We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cartref Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cartref Guest House
Ranked #6 of 22 Caernarfon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

The guest house is literally a minute walk from the castle. Perfect location, clean, quiet and nicely decorated rooms, great and attentive hospitality and delicious breakfast. I was really pleased with everything.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boyan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    36
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
32
76
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We had a wonderful stay for two nights at Cartref. Mary was incredibly friendly, helpful, and generous, especially with our 3-year-old - even going so far as to give him the ice-cream she had just bought for herself, because the ice-cream shops had just closed and he was begging us for one. She really went out of her way to make our stay - and our son's stay - as easy and lovely as possible. Two weeks later, our son is still talking about Mary!

The accommodation itself was gorgeous as well, and such a fantastic location, just steps away from Caernarvon castle and a number of great restaurants and cafes. Breakfasts were fantastic too! Very highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dr m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, UK
Level Contributor
154 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

I stayed here for two nights in a family group taking 2 rooms. Things started promisingly enough with a simple check in and getting our room keys. The room looked nice enough, the bathroom was less so. The towel rail was coming off the wall and a shelf above the sink was loose so anything that was put on it rolled off towards you.
The seal between the glass shower guard and the bath wasn't a good fit, something we didn't know about until I took a shower and hearing a loud knock on the door, only to be told we were flooding the kitchen downstairs.
It was a very hot weekend and the room faced the sun in the afternoon so I asked for a fan. They weren't sure if they had one left and ended up taking one from a room at the front of the house. It only has a few rooms, getting a fan for each one would not be too much to ask.
Breakfast comes in 3 sittings as the dining room is small. Up to 6 can eat at each so if you don't get your name down first on the list they keep at the bottom of the stairs you don't eat when you want to. Breakfast was Ok on the first morning. Second day was painfully slow, we were still not finished from the 8.15 sitting when the 9 o'clock guest came in. I had to ask twice for toast after it had been ordered. It eventually came after everyone had finished the other food. It would have been nice to get it first as the cooked food took so long. The dining room is the only room downstairs, there's no other public room available for those groups taking 2 or more rooms to socialise.
There's no parking close by so unless you park in a short stay car park at high rates or short term on road for free, it's a 10 minute walk to a car park that's free and you can leave the car for the duration of your stay.
I booked here on the basis of the rave reviews but there's more to a place than a friendly welcome, which we undoubtedly got. It's well located for the town as well with the castle visible from the front door. However, there's far to much work needed here for me to stay here again or to recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reeveew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mary h, Owner at Cartref Guest House, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Oh! Dear, Dear. What a dissapointing review and I feel, a little less than generous and not helpful for the experience of any future guests..

Mmm. The bathroom. I did point out that the previous guests had loosened the towel rail and apologised as I was waiting for someone to mend it. And, 'Mia culpa' the shelf is loose and was also going to be mended. Things like this happen all the time and we do try to get them mended as soon as we can.

The shower has not leaked in the 7 years it has been installed. The shower door bath seal had been loosened and consequently the showerer, his wife, not him, must have accidentally pushed the door over the edge of the bath. The flood was tremendous so the shower must have been runnning over the side for ages. My kitchen was absolutely flooded to the extent that I had to leave a bucket under it all night. I did not bang on the door, I knocked and told them what was happening.

I was asked at 5.25pm for a fan - we have four for six rooms. I ran to the shop to by a new one but I was too late. I asked a guest who I knew was not using his fan if I could move it. He kindly agreed. We seldom get outstanding weather day after day in the UK, I thought four would do, but I hold my hands up andaccept the comment and I will buy two more.

We do have a cosy dining room but it does not just have a sitting for 6. It has seating for 10. We only take 12 guests! Neither is it 3 sittings, it is a guideline time of 7.30, 8.00, 8.30 and 9.00 so we know when to expect people to arrive for breakfast. We ask people to do this because all our beauitiful food is bought in from local Welsh shops and cooked on request from our varied menu.

There were 5 people in this group and every one had a different breakfast. The breakfast has 5 courses so 3/4 of an hour to order, take tea/coffee, entree's, eat cereal and eat a freshly cooked breakfast is not a long time. As there were 5 people, we wanted to serve them all at the same time so they could eat together and allow them the time to enjoy it.

We like people to enjoy their food without hurray. Incidentally, I also offered them and they accepted home made scotch pancakes after their breakfast. They stayed far longer than 3/4 of an hour in the dining room chatting and playing chess. We didn't disturb them and rush them off. We left them to enjoy their game. Later, two of them had a game again in the dining room and I provided refreshments free of charge.

It is a pity we were not asked about the lounge, which we do have - but we were not. When I came from my living room into the hallway on the first day this reviewer was about to enter my kitchen uninvited. He said he was 'exploring.' I would have assumed he had found the lounge on his exploration.

What particularly dissapoints me about this review is the obvious lack of appreciation from this reviewer for all the good things about Cartref. I hope that any future guests that are considering staying here, or not, will take a balanced view from this review and my response.

We will always try to do our utmost to provide a good experience for our guests and we am sorry that we failed to reach our usual high standards for this group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Mary made us so welcome and couldn't have been more helpful, allowing us to trail our bikes thru her kitchen for safe storage in the back yard. Our room was so comfortable with a bath!
The breakfast was delicious with generous portions.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We based our choice mainly on the previous reviews here and the fact that price was competitive - and were very pleased with it.
Three of us stayed 2 nights in the triple (family) room - beds were comfortable, everything clean, tea & biscuits provided. As many previous visitors mention: breakfast was great with plenty of options to suit everyone, definitely a bonus when having a buys day ahead exploring Wales!
Overall was just a very pleasant stay, would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerls1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalby Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

This guesthouse was a great find as it was hidden away in the walled city of Caernarfon. The rooms were very comfortable and wonderfully quiet, the only sound heard were the seagulls in the evening. Breakfast was fantastic, even our 11 year old found plenty to like.

Room Tip: If travelling by car, park at the wharf as it is free and only a two minute walk from the guesthouse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ampster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is a wonderfully well located B&B just inside the town walls near the castle. The rooms are very comfortable with new bathrooms. Everything is spick and span and every attention has been made to make guests welcome and comfortable. There are some good pubs and restaurants in the adjoining streets and the waterfront is very close with the Victoria Dock,Yacht Marina also just along the road. The town is very atmospheric and easily explored from Market Street.
Breakfast was excellent and all elements were well considered and well cooked. The home-made Vegetarian sausages were very good indeed. The variety of items on the breakfast menu was particularly good. The Florentine Haddock and Eggs Florentine were both excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CountryStroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caernarfon hotels
0.0 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
0.2 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#3 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
#8 of 8 in Caernarfon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.7 mi away
Menai Bank Hotel
Menai Bank Hotel
#6 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ty Dre Town House
Ty Dre Town House
#4 of 22 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cartref Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cartref Guest House

Property: Cartref Guest House
Address: 23 Market Street, Caernarfon LL55 1RT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cartref Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cartref Guesthouse is a lovely Georgian house with a wonderful atmosphere in a location that is steeped in history and convenient for all the town's amnesties and local attractions. Roger and Mary bid their guests a hearty welcome to their home and are happy to provide for all guests needs. Being excellent cooks they provide a 5 course breakfast that is exceptional and for which they use only the best of local food. Their home made vegetarian sausage and potato cake is a great hit with guests and they provide both breakfasts and evening meals for any special diet, all home cooked. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Cartref Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cartref Guest House Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing