We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, tidy, quiet and very helpful hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caernarfon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Plas Gwyn Caravan And Camping Park
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clean, tidy, quiet and very helpful hosts”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We only stayed for 1 night while doing our climb of Snowdon but were very happy with the site.
Pitches are clearly marked and level. Toilets and Showers were clean, well stocked and suitably located. The site was easy to find and the hosts went out of their way to be helpful - for example they recommended us an excellent local pub for our evening meal and they managed to dig out a spare indicator bulb for our caravan when we discovered one of ours had failed before we left.
Would definitely stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaveRussellUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Clean, welcoming, peaceful and a lovely location for touring the Snowdonia National Park. The site caters for touring caravans, tents, B & B and even had some wooden tents for the glampers. Even with all those options, the excellent layout and landscaping makes you feel as if you are on a smaller site. Couldn't ask for a better place for a 4 night mini break. We would definitely return.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank kd592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We have just returned from 3 nights in a timbertent at Plas Gwyn. It was a wonderful experience. Everything was excellent and clean from the toilets and showers to the accomodation. We enjoyed it so much we will be returning later in the year. We are looking forward to this very much.




























We have just returned from 3 nights in a timbertent at Plas Gwyn. It was a wonderful experience. The staff were very helpful and all the facilities were great. Everything was clean from the toilets and showers to the accomodation. We will be returning again during the year and look forward to it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

When we stayed at this campsite it seemed OK at the time when we first visited years ago. The last time we stayed last year we were told our pitch was next to the toilets and the bins. The bins were often left open and they stunk. The tap outside the toilet for drinking water was often left running and the area around was like a swamp. The pitch was too small also.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Southern_Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

What an amazing place! We went up as a family, driving form Tenby as our youngest daughter was singing in the school choir. The drive up itself on the coast road was lovely, but the B & B was absolutely fantastic! The welcome we had was so heart warming. What lovely people. They had tea and scones on the front when we arrived and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were spotless and comfy beds. Breakfast was very filling and the scrambled eggs are to die for! If we went again, we'd stay there. Thank you for making our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: I clicked on swimming pool inadvertently. All the rest is correct. All rooms are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I have been to this site for many years now. I usually do camping but for the first time this year we hired on of their static caravans. The site is absolutely spotless the owners and their family cannot be more friendly and helpful. The facilities are very good and clean. I would highly recommend hiring one of the statics they have everything in you would want and warm and very clean with full size fridge freezers and cooker. They have tele's dvd player as well. If you are wanting to explore this part of Wales you could not find a nicer place to stop, it is within easy reach of most of the regions attractions and very close to Caernarfon without being in a town setting. Try it you wont be disappointed

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

The facilities at this campsite are excellent, the whole site is extremely clean and well kept. It is great when you want a pretty quiet place to stay after a long walk up Snowdon. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. We stayed in a tent on the camping ground which is by the entrance, but its not noisy because of that at all ad it has great views.You are allowed barbeques as long as they are off the ground and no fires, which is fair enough as it would scar the ground.
You need some 10p coins if you want to use the hairdryers and the ladies shower on the right is better than on the left (bigger shower head). We are definately going to stay at this site again, its great!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.6 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
2.7 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#3 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
1.4 mi away
Brynteg Holiday Home Park
3.7 mi away
Plas Dinas Country House
Plas Dinas Country House
#1 of 1 in Bontnewydd
5.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Gwyn Caravan And Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Gwyn Caravan And Camping Park

Property: Plas Gwyn Caravan And Camping Park
Address: Llanberis Road | Llanrug, Caernarfon LL55 2AQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Caernarfon
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet family run park within the grounds of Plas Gwyn House, surrounded by the mountains and lakes of Snowdonia. The many splendid beaches of Anglesey & the Llyn Peninsula are within easy reach. Buses to Caernarfon & Llanberis can be caught from the end of the drive. Separate areas for static holiday caravans, touring units and camping. Hard standings and serviced pitches are also available. Park facilities are complemented by a small shop, dishwashing area, laundry/tourist information, toilet and shower block. Our Timber Tents offer a warm and dry alternative to camping and for those who prefer greater comfort we also offer Bed & Breakfast in the House ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Plas Gwyn Caravan And Camping Park Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing