We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Victoria House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Victoria House B&B
Ranked #1 of 22 Caernarfon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2011

We were attending a wedding a couple of miles away from Caernafon and upon our arrival a taxi to the venue was organised for us, for the next morning. Jan and her daughter were very welcoming, helpful and attentive. The room was lovely, clean and comfortable. We had a sea view and a good breakfast each morning. Our stay was very relaxing and I would definately stay at Victoria House again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianecarolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
301
25
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2011

Arrived on Saturday night after a long journey.Our bedrooms were lovely. They had eveything that you needed.The staff were really nice especially Jan and Betty who made you feel at home.There is a nice lounge for the guests were you can sit and just relax and look out at the pretty walled courtyard. The breakfast was really good. We were all full afterwards. Next time we come to Caernarfon we will definately book again at Victoria House.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggie191277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JVH8, Owner at Victoria House B&B, responded to this review, 19 January 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Victoria House; we are pleased to hear you
had a relaxing break & enjoyed the new guest lounge & garden. We look forward to being of service again some time in the future.

With best regards,

Yours sincerely,

Jan & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

Had a bit of a nightmare finding it as sat nav kept trying to send us the wrong way round the one way system but it was worth the wait. We had big room at the back and really liked the proper toiletries, big bag of coffee, jug of milk and jug of orange juice. There was a good choice for breakfast – the Welsh Rarebit which was great. We didn’t really have a chance to explore Caernarfon as we got arrived late, had to leave early and it was raining a lot but it was very central and close to the castle.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zippy10k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

I stayed here for two nights with my girlfriend in early January. We were greeted with a warm welcome and showen to our room which was on the top floor. It was a large room and had a spa bath (very good after our walk up Mount Snowdon). We couldn't fault the room on cleanliness or comfort. The breafast choice was large and the quality was excellent. The information folder that was in our room was very useful and comprehensive. I thought parking might be an problem as the B&B doesn't have private parking. However Jan provided us with a map of where we could park for free which was very useful and all parking was close by.
All in all we were very impressed and everything we could have wanted and more had been thought of.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tim_meek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston
Level Contributor
77 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

We spent one night here on a quick tour of Northern Wales. This B&B is a couple blocks from the castle and just inside the city walls. Street parking is a bit tight be we got a space quite close. Friendly hosts and good breakfast. Ate very good dinner at Black Boy pub/restaurant a couple blocks away. It was jammed but friendly people made room for us in the pub while we waited for a table in the restaurant, drank our beers, and learned about life in Wales. The castle tour is well worth a couple of hours and the beautiful countryside in Snowdonia is worth a day or more. Check out the slate mining museum.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

This B&B is easy to find, within the walls of Caernarfon & very short walk to the sea, shops & pubs/restaurants. Our room was spacious. The bathroom is very modern. I wouldn't be put off by the people who say the bathrooms are small. If you can shower & come out of the bathroom to dress, you'll be fine. Worked out great for this married couple. In fact, it was nice to have the sink out of the WC so I could be doing my makeup, etc. while hubby showered. Breakfast choices were large & unlimited, cooked to order. I highly recommend staying here as it was nice & no surprises!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustSlip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2010

We stayed here for 1 night on 13/10/10. In spite a bit of renovation work going on, we had a wonderful stay. We wanted bike storage, which they had. We were put in a front upper room which was magnificient. It was very large and warm. After a day cycling the spar bath was absolutely brilliant. Just about everything that you could think of was in the room, down to the finest detail.

Breakfast was served from about 7:30 to 10:00. A much longer period than any places that we have stayed in for years. And it was superb.

Jan and her lovely mother and daughter (team) made us feel very special. They even gave us a conducted tour onto their part of the castle wall.

Their room information folder was full of really good info. They even had lots of menus from local pubs and restuarants. We would definately recommend the Black Boy pub, just round the corner.

Don't hesitate. Just go there.

We will be back, Vic & Ann Court

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vic_court
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caernarfon hotels
0.1 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
0.2 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#3 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
#8 of 8 in Caernarfon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
4.8 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
2.3 mi away
Plas Dinas Country House
Plas Dinas Country House
#1 of 1 in Bontnewydd
5.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria House B&B

Property: Victoria House B&B
Address: Church Street, Caernarfon LL55 1SW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Victoria House B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria House is a Grade II listed building dating back to 1897. Originally built as part of The North Wales Teacher Training College it was later converted into a hotel. Now rated a 5 star B&B by the Wales Tourist Board it is centrally located in a quiet street within a few minutes walk of the town centre. Backing onto the castle walls, promenade & medieval bath tower, it offers 4 comfortable & elegantly furnished double en suite rooms & a large, airy lounge with French doors to court yard. Breakfast is served in a classic Victorian room with original wooden floorboards & oak dining furniture. 5 star food hygiene rating. TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2012. Featured in Lonely Planet Magazine 2011 "Britain's best places to stay". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Victoria House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria House B&B Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing