We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect place to stay. Very highly recommended”
Review of Tyddyn Perthi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tyddyn Perthi
Ranked #8 of 21 Caernarfon B&B and Inns
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A perfect place to stay. Very highly recommended”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

When we arrived, the welcome we received from Micheal and Janice Jones was second to none, fresh homemade Welsh cakes and a pot of tea, really appreciated after our journey to Tyddyn Perthi. The address is a little deceiving because it is only about a mile away from Llanberis and the start of the pathway up to the top of Snowdon, our reason for travelling to the area. Our room was lovely and spotlessly clean and the bathroom had a separate shower and a roll top bath. We asked about the best places for an evening meal and Mr Jones recommended a local pub, which was good. However, the breakfasts at Tyddyn Perthi were amazing, there was so much variety and a full English breakfast filled a large plate!! My partner has a very healthy appetite and he had to admit he was very full after finishing one of Mrs Jones's breakfasts. There was also homemade marmalade on the tables which was delicious.
We cannot fault one single aspect of our stay and a long soak in the roll top bath was the perfect way to relax after walking up and down Snowdon. The Jones's are a lovely friendly couple and they should be very proud of their bed and breakfast/farm stay accommodation. Lastly, the Welsh cakes were so delicious, I asked for the recipe and when I make them it will remind me of our stay at Tyddyn Perthi.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I took my 6 year for her first holiday last week. We stayed at Tyddyn Perthi for 2 nights, we loved it that much that my daughter wanted to stay with Mrs Jones! I cannot recommend Tyddyn Perthi and Mr & Mrs Jones enough, the welcome was fantastic, the room and all the extras were unbelievable, and the food, well there's not enough words to describe how fantastic it is. We will definitely be returning - a huge thank you to Mr & Mrs Jones for a fantastic mini holiday.

Room Tip: There are 2 rooms to choose, 1 double and 1 twin, both are absolutely fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cath d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
269 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Wonderful welcome from Mr and Mrs Jones who went out of their way to make us feel at home and comfortable. We actually stayed in the self-catering Perthi Uchaf (sleeps 6) in Penisarwaun, just down the road from the Tyddyn Perthi Farm where there is bed and breakfast. Perthi Uchaf was well situated from our point of view as we have family living in the village, so ideal. The house is well appointed, warm and clean. Ideal for visiting Snowden and the area around Caernarfon. We were also shown the other accommodation that they have available and will be returning. The surrounding countryside is lovely and it is quiet, just cows and sheep! While there is a local bus, this is an area where one needs a car.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eangelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Fantastic short stay in ideal accomodation. A warmer friendlier couple you would struggle to find as your hosts. We had spent our 1st night in a very average hotel, not ideal prep for taking on Snowdon! But once installed at Tyddyn Perthi everything was alright with the world.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coleman59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
146 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Michael raises prize Welch Black cattle (look for the photo of Michael with Prince Charles on the occasion of him winning the prize for the best cow in Wales hiding behind the dining room door) while Janis maintains an excellent B&B and prepares superb breakfasts. She also makes her own jams and serves honey from her beehive.
The farm is a very short drive from either Llanberis or Llanrug so a great location for exploring Snowdonia. Janis recommended the Glyntwrog Pub in Llanrug for dinner and it was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lasl0nimne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2010

The location was a little further away from Llanberris than I would have liked. However this was more than made up by the lovely welcome we recieved. Very friendly, great room, and wonderfull bathroom. Great choice for breakfast and perfect service. We couldnt have asked for more.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank studynut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2010

What a wonderful place to spend our first two nights in Wales. Janice and her husband were lovely, welcoming us with tea and bara brith and conversation. The ground floor bedroom was very comfortable and the bathroom was luxurious. Breakfast both mornings was delicious. Our only difficulty was deciding which of the many options to choose - what a wide selection of tempting items! We were sorry to leave.

The surrounding scenery was breathtaking. Located near Llanberis and Penisarwaun, it is in a perfect location for exploring the northwest of Wales.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
5.2 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
5.1 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#3 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Menai Bank Hotel
Menai Bank Hotel
#7 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
5.3 mi away
Ty Dre Town House
Ty Dre Town House
#4 of 21 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tyddyn Perthi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyddyn Perthi

Property: Tyddyn Perthi
Address: Penisarwaun, Caernarfon LL55 3BY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Tyddyn Perthi 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Tyddyn Perthi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyddyn Perthi Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing