We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not have asked for a better place to stay...forget the 4/5 star hotels”
Review of Victoria House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Victoria House B&B
Ranked #1 of 21 Caernarfon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2009

Stayed one night on business trip and one of the best overnight stays ever...having travelled for twenty seven years I have stayed in many many hotels.All as described with excellent clean rooms all with the fantastic extra touches described by other guests.Really friendly and warm couple who make you feel part of the family having crossed the door threshold.Must be up for BB/Guest House of the Decade.Will definately stay again when next in Wales.Gorgeous building painfully restored in a fantastic location run by a lovely couple,Thanks for the welcome

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thiswilldofine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

444 - 450 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2009

21 reviews so far and all 5 star. Just out of devilment I thought I might be the first person to find fault. But no chance! We have stayed in loads of B and Bs all over at the same sort of price but this is outstanding. The extras are phenomenal and where else have we ever received a jug of fresh milk in the fridge rather than those awful plastic cartons. Brilliant.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dixiedean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2009

I read the reviews on here and cancelled a booking at another hotel once I have received an E-mail from Jan to say that they had availablity for the evening that I had planned to stay in the area (so that I could go to Snowdon the following morning - superb location and base for this).

The E-mail suggested that they had two available rooms, one very large and one with sea views, I took the sea view room for the very good value price of £65. The booking was siomply taken by my name over the phone, no card details e.t.c. very easy, very personal.

When we were met by Jan on the evning she showed us to our room, gave us a glass of wine each and recommendated where to eat and what to do, we also had access to a cupboard full of varied new and old movie DVDs including one about the town, we took advantage of these. The view from the window overlooked the menai straits to anglesey and was very nice when the sun went down, only slightly obscured by a portion of medievel walls

The restuarant we visited lacked somewhat in service and not really the finest food in the world but decent-ish pub grub - The black boy inn. The locals (apart from the usual scallyish towny young sort of a similar age to me (20-30) we very welcoming and it wa sgreat to hear the welsh voice being spoken as a main language. By speak a few welsh pleasantries yourself, you really open the door.

The following morning we woke fairly late to be given any possible option of breaky, i specified particular cooked breakfast bits whilst my girlfriend just wanted poached eggs. Both were freshly cooked and well cooked, only let down slightly back lack of brown bread, and marg instead of butter on the table. The home made preserves were a nice touch, as was the classical music, the newspapers and homely yet very clean feel.

Thanks Jan, I would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tsinamuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JVH8, owner at Victoria House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2009

Many thanks for your review and kind comments.
Apologies for the lack of brown bread at the
time of your visit, I usually keep on top of stock
but on this occasion fell short. I've noted your
comments on preference of butter, as oppossed
to low fat spread & now offer guests the option
of welsh butter. As always, it's the little things that make the difference. Once again, many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us.

With kind regards,

Jan & team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

This is a lovely little hotel tucked under the town walls, and the top room even has a view of the sea. It's far enough away from the pubs to be quiet at night (yes Caernarfon does have a night life!), but close enough to be only a 5 minute walk to pubs and restaurants and to the castle.

The proprieter Jan is friendly and welcoming, and there are so many nice touches it was better equipped than many so called 4 and 5 star places. For £65 a night I certainly didn't expect a bath robe, moisturiser, shaving kit, trouser press, DVD player and a selection of DVDs, hairdryer, shoe cleaning kit and a mini fridge in the room with free bottled water, orange juice, fresh milk and even beer, but that's what we found.

Breakfast was lovely - cooked to order so not speedy, but that's what you'd expect for good fresh food. The rooms aren't huge but they're plenty big enough and they're done out very nicely. Our bathroom a bit cramped but that's being really picky (we had a shower room, but our friends had a whirlpool bath in the slightly more expensive rooms). Jan lent us her laptop to look up the weather forecast but I believe there's WiFi if you've brought your own. Parking in the street outside is limited and very tight, but we managed to find spaces (for 2 cars) even on a Bank Holiday weekend.

We won't look anywhere else next time we want to stay in the Caernarfon area. Can't recommend it enough.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
Thank Joala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2009

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at Victoria House. We were met by Betty (Jan's mother), who gave showed us to our room, and settled us in. The room was very roomy and comfortable, with every little detail taken care of. There was a mini fridge with fresh milk available to us, the bathroom was well stocked. Breakfast was great and the selection was extensive. We will be telling our friends and family about this little gem, should they be travelling to Northern Wales.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gh170459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2009

My husband and I were cycling through Wales for 8 days and this was one of two outstanding bed and breakfasts that we stayed in during that time. Jan and her mother Betty are both extremely warm and welcoming people and yet they run a superbly well organised bed and breakfast in which absolutely every detail has been considered. The bedroom was large, light and comfortable with a beautifully refurbished bathroom en suite. So many touches indicated their thoughtfulness towards their guests. For example excellent lighting; a fresh jug of milk in the little fridge in our room and plenty of teabags; two wine glasses and an opener; shampoos etc in the bathroom. At the same time the rooms weren't cluttered; just very attractive and absolutely spotless. The breakfast room was lovely too - again very light and airy with plenty of space between the tables. The food itself was delicious accompanied by freshly brewed coffee and once again Jan and Betty provided all the thoughtful touches which made it an exceptional experience - newspapers to look at if you wanted to and classical music in the background at just the right volume. Jan and Betty clearly work incredibly hard to provide all this and all I can say is that they have achieved something very special indeed with their efforts at Victoria House. Value for money second to none and basically a privilege to stay there.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank SueWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2009

Considering recession, touring round North Wales, thought there would be no problem finding accommodation. Everywhere fully booked, including the usual Premier Inn & Travel Lodge where you are almost guaranteed to get a room! Driving round the guest house areas late in the evening, happened upon this absolute gem! Waited outside in the rain in the car whilst the wife went in to see if they had a vacancy in this 4 star guest house - thank goodness they had a room available ! Given the option of seeing the room first - but just wanted a room! And what a room! Room 3 at the front - larger than our bedroom at home, with huge en-suite including jacuzzi bath! Set in quiet street (bit tight for parking) stones throw from the Castle - Beautiful breakfast and wanted to stay for a second night but unfortunately they were fully booked! Very hospitable and very helpful owner. This is EXACTLY what a guest house should be like and if more were like it, this counrty would have a better tourist industry!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestcountryWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caernarfon hotels
0.1 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,364 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
4.8 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#3 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,075 reviews
2.2 mi away
Plas Dinas Country House
Plas Dinas Country House
#1 of 1 in Bontnewydd
624 reviews
0 mi away
Caer Menai Guest House / Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria House B&B

Address: 13 Church Street, Caernarfon LL55 1SW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Caernarfon
Price Range: £76 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Victoria House B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria House is a Grade II listed building dating back to 1897. Originally built as part of The North Wales Teacher Training College it was later converted into a hotel. Now rated a 5 star B&B by the Wales Tourist Board it is centrally located in a quiet street within a few minutes walk of the town centre. Backing onto the castle walls, promenade & medieval bath tower, it offers 4 comfortable & elegantly furnished double en suite rooms & a large, airy lounge with French doors to court yard. Breakfast is served in a classic Victorian room with original wooden floorboards & oak dining furniture. 5 star food hygiene rating. TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2012. Featured in Lonely Planet Magazine 2011 "Britain's best places to stay". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Victoria House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria House B&B Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing