We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dripping With Atmosphere, and the Food Is Inexpensive”
Review of The Black Boy Inn

The Black Boy Inn
Ranked #8 of 108 Restaurants in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$27
Cuisines: International, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Black Boy Inn is a listed building which is situated in the historic town walls of the Royal Borough of Caernarfon. The Inn is within easy walking distance to the town centre, and the famous 13th-century Castle. An old Inn dating back to 1522 and with its wooden paneling, low ceilings, and thick wooden support beams generates a cosy 'Olde Worlde' Welsh atmosphere. The Black Boy is a very busy Inn; please do not expect it to be a slow laid back hotel. It is in the centre of the tourist hub of North Wales and long wait times can be norm in middle of summer. Come and visit us in the winter season for a more laid back feeling.We now also have Black Jacks, which is another renovated building in courtyard, at rear of Inn .Black Jacks is away from the hustle of the main Inn . All suites have small kitchen area.No lift in building.Some Ground floor rooms are easy access with walk in showers , 1st floor variety of rooms as is 2nd floor.we offer 24 hour staff attendance. When you stay in any country you must wish to stay in somewhere that reflects that country ,we certainly do majority of our staff are welsh speaking and so are the owners .Meal Times Sunday to Thursday: Noon until 9.00p.m. Friday and Saturday. Noon until 9.30p.m.Table reservations can be made via our web site only. We operate a table waiting system from the door at all times to keep the dining areas full. Waiting times can vary and an indication of any delay will be conveyed to you. Book a table online please.
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The name of this establishment, which is very old, takes political incorrectness to a new level. That said, the atmosphere of this restaurant/pub is incredible. Also, the quantity of food we got was immense, so be prepared. In other words, don't hesitate to split an order with someone else. My wife and I ordered a vegetable crumble (really a casserole) and a side of cole slaw. The crumble came with an enormous side of french fries (chips) and a small salad. The actual vegetables in the crumble (mostly cauliflower and broccoli) were in huge pieces. Service was decent, and the price was incredibly inexpensive for the amount of food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank psychprofessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at The Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you very much for the review , our staff try very hard to please most of the guests most of the time. Please come back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,520)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,958 - 1,962 of 2,521 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

The Black Boy Inn is always busy which tells it's own tale, the food is reasonable for pub grub, the beer is normally well kept. On a sunny day sitting outside a stones throw from the marina can be quite relaxing. Recommended ..... yes it's not bad.. enjoy!
Regards GCD

Thank Gee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at The Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for kind review , please return soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Myself and friends had dinner in the public bar here and were really happy. The food was fantastic, huge portions and reasonable prices. Nice oldy type of pub and although it was very busy we were served quickly. Would definitely return.................................................

Thank Lori-7225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at The Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for the review , we are a very busy Inn .Hence this we gather we must be doing our work correctly , with regard to prices and food quality .Please come back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Visited 3 times & the food was excellent & prices are reasonable for the quality. If you have a big appetite the Yorkshire pudding or steak & ale pie are mighty filling. Only niggle is that you can't book in the restaurant & are put on a waiting list & informed could be up to an hour, however we only waited 10 mins.

Thank lillymae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at The Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for review , sorry we operate a waiting system on tables .The reason for this is simple really . If we accepted bookings we would be full non all dates and times up to 3 weeks ahead , this from our experience would cause problems and complaints from residents been unable to eat with us .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I went there with my husband at the beginning of June. We really enjoyed our meals, rated the service and thought it was excellent value for money. A bonus point for us is that they use local produce. I had the grilled hake with horse radish mash and creme brulee for dessert. My husband had lamb and the crumble for dessert. We enjoyed our meals out and thought the portions were very generous. At £44.00 for our food, a large glass of wine and ginger beer very good value for money. The location is very central so so if you wanted to stay in a town, be central I would try to stay here. We didn't stay here so can't comment on the accomodation.

I am surprised at the bad reviews: We hd no complaints whatsoever and the lady who served us was very friendly. Perhaps those who posted these reviews came when it was very busy&were unfortunate to be there on the same night.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kittykat014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at The Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

We are surprised at the comments regarding pricing on the past 2 reviews . We are not a fast food outlet and therefore employee 70 staff at the Inn and serve up to 600 meals a day in peak season. We therefore accept that we are never going to get it right all the time, but from our trade levels i would assume that the majority of customers are happy with both pricing structure and staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Black Boy Inn also viewed

Caernarfon, Gwynedd
 
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
 
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
 

Been to The Black Boy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing