We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ask for a room on the first floor ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cartref Guest House
Ranked #5 of 21 Caernarfon B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ask for a room on the first floor ”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

This B and B is within the castle walls and looks nice from the outside. There is some parking a street away and it's free. It was easy to find
We booked a small double( which on reflection we should of gone with a large room with an ensuite)
It was very dated and small and the bed was very very small !! The boiler is so noisy and as there is a shared bathroom it seemed to kick in and make very loud noises in the early hours.
The gentleman didn't exactly give us a warm welcome in fact he made us feel a little awkward like we were intruding .
The breakfast on the other hand was great. She made us feel at ease and cooked it to order!! It was fresh and it was tasty. The seemed to have 'favourite' guests and we didn't seem to be them. There parting shot was make sure you give us a good review on trip adviser..... Not how was ur stay etc etc

It wasn't a bad experience but not quite what we expected from the reviews!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jobob109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    37
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
32
81
27
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This great little guest house lies within the old walls of Caernarfon Castle. The hosts are very friendly and the breakfasts are superb with a great menu selection. Walk short distances to many dinner venues and a great pub fronting on the water. Recommend booking directly with the Guest House.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor double room with ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West England
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Location is very central within the city walls. The street it is on is too narrow to be able to stop and off load luggage - so better if you are travelling fairly light.

We stayed in room 3 which is an ensuite double at the front of the house. Very tastefully decorated and large bright bathroom. You are given a front door key so that you can come and go as you like. Breakfast was good and freshly cooked.

Would recommend if you are after a good quality B&B.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annieops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Spent 2 nights at this guesthouse. Had a wonderfully warm welcome from Roger and Mary. Room 3 (an en suite double) in which we stayed could not have been better...clean, bright, spacious and very comfortable. Tea, coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits and bottled water provided in room along with a few small complimentary toiletries.
Breakfast on both mornings (cooked by Mary) was fabulous. Definitely recommend the omelette and smoked salmon scrambled eggs. Unfortunately there was a shortage of certain cutlery and milk and toast seems to be Rogers nemesis. This did NOTHING to detract from a most enjoyable and entertaining stay. For some parking may be an issue but as the guesthouse is within the walls of Caernarfon old town, it's hardly a negative aspect and is mentioned on the website. From our experience we will definitely recommend Cartref to our friends and family.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marple, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Found this guest house on internet booking site and what a good find.
Its set right in the heart on caernarfon only a a couple of mins walk from the castle, restruants, pubs & shops etc.
Its a traditional type of guest house very warm and friendly, the room was tastefully done and very clean. Nice comfy bed and clean modern bathroom,
the breakfast menu was extensive and the service from the owners was great,
we got this room for a £65 that's £30 less than the premier inn and Travelodge were asking add the fact you don't get the breakfast at premier inn & Travelodge the Cartref guest house is a bargain! !
We will definitely be booking again for a short break.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank cloud1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gloucester
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Good location with excellent hosts. Breakfast was very good and they catered for a veggie and coeliac with no problem
We stayed two nights and moved from a twin room , which was a little small to an excellent family room. Our friends had a nice double room and we all agree the beds were so comfortable . The bedding was first class and the towels were nice,soft and very white !!
The whole house was very clean and cared for

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank swarbyhyett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We booked for a single one night stay and on reading reviews had high expectations. We weren't disappointed...we received a warm personal welcome from Mary and Roger. Our room,( we had read that rooms were small ) although not huge, was more than adequate for our requirements - I mean how big do people expect rooms to be?? I imagine the size reflected the size of many welsh houses. The room itself was spotless, a credit to the proprietors and staff. There were numerous personal touches - slippers, bottled water, toiletries to name a few. The bed was extremely comfortable , location incredibly quiet. Free parking literally metres away on the harbour. Breakfast choice was immense, we have stayed in hotels charging over £100 per night, where the breakfast choice was limited and of inferior quality....Roger and Mary even cooked my partner an additional Welsh rarebit as he had never tried it - stuff like that is unique and above and beyond. Mary and Roger are two genuinely lovely people, and they and their business deserve the reviews they receive. A lovely , lovely experience we would definitely repeat.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerrydoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.0 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,002 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Meifod Country House Hotel & Restaurant
3.2 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
738 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ty Dre Town House
Ty Dre Town House
#6 of 21 in Caernarfon
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cartref Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cartref Guest House

Property: Cartref Guest House
Address: 23 Market Street, Caernarfon LL55 1RT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cartref Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cartref Guesthouse is a lovely Georgian house with a wonderful atmosphere in a location that is steeped in history and convenient for all the town's amnesties and local attractions. Roger and Mary bid their guests a hearty welcome to their home and are happy to provide for all guests needs. Being excellent cooks they provide a 5 course breakfast that is exceptional and for which they use only the best of local food. Their home made vegetarian sausage and potato cake is a great hit with guests and they provide both breakfasts and evening meals for any special diet, all home cooked. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Cartref Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cartref Guest House Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing