We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Black Boy Inn was recommended and lived up to the hype”
Review of The Black Boy Inn

The Black Boy Inn
Ranked #5 of 107 Restaurants in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$25
Cuisines: International, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Black Boy Inn is a listed building which is situated in the historic town walls of the Royal Borough of Caernarfon. The Inn is within easy walking distance to the town centre, and the famous 13th-century Castle. An old Inn dating back to 1522 and with its wooden paneling, low ceilings, and thick wooden support beams generates a cosy 'Olde Worlde' Welsh atmosphere. The Black Boy is a very busy Inn; please do not expect it to be a slow laid back hotel. It is in the centre of the tourist hub of North Wales and long wait times can be norm in middle of summer. Come and visit us in the winter season for a more laid back feeling.We now also have Black Jacks, which is another renovated building in courtyard, at rear of Inn .Black Jacks is away from the hustle of the main Inn . All suites have small kitchen area.No lift in building.Some Ground floor rooms are easy access with walk in showers , 1st floor variety of rooms as is 2nd floor.we offer 24 hour staff attendance. When you stay in any country you must wish to stay in somewhere that reflects that country ,we certainly do majority of our staff are welsh speaking and so are the owners .Meal Times Sunday to Thursday: Noon until 9.00p.m. Friday and Saturday. Noon until 9.30p.m.Table reservations can be made via our web site only. We operate a table waiting system from the door at all times to keep the dining areas full. Waiting times can vary and an indication of any delay will be conveyed to you. Book a table online please.
Townsville, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“The Black Boy Inn was recommended and lived up to the hype”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had this recommended by some friends and it turned up trumps.
Atmosphere, food and the staff, Laura and Cian were all excellent.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank admsaple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at The Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for kind review , please return soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,316
    612
    183
    83
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Can't praise the meal more highly. Service was friendly and the meal was well cooked. Nice choice for veggies too.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bingoswestry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at The Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for the review , please visit us soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best. Scampi. Ever.”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Extremely friendly and helpful staff, lovely pint of ale and two very satisfied stomachs! Nice loos as well :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank captainbonobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at The Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Please come back again ,for best scampi ever .Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem of Wales”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Great service, great seafood, prices extremely reasonable and lovely ambiance. We loved dinner so much we came back for breakfast!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ctraveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at The Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for review , we are open every day for breakfast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Strategic location”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We came by after visiting Caernarfon castle as it was mentioned to be the oldest building within the castle walls. It is a good looking building from the outside, warm and cozy in the inside. We had only lunch here but it was a sunny day and we sat outside. Food and drinks had to be ordered indoors and service was pretty fast. We had Sunday's roast, it was good but we've had better Sunday roast at other restaurants. I would recommend just for the experience.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank divine_host
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at The Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you so much for review , please come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Black Boy Inn also viewed

 
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
 

Been to The Black Boy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing