We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality food”

Fu's Cantonese Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 107 Restaurants in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
South East England
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Quality food”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We visited on a busy Saturday night and others have mentioned the noise, it is a very open restaurant and quite large so not unexpected. We just took a chance as we were staying in the Premier Inn nearby, they found us a table despite being fully booked and proceeded to produce top quality food, a little pricey but definitely worth it. I have Eastern Chinese/ Cantonese food before but never had any of this quality. There were one or two kids allowed by disinterested parents to run up and down, ( parents please keep your kids under control!!) but it didn't spoil the meal. I would eat there again for sure

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank fluffyskulls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    114
    55
    43
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Anglesey
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Waste of money!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

8 of us went to fu's last night, it looked lovely outside and inside it was very clean and the decor was really nice..however this could not be said about the food!
I asked what Kung po chicken was and was told it was quite spicy.. However when this came it had no spice at all, the waiter changed it with no problem at all, but when the new one came it was spicy but the chicken was absolutely disgusting! My father could not eat his chicken fried rice, again the chicken was vile, and it smelt funny... The beef was also very chewy, the duck was fatty and overall the whole meal was absolutely appalling .. I would advise anyone thinking of going to fu's to not bother.. Our bill came to £153.00 and 70% of the food was still on the table as we left! Also ye menu is quite poor, no BBQ sauce no gravy no salt and pepper chips.. It was just a total disappointment and goes to show it doesn't mean it's good food just because somewhere looks good

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicdav1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Reliably good food”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Quirky decor in a great location, not your average Chinese restaurant.
Can be noisy as others have said but this is due to the lack of soft furnishing to absorb noise, it's like being in the indoor swimming pool when it's full of children! Also if you sit near to the kitchen door the wok firing up is also very noisy.
That said, we've eaten there several times & will definately be going back so it's not a big problem :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Location on the marina is good, pity about the food quality”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Fu's on the marina in Caernarfon is a really good looking out across the Menai straights to Anglesey & next to the Welsh gift shop / coffee shop. We dined here early one evening whilst taking another break at the Wales retreat, we called early to make a booking before heading off, the voice machine replied call back after 4pm. The food was bland & rather uninspiring, the staff generally where okay without being over the top. This restaurant has lots of potential they just need to get their act together with the food quality. A couple weeks pervious we where heading back from Beddgelert over the hills through a little place called Penygroe and stopped off at a Chinese takeaway "Happy Valley" Fu's should take a leaf out of their books or employ the staff.
Fu's just okay! Or get excited about! Regards GCD

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abersoch, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“always good always friendly”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Don't know why I haven't reviewed Fu's before- what ever time you call there is a friendly welcome even after 10pm this week.

Mixture of local and Fu's own chinese staff.

Food is good and excellent value.

Drinks good prices- so one of my expert friends commented.

My favourite is Fu's Special Chow Mein alway good spot on!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fu's Cantonese Restaurant also viewed

 
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
 

Been to Fu's Cantonese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing