We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very expensive” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Black Boy Inn

The Black Boy Inn
Ranked #6 of 103 Restaurants in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$24
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Black Boy Inn is a listed building which is situated in the historic town walls of the Royal Borough of Caernarfon. The Inn is within easy walking distance to the town centre, and the famous 13th-century Castle. An old Inn dating back to 1522 and with its wooden paneling, low ceilings, and thick wooden support beams generates a cosy 'Olde Worlde' Welsh atmosphere. The Black Boy is a very busy Inn; please do not expect it to be a slow laid back hotel. It is in the centre of the tourist hub of North Wales and long wait times can be norm in middle of summer. Come and visit us in the winter season for a more laid back feeling.We now also have Black Jacks, which is another renovated building in courtyard, at rear of Inn .Black Jacks is away from the hustle of the main Inn . All suites have small kitchen area.No lift in building.Some Ground floor rooms are easy access with walk in showers , 1st floor variety of rooms as is 2nd floor.we offer 24 hour staff attendance. When you stay in any country you must wish to stay in somewhere that reflects that country ,we certainly do majority of our staff are welsh speaking and so are the owners .Meal TimesSunday to Thursday: Noon until 9.00p.m. Friday and Saturday. Noon until 9.30p.m.Table reservations can be made via reception up to 6.30p.m. Table allocation after 6.30.pm. will be made on availability. Waiting times can vary and an indication of any delay will be conveyed to you. To arrange a table reservation (up to 6.30p.m.)
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Very expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Called in for a drink after Caenafon Castle( which is well worth a visit) Two small glasses of wine, two pints of bitter & two fruit shoots...£19.60.London yes...not here.Place looked lovely though!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank giskard2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at The Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you for your review of which we take note . From our point of view we are dearer than the rest , but we hope we provide the quality and indeed place a large proportion of our yearly profits aside to reinvest in the Inn.As a company decision this seems to be the correct one as over the years the Inn keeps on getting busier year on year.Please come back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,011 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,190
    558
    151
    75
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield
Level Contributor
119 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Interesting menu - the seafood chowder that I ordered was exceptional and the price was reasonable. Breakfast the following morning was good and made even better by the friendly staff.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JackandWillsMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at The Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you so much please come back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
130 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Visited for an early evening meal and were lucky to score a table, booking would be a good idea to ensure a place later in the evening. The food was very good with big servings and my wife loved her scallops and my steak was very good, cooked as I like it - medium rare. The coffee was also very good. The only negative point was that the staff were still getting used to the electronic ordering system and in my case offered an option of sweet potatoe chips which were very nice but this ended up adding an extra GBP1.50 that was not noted on the menu and it was offered by the waitress as an alternative to normal potato chips. This didn't really worry me but it could be an expensive trap depending on what you choose.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ColinLSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at The Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for the review ,so glad you enjoyed your meal at the Inn . You are correct in regard to learning the electronic point of sale by staff . We employee a large number of students in the summer who have to be taught very quickly ready for the summer .Hope this does not put you off coming back as they learn very quickly usually.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huyton merseyside
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

lovely old building.and again good food and friendly service, I got menia straight mussels for main meal and they were delicious and such a big portion with a big piece of freshly baked bread to dip in the creamy sauce.would advise phoning to book a table before you go.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank molato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at The Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for the review , we only accept a certain amount of bookings at the Inn and then only up to 6.30pm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Bit of awreet!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Went here for Sunday lunch, after checking tripadvisor first. Seems to be no. 1 restaurant at this price range. I had the lamb dinner... Superb! and I especially liked the gravy which I think had a hint of ale and treacle. Yum!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank erny_milosevic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at The Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
The gravy is always commented on and a firm favorite here. Thank you for the review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Black Boy Inn also viewed

Caernarfon, Gwynedd
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
 
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
 
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
 

Been to The Black Boy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing