We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st Class B&B. Excellent Accommodation and Service”
Review of Victoria House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Victoria House B&B
Ranked #1 of 21 Caernarfon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
wrexham
1 review
“1st Class B&B. Excellent Accommodation and Service”
Reviewed 8 February 2009

I have been staying at the Victoria House B&B for over 4 years now. In that time i have got to know Jan well. The service is always first class, friendly,and nothing is ever too much trouble.
The rooms are large, with double beds, en-suite facilities,fridges with tea, coffee and alcoholic courtesy drinks. LCD Televisions and all within a stones throw from the town centre.
The cooked breakfast is superb and provided at a time convienient to yourself.
I use the Victoria House for business and also for pleasure breaks with my family - two children.
A fantastic base for viewing the sights and sounds of North Wales.

  • Liked — Quality and friendly
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ianbinnington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
320
27
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portstewart Northern Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2009

Probably the best Bed and Breakfast accommodation that my wife and I have ever visited. Jan and her Mum are very helpful and considerate and the facilities are second to none. (Fresh flowers, chocolate in the room, fresh milk and bottles of water in the mini fridge, great range of toiletries in the bathroom etc.) Lovely breakfast. I would recommend this guest house to anyone.

Stayed February 2009
Helpful?
Thank horslips1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.Wales
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2008

Stayed at the Victoria House last night and just had to write something about it. This is by far the best B&B we have stayed in. It is family run and this shows as soon as you walk through the door with a warm welcolme. The rooms are very large and the beds are very comfortable. The bathroom was large and as well as complimentary soap and shampoo there were dressing gowns, slippers and even a toothbrush should you have forgotton your own. I can't praise this place enough and I can honestly say that if you book you will not be dissapointed should you stay there. We will be booking again early summer.

  • Liked — Comfort and warm welcolm
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nwpaou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wrexham
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2008

This is one of the best B & B we have ever stayed in. Warm friendly reception on arrival. Very large comfortable bedroom with bathroom larger than some bedrooms we have stayed in.
The extras provided, such as bathrobes, slippers, sky tv, welcome drinks etc etc were absolutely first class, even some top class hotels dont provide as much as this b & b.
Breakfast was cooked fresh, was hot and excellent.
Would most certainly recommend this to anyone wanting to stay in Caernarfon and look forward to our next visit, wouldnt stop anywhere else in Caernarfon now.
Congratulations to Jan and her staff for a lovely weekend.

  • Liked — the spacious room and all the extras
  • Disliked — no car park, but arking in street and nearlby
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tomWrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2008

This was a real gem of a place. We have stayed in many B&B's in our life but this goes down in history as one of the best! The room we had was massive, with lovely Victorian features (fireplace etc). The bathroom was the size of a large single bedroom! The whole place was in very good decorative order, as well as very clean, and it is obvious that the owner puts in a lot of effort to keep it nice. We loved the breakfast, how often do you get a menu and table service in a B&B!! Here are some examples of what was on offer: Smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, fruit salad, full english (including vegitarian options), boiled eggs, toast, hot oats with syrup +++. This place had all the little extras that you do not expect from a B&B; wine glasses & bottle opener, complimentary beer and water, freash milk in your own little fridge, complimentary toiletries, DVD's and DVD player. We cannot fault this little place. At £60 per night it is well worth the money and we would highly recommend it!

  • Liked — The little extra
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TB_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JVH8, Owner at Victoria House B&B, responded to this review, 25 September 2008
Would just like to thank you so much for your kind review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Best regards, Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, Wales, UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2008

Nestled within the historic town walls amongst a handful of B&B's is the Victoria House. We stayed there for an evening during May '08. A truly excellent stay, the room was large, had a number of original Victorian features (fireplace & plaster ceiling moldings). There was real milk in the fridge rather than the horrid plastic containers favoured by chain hotels and the bed was very comfortable. There was a good sized flat screen tv with freeview and a dvd player in the room. It's pretty central for Caernarfon, two minutes to the Castle in one direction and two minutes to the more gi-gi developed harbour in the other. Excellent cooked breakfast, huge choice of food (the menu noted that food was organic and sourced locally where possible). Really excellent find, would stay here without hesitation again.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Idunsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JVH8, owner at Victoria House B&B, responded to this review, 25 September 2008
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience of Victoria House.
So glad you enjoyed your stay.
With kind regards, Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.1 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,283 reviews
0.2 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,010 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
743 reviews
15.5 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
385 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Port Dinorwic
Hotel Port Dinorwic
#1 of 1 in Y Felinheli
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria House B&B

Property: Victoria House B&B
Address: 13 Church Street, Caernarfon LL55 1SW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Victoria House B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria House is a Grade II listed building dating back to 1897. Originally built as part of The North Wales Teacher Training College it was later converted into a hotel. Now rated a 5 star B&B by the Wales Tourist Board it is centrally located in a quiet street within a few minutes walk of the town centre. Backing onto the castle walls, promenade & medieval bath tower, it offers 4 comfortable & elegantly furnished double en suite rooms & a large, airy lounge with French doors to court yard. Breakfast is served in a classic Victorian room with original wooden floorboards & oak dining furniture. 5 star food hygiene rating. TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2012. Featured in Lonely Planet Magazine 2011 "Britain's best places to stay". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Victoria House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria House B&B Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing