We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable & friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cartref Guest House
Ranked #5 of 21 Caernarfon B&B and Inns
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable & friendly”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

A lovely location within the Castle walls & just a short stroll to all of the attractions of Caernarfon. A simple and homely room with thoughtful extra touches and a well cooked, tasty breakfast. You couldn't ask for more!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthernChav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    37
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
34
82
27
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed over the Bank Holiday weekend. Room was clean and comfortable, Breakfast was excellent with a good choice. Hosts Roger and Mary very welcoming.Location is in central Caernarfon within walking distance of all the main attractions,including the steam railway.
Throughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akajudithchalmers76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Comfortable place with great hosts - Mary and Roger- with a great location. The room was inviting and had a great bathroom with tub. Truly relaxing. The breakfast was the best we had on our entire 3+ week UK trip. Guests here were international and it fun talking with others at breakfast. We were just inside the city walls - it was quiet and still very convenient. Highly recommend! Thanks for the hospitality! Susan

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Location fantastic. Great Value for money. Clean & Comfortable. Breakfast was delightful. Big choice, smoked salmon & scrambled eggs to die for. If your looking for a great value B&B, look no further.

Room Tip: Room 3 was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2013

It's a great little place for even a solo traveller. Considering a hostel in York or London is up to 30 pounds a night, a few more pounds for a BB is well worth it. At Cartref, you are just a couple hundred metres from Caernarfon castle and the coast, and just around the corner from the bars and restaurants, though Market street itself is quiet and tranquil. A great location for exploring north wales and a base for Snowdonia.

Modern bath and toilet, clean and sparkling. Bedrooms aren't spacious, but not claustrophobic either - you have a dresser and wardrobe, tv and complementary coffee, tea, and biscuits, all done in a light and airy style.

The breakfast is just great. If you ask nicely, Roger might cook you up a Welsh Rare Bit.
Mary was very helpful, she even offered to pick me up in another town if I missed my bus back.

All in all I would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a quiet rest,

M

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naponroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Location is superb, breakfast is excellent, room was a bit on the small side but that was probably because we had booked a budget room. Stairs very narrow so make sure you don't ave too much heavy, bulky luggage!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather0664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

A few minor incidents that were quick to be rectified
Lovely people and a warm friendly atmosphere.
The breakfasts were of high quality and excellently presented.
Mary and Roger made sure we had everything we needed to have a truly enjoyable stay that was way above expectations in every way.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caernarfon hotels
0.0 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,283 reviews
0.2 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,010 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
424 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ty Dre Town House
Ty Dre Town House
#6 of 21 in Caernarfon
86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Victoria House B&B
Victoria House B&B
#1 of 21 in Caernarfon
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cartref Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cartref Guest House

Property: Cartref Guest House
Address: 23 Market Street, Caernarfon LL55 1RT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cartref Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cartref Guesthouse is a lovely Georgian house with a wonderful atmosphere in a location that is steeped in history and convenient for all the town's amnesties and local attractions. Roger and Mary bid their guests a hearty welcome to their home and are happy to provide for all guests needs. Being excellent cooks they provide a 5 course breakfast that is exceptional and for which they use only the best of local food. Their home made vegetarian sausage and potato cake is a great hit with guests and they provide both breakfasts and evening meals for any special diet, all home cooked. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cartref Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cartref Guest House Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing