy.x

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5 but they all looked v good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lillymae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The hospitality and ambience were first rate. My deepest appreciation goes to Jan and her team. The property itself provided a spacious, en suite room and an excellent breakfast. Special feature: a short crossing of a patio and one climbs stairs to the castle parapets. Some back fence. Like so many others, I look forward to staying there again and have recommended it most highly. Thank you, Jan, for making our stay special. Dennis

P.S. I got carried away with the particulars: there is no swimming pool. db

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbowentraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My wife and I stayed in this B&B in June 2014. We booked via booking.com and stayed for the one evening (on a Friday) as a relative of mine was to be married in a nearby country hotel.

On arrival, we were greeted by the Landlady (Jan) who welcomed us with open arms and a drink of our choice. My wife and I have been lucky enough to travel all around the world in recent years and have stayed in some extravagant hotels. But I can honestly say that the level of service and hospitality from Jan is by the far the best we have encountered.

The hotel is very much of an olde-worlde type, spotlessly clean, high in comfort and convenience. Attention to detail is very much part of the set up and it is obvious that Jan takes great pride in her establishment and she clearly has great deal to be proud of.

Location was excellent and is seconds away from the castle, Town centre and only 50 yards away from the sea view.

Room was very comfortable and clean and included all we could possibly need such as, toiletries, tea & coffee making facilities etc along with nice little touches and treats such as chocolates, crisps, bottles of water. Even if you forget your tooth paste, don’t worry, Jan is already one step ahead of you and this is available in your room as well as deodorant, shoe polish etc....etc..

If you are looking for sightseeing or dining out ideas, Jan is also very much available to help.
Breakfast was a very pleasurable experience. A cooked breakfast was available to order from the menu as well as a help yourself continental option which included whatever you could think of. Juices, yogurts, pastries, welsh cakes, Bara Brith (Welsh Fruit loaf) breads, cheeses, cold meats, cereals and fruit.

If you plan to visit the area and are looking for a B&B or hotel, then look no further. I promise you, you will not be disappointed.
Danny & Mouna
X

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajabanaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

What a fantastic B+B this is....Our friends had stayed there on a trip last year and highly recommended it to us. Now we know why!

Jan was the perfect host. We drove into town sans GPS and could not locate her place...so she walked over to the local pub that we had stopped near in our rental car, and got into the car and directed us to the B+B personally!!

The rooms were posh with fluffy white towels, modern shower, and comfortable plush bedding. Jan even provided terry robes and slippers for guests to use...

The breakfast was simply the best we had on our 2 week travels through Wales and Ireland....Made to order from a menu, and custom orders were accepted as well.

VERY highly recommend this B+B. The location is phenomenal, and Jan even recommended a place to drop off our laundry to be washed while we went sight-seeing!

We were there May 21-24 of 2014. We only wished we could have stayed longer...

Room Tip: If stairs are an issue, ask for a room on the 2nd floor [or "first floor" in the UK]...onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.1 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,327 reviews
0.2 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,041 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
396 reviews
2.3 mi away
Plas Dinas Country House
Plas Dinas Country House
#1 of 1 in Bontnewydd
605 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ty Dre Town House
Ty Dre Town House
#6 of 21 in Caernarfon
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria House B&B

Address: 13 Church Street, Caernarfon LL55 1SW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Caernarfon
Price Range: £79 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Victoria House B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria House is a Grade II listed building dating back to 1897. Originally built as part of The North Wales Teacher Training College it was later converted into a hotel. Now rated a 5 star B&B by the Wales Tourist Board it is centrally located in a quiet street within a few minutes walk of the town centre. Backing onto the castle walls, promenade & medieval bath tower, it offers 4 comfortable & elegantly furnished double en suite rooms & a large, airy lounge with French doors to court yard. Breakfast is served in a classic Victorian room with original wooden floorboards & oak dining furniture. 5 star food hygiene rating. TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2012. Featured in Lonely Planet Magazine 2011 "Britain's best places to stay". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Victoria House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria House B&B Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing