We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of The Black Boy Inn

The Black Boy Inn
Ranked #5 of 105 Restaurants in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$25
Cuisines: International, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Black Boy Inn is a listed building which is situated in the historic town walls of the Royal Borough of Caernarfon. The Inn is within easy walking distance to the town centre, and the famous 13th-century Castle. An old Inn dating back to 1522 and with its wooden paneling, low ceilings, and thick wooden support beams generates a cosy 'Olde Worlde' Welsh atmosphere. The Black Boy is a very busy Inn; please do not expect it to be a slow laid back hotel. It is in the centre of the tourist hub of North Wales and long wait times can be norm in middle of summer. Come and visit us in the winter season for a more laid back feeling.We now also have Black Jacks, which is another renovated building in courtyard, at rear of Inn .Black Jacks is away from the hustle of the main Inn . All suites have small kitchen area.No lift in building.Some Ground floor rooms are easy access with walk in showers , 1st floor variety of rooms as is 2nd floor.we offer 24 hour staff attendance. When you stay in any country you must wish to stay in somewhere that reflects that country ,we certainly do majority of our staff are welsh speaking and so are the owners .Meal Times Sunday to Thursday: Noon until 9.00p.m. Friday and Saturday. Noon until 9.30p.m.Table reservations can be made via our web site only. We operate a table waiting system from the door at all times to keep the dining areas full. Waiting times can vary and an indication of any delay will be conveyed to you. Book a table online please.
Tring, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Reasonable prices, good choice on menu, generous portions. Eat inside to avoid the seagulls. Popular eatery, arrive early or book.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wildlife_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at The Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for the review , please come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,289
    602
    173
    79
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipplepen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

After walking around the town one evening recently and finding very few options to eat we came across the Black Boy Inn. The pub was extremely busy, which we thought would be a good sign. We were however, extremely disappointed with our eating experience. We were unable to find a place to sit in the pub area so opted to stay and use the restaurant as the menus were identical. We were greeted by a friendly waitress who advised that she would consult her manager to establish if any tables were available-we did witness this happen but it then took an eternity while we stood in a corridor for the manager to confirm if a table was available, even though we could see a few that had been cleared and were empty. We were then directed to a table which had no cutlery-this was eventually rectified by a young waitress who merely placed the cutlery next to us so we had to lay the table ourselves! Our drinks order was eventually taken, which arrived wrong but we didn't complain as it was the wine that we had requested but in a different measure. During this period other diners had arrived and were having their starter courses taken before we had even been given a menu! After some time we were asked our choice of foods when in fact we had not actually received a menu! When our starters finally arrived, it was only half the order- I asked myself how difficult it was to put some olives in a bowl! We also ordered bread and balsamic/olive oil dip-the bread had been cut into soldiers and buttered and appeared to be leftover crusts-fine if you are under the age of 10 and served with a boiled egg at breakfast! In addition the starter was "whipped" away from us before we had chance to advise that we hadn`t finished. The same nearly happened to a young American couple sitting nearby, but they were quicker in advising that he hadn`t finished! My smoked fish main course was okay but the "cheese sauce" didn`t appear to have seen any cheese during its production. My partner`s rump steak wasn`t cooked as requested and the thickness didn`t resemble that normally associated with rump. The manager and staff appeared to be more interested in relaying the tables for breakfast than inquiring if all was okay with our meal. All in all, it was one of the worst eating experiences that we have had.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at The Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
I am grateful for you taking the time to pass your comments on to us . We obviously employ 70 staff at the Inn and will not be aware of all points of service. There are a number of dining areas at the Inn , hence the throughput of ip to 650 meals per day .We will now review our procedures to stop this problem happening again .Please accept my apology for the poor service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great service”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Great food at a busy day staff were always smiling and asking if everything was ok, it was great. Strongly recommend a visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank reviewer356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at The Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for the lovely comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Atmospheric pub with excellent food”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

An atmospheric pub with a varied menu, excellent food, and friendly staff. I would recommend this pub.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Garry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at The Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for review , please come back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alhambra, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“What a Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the inn for a couple nights and needed a meal quickly on the first night. What a pleasant surprise. The Welsh Pie was amazing. We had it again on our second night. The Salmon was just okay, with green beans that appeared to be from a can. The pork belly the second night was a great one. Huge, with both a lot of meat and a lot of the fat, if you're into that.

Helpful?
Thank JasonB2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at The Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for the review ,so glad you enjoyed your meals .Please come back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Black Boy Inn also viewed

 
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
 

Been to The Black Boy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing