We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great, but Laura saved the day.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in late May and first impressions were positive. The lack of car parking was a concern when booking but it soon became apparent that it was not a problem and only a short walk away from the hotel through a residents car park. Check in was efficient and the room looked good. The beds were comfortable - sadly the 'style over substance' bedside lights were useless and cut out every time they were knocked which was very frustrating.

Things started to go wrong on the second day. We left early and called back briefly during the morning only to find the room not made up. Coming back later in the day, the room was in the same state and a closer look revealed that the tea and coffee had been topped up but the bed not made, dirty cups left on the side and the bathroom not cleaned.

Not being overly happy, I asked Laura the receptionist to speak to the duty manager only to find that there wasn't one available for some 4 days. I have to say that Laura was brilliant - she took ownership of the issues and offered to sort the problems out herself; I declined this as this was not her responsibility and also declined the offer of free breakfast. I just wanted the shortfalls noted and was not on a quest for a cheap night stay.

So - 101% to Laura for her handling of the issue; 1% to the manager who eventually rang a couple of days later, leaving an unintelligble message and not bothering to try to reach me again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank verywellfed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (622)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

538 - 544 of 622 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel was a very nice surprise. We stayed there last Saturday 21/06/14. We booked it as a budget hotel and did not really expect much, but it really is a very good value for money. It is situated just minutes from the city centre right next to the marina. Everything around seems to be newly built. Hotel itself is very clean and the rooms are decent size with very comfortable beds. Receptionists were very nice and helpful throughout our stay. It is a bit hidden, so just a bit tricky to find (especially when driving). The hotel doesn't really have its own car park, but there is a free car park right next to it that can be used. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pav Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

we stayed here as part of a brief trip to North Wales and we were very pleased with the location of the hotel and the hotel itself. As other people have mentioned the parking is just to the right of the hotel and a short walk away, but its free for as long as you want to stay. The staff on arrival couldnt have been more helpful - they definately went above and beyond and offered us all sorts of help and advice so well done to them!

We will return to this hotel the next time we are in this part of Wales

Room Tip: There is a Morrisons close by for any purchases you need to make.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adele48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Standard of rooms as one would expect and a good night's sleep to be had - quiet & restful.

Cleaning could have been slightly better although the room was well maintained & the daily check etc was efficient. Toilet area fine but could have been made better with a better quality toilet paper and a fragrance to the cleaning products used - toilet had whiffs of stale urine which refurbishment should have removed.

Only two teabags a bit stingy and no mention of breakfast at the hotel although I had opted to make other arrangements.

Drawback in that it has no on site car parking or drop off point close to hotel. For those with a family and/or many cases can be a drag when first you arrive and have to carry all this to the hotel - takes the gloss off things. Should point out that there are plenty of pay carks nearby plus a free one.

Nevertheless I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights, as my husband was taking part in ETAPE ERYRI, on the 15th June. We had a brilliant time. The staff were very friendly and most helpful ( suggesting that we bring the bike into our room, rather then leave out in the car) . The room was clean, comfortable and all appliances etc were in working order. The location of the travel lodge is fantastic, very close to the wonderful water front and restaurants the shops and beautiful castle. Would recommend.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank C1ark33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The beds were VERY COMFY.I had a great sleep.Clean linen.Telly worked ! Staff helpful and friendly.Disappointed no restaurant but had lovely food in Morrisons over the road (Which was very inexpensive).Would have liked a sea view but got a view of Premier Inn instead (they had food!!!).However, I WOULD use this travel lodge again.Maybe next time we'll have that sea view ! But then you go to Travelodge to sleep so it doesn't really matter.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Carol O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed here to do the (brilliant) l'etape Eryri sportive. The service was absolutely brilliant. The staff really went out of their way to be helpful. Including letting me keep my bike in the room. Definitely recommend it for all future etapers or people visiting caernarfon generally.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyR82014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,065 reviews
8.1 mi away
Travelodge Bangor Wales
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
#8 of 8 in Caernarfon
178 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
443 reviews
15.8 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel

Address: Balaclava Road Victoria Dock, Caernarfon LL55 1SR, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Price Range: £39 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing