We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A brief pre-dinner drink”
Review of The Black Boy Inn

The Black Boy Inn
Ranked #5 of 109 Restaurants in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$25
Cuisines: International, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Black Boy Inn is a listed building which is situated in the historic town walls of the Royal Borough of Caernarfon. The Inn is within easy walking distance to the town centre, and the famous 13th-century Castle. An old Inn dating back to 1522 and with its wooden paneling, low ceilings, and thick wooden support beams generates a cosy 'Olde Worlde' Welsh atmosphere. The Black Boy is a very busy Inn; please do not expect it to be a slow laid back hotel. It is in the centre of the tourist hub of North Wales and long wait times can be norm in middle of summer. Come and visit us in the winter season for a more laid back feeling.We now also have Black Jacks, which is another renovated building in courtyard, at rear of Inn .Black Jacks is away from the hustle of the main Inn . All suites have small kitchen area.No lift in building.Some Ground floor rooms are easy access with walk in showers , 1st floor variety of rooms as is 2nd floor.we offer 24 hour staff attendance. When you stay in any country you must wish to stay in somewhere that reflects that country ,we certainly do majority of our staff are welsh speaking and so are the owners .Meal Times Sunday to Thursday: Noon until 9.00p.m. Friday and Saturday. Noon until 9.30p.m.Table reservations can be made via our web site only. We operate a table waiting system from the door at all times to keep the dining areas full. Waiting times can vary and an indication of any delay will be conveyed to you. Book a table online please.
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Liked the style of the pub - a bit bold and brassy like the chap behind the bar, but both he and the building wore it well. Packed on both nights we were there; it had a good atmosphere. Not necessarily the spot for a quiet drink. The food we saw others eating looked tasty. Drinks were good. Bread and olives was mediocre - olives were jolly sharp.

1  Thank HJ0RD4N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at The Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for the feedback , you are correct that it is not somewhere to come for an empty bar .
I will advise our supplier as regards the olives.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,778 - 1,782 of 2,364 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

Good evening meal & drinks
Very busy, perhaps a few other restaurants were closed on Monday night
Busy bar area, plenty of staff
Had meal in the restaurant, very busy, our starters were excellent
I followed with their special, wild trout fillets, very good & plentiful
My wife did not choose so well, had their chicken Dwynwen pie ( it was such a large dish that she struggled to eat halt of it, also the large lumbs of chicken were tasteless ), such a shame
As we were finishing our meal about 9pm there was a mass exit of staff & what staff were left cleared the empty tables & rearranged for next day's breakfast
We felt we had to eat-up & get out!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Doug L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at The Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thank you for the feedback . The Dwynwen Pie is one our best sellers , but i will pass comments on the the head chef tomorrow.
As regards the clearing of tables and resetting for the 90 residents we have in house .I will review that again in the morning . But i have to comment that today was one of the busiest days of our year with over 650 meals sold , and it is a balance to get it all okay for next service at 7.00 in the morning .Although we have night porters they cannot get the tables ready as we are conscious of the noise element to rooms above . I hope this has not put you off coming back to the Black Boy again .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

After touring the castle in Caernafon I asked a local to recommend a pub for lunch. His choice was the Black Boy Inn, about two blocks from the castle. Not only was the food terrific but the wait staff was outstanding...efficient, friendly, all you could ask for.
The pub itself was charming, clean, and I think making a move to be politically correct for the US tourists by decorating parts of the establishment with black painted nautical bouys.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PSU1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at The Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

All the staff try very hard to please , and ii would say we get it right most of the time as the reviews show. Thank you please come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We enjoyed the draught guest beers, and was allowed a sample of each one before purchasing the ones we preferred. The staff were friendly and knowledgable about their stock. It was also nice to hear fluent welsh been spoken in the pub

1  Thank pildyboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at The Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

I really appreciate your review as we are a real welsh Inn , not a copy .This also applies to the welsh language , it used a a live language here .We use welsh in work not as a tourist ploy ,it is used here as the majority of our staff are welsh. Therefore English is a second language for them .Our cask beers are cared for carefully by the bar staff .Please come back soon..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We were looking for somewhere different for a bite to eat and decided on this gem of a place .We walked in a were greeted straight away asked for a table and was shown to a table at the rear part of the pub the staff dealt with us straight away and when our food came OMG it looked fantastic highly recommended meat locally sourced my steak was to die for as was my wifes gammon can't wait to go here again thank you

Thank morrisonsbutcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at The Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

I gather from the review you were seated in the coach house area. We can seat up to 200 + at the Inn , although it may seem very small there are loads of different rooms .So glad you enjoyed your meal with us please come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Black Boy Inn also viewed

Caernarfon, Gwynedd
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
 

Been to The Black Boy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing